Anglo American Employee Reviews

Found 413 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Pipe tracks and ventilation (Former Employee) –  South Africa19 September 2017
I'm working at Twickenham mine as pipe tracks and ventilation /pump attendant and artisan assistant Anglo American it's good company give us free lunch
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and safe working environment
Operator haul truck (Current Employee) –  Kathu, Northern Cape17 September 2017
Putting safety of their workers first it's their number one priority. They always keep their promises while it comes to their employees, healthy working environment as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learned
Lab supervisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng12 September 2017
I joined Anglo Research laboratory in 26 June 2000 and I was fresh from varsity with no experience and had to learn to apply all that I had learned from theory to practical and that was the hardest, but met and worked with professional people and taught me very well and now I can work anywhere with the experience that I have.
Pros
Picnics
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
l can work under production pressure ,safe and dedicated to my job.
mechanical fitter (Current Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga9 September 2017
Enjoy working with hands,crew,travelling,extra miles,dignity,and will to help innovations able to give other fellow works a new idea or tricks(plans).
Pros
at my leisure time
Cons
always avaible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Mogalakwena, Limpopo30 August 2017
Working for Anglo American was challenging and fun would recomment them to anybody although its hard work and long hours but at the end of the day its more than just worth it.
Pros
Free meat and cold drinks
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and save producers
Blasting assistance (Former Employee) –  limpopo29 August 2017
Improve material that makes the work place safe especially for the material that is Woking underground for workers to achieve zero harm and accident free mine because that millistone is achiveble if we have a good quality material to do the work acodinly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Experiential Trainee - Geology (Former Employee) –  Vereeniging, South Africa17 August 2017
I learned a lot while working as a geology trainee at Anglo American's New Vaal Colliery, South Africa. I had a mentor who assisted me and challenged me throughout my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Processor (Current Employee) –  North West12 August 2017
I am currently working shift here and are the hardest part of the job
The most enjoyable part of the job is the company allowances

Management and work cutler its fine
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Processor (Current Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West11 August 2017
i enjoy working in the industry as i like being hands on, the problem is adjusting to the 3 shifts, being exposed to chemicals and fumes and don't like scheduled meals and time. i enjoy team work.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a Section Manager
Section Manager (Current Employee) –  Vereeniging, Gauteng8 August 2017
What I enjoy most about the work I do is ensuring KPI s are met interact with teams and supporting departments. Hardest is when we achieve unsafely..
Pros
Breaking boundaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg/Polokwane26 July 2017
Excellent Company - Management generally very supportive when required - internal politics often unbearable - causing Brain drain to other companies - Worker Organizations often getting the bigger bone in the argument -resulting in losses to the Company and Share-holders -also contributing to difficulty in managing business units.
Job security really down a lot during last 5-6 years.due to lapse in economy and selling of some assets.
Pros
Incentive bonus
Cons
Long Hours -
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Miner (Current Employee) –  Thabazimbi, Limpopo25 July 2017
Anglo hase the best personel and the benefets are good .The management is very nice people and every one is working like a team .The age rolle models to every one
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Hours are very nice to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Development Structures
Miner (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West20 July 2017
Great company to work for.I have acquired skills,experience and development while working at Anglo American.Helped me to achieve my career goals.A great company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prdictive and fun place
Engineering- General Engineering Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Vereeniging, Gauteng19 July 2017
Meetings
Planning
site visits
inspections
good work place culture
enjoy the people and management
hardest part being away from home
enjoy investigations accidents
learned how to do investigations work with people
Pros
housing car allowance
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was ejoying to work there. They are care about peaple
drill rig operator (Former Employee) –  Limpopo13 July 2017
What i like mostly is to Drill and put safety first and production come out , and i know when the production come i will get some thing like bonus and i will enjoy me and my firmily
Pros
No lounch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I operating a tracdozer
trackdozer operator (Current Employee) –  mokopane10 July 2017
I'm enjoying working for Anglo American,it's a big company any1 would like to work for. By as for me because I'm having this huge experience working on mining.den I do feel that working as an operator Its not ok for some reasons
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but enjoyable
Talent Management & WIM Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng8 July 2017
Typical day at work was more than 12 hours a day. Many times away from home
I've learned humility, but mostly the uniqueness in each and every individual and how to deal with each individual based on each situation. I've learned to identify and unleash potential in a lot of students that I recruited, who couldn't even express themselves in English and today, some of them are holding good positions in their respective employment.
The hardest part of the job was the workload
Enjoyable part of the job was the Talent Search in order to build the talent pipeline for the company. Identifying talent, grooming that talent, coaching that talent and seeing that talent making it in the industry was the most fulfilling part of my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good and perfect to work with Anglo American
Bar Liquor Outlet- cashier,issuing,receiving etc. (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West3 July 2017
Anglo they do not accept riots and misusing of their facilities they believing in negotiating with their staff up to the level of agreement. They did help lot of people even those who were not working with us.
Pros
It depends where you are then you can enjoy your lunch
Cons
long its benefits, when there is a situation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big and challenging
Shift supervisor Hauling (Former Employee) –  Kathu, Northern Cape26 June 2017
Was a lot of fun working there never a dull moment. Safety driven. Very big and a lot of people working there. To impersonal nature you only know the people you directly with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Boilermaker (Current Employee) –  Limpopo22 June 2017
Need to expand my knowledge and skills get new challenges venture new ideas .Anglo it's a good company everyone at the company complies with rules and standers of the company
Pros
Training and development
Cons
Good working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Anglo American. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,2
Based on 800 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4,0
Salary/Benefits
4,0
Job Security/Advancement
3,7
Management
3,8
Culture
4,0