Find companies:
Ethekwini Municipality
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

Ethekwini Municipality Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
INTERN (Former Employee), Durban, ZNMarch 20, 2014
Pros: gained a huge amount of knowledge and experience.
Cons: none.
i did carry out this internship at no financial cost to the council and did not get salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning new techniques
Research Student (Current Employee), Durban, ZNMarch 10, 2014
I learned the tender process of advertising publicly a contract to various suppliers and getting different quotes, then selecting the less expensive supplier. This is a good project management skill.
The management required results and works hard in achieving the organization's goals or tasks. The co-workers were very cooperative and friendly on a personal – more... level.
The hardest part of the job was to balance deliverables and deadlines on the EU front and the academic requirements on the University front even though these were somehow dependant. The most enjoyable part was that i was always gaining experience in filed work and getting the chance to see the differences between tertiary instituitions and industry-based tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant atmosphere with lots of learning opportunities
Trainee Network Analyst (Former Employee), Durban, ZNMarch 10, 2014
Pros: training was provided
This was to date the best place I have worked in. It provided me with a solid platform for learning and applying my skills accordingly.

A typical day included installing Cisco switches and routers, cutover of sites to the metro connect fibre network, troubleshooting WAN and LAN faults logged and active monitoring of network devices at sites to name – more... a few.

I learned how to effectively plan for, configure, install, troubleshoot, and monitor LAN infrastructure for medium to large networks as well as learn the various products and vendor solutions available to industry.

I had supportive and easy going co-workers who contributed collectively to the running of the department.

The hardest part of the job was keeping to effective time management as we were a team of around 15 managing a network consisting of 400+ sites with the most enjoyable part of the job being my day to day tasks and working with Cisco technologies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Principal Clerk (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 26, 2014
I enjoyed working there people where helpful and friendly . I learned how to use the MIMS system .

Management were always willing to listen if there was a problem.

co-workers were helpful.

getting the queries sorted on time for payment runs.

when an account was up to date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PLEASANT WORKPLACE
PRINCIPAL BUILDING INSPECTOR (Current Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: friendly enviroment
Cons: tools
ASSESSING AND PLANNING FOR THE DAY
SERVICE DELIVERY IS A PRIORITY
MANAGEMENT IS ACCESSIBLE
OPERATE AS A TEAM- MOTIVATED
TRYING TO PLEASE THE PUBLIC
ACHIEVING THE GOALS AND OBJECTIVES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Receptionist (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 25, 2014
start by checking the diary, updating and sending out acknowledgements letters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Word Processing Operatro (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 12, 2014
There was no time to sit around and do nothing. Back to back meetings, lots of typing and arranging for the meeting. I had so much fun here. I learned a lot of things with this company including politics which I had never payed attention on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, and fun to work for.
Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: limited benefits.
Working monday to friday, is a huge advantage, co-workers were friendly and accomodative. I learned a lot was given a chance to network and learn more about the government industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive learning experience
Language Practitioner (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: working with other people as you get to see their take on things
Working at EThekwini Municipality it was part of the Work Inter-grated Learning from the varsity. It was suppose to be 3 months but I served one month extra. During this period you work and u don't earn any money. the work experience was amazing. the first day was very exciting got introduced to other co-workers by my manager/ mentor. every body was – more... welcoming. the team in overall was supportive and whenever I needed something work related they always willing to help – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging environment as regulations applicability oftens debated
Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: team building
Cons: 12 hours to ensure targets
To disseminate regulatory information to different departments within council is the most enjoyable and challenging part of my job. Trying to get department to get out of irregular expenditure through procurement planning is the most fulfilling and enjoyable work while defends the field of SCM. Serving as a mediator between departments and service providers – more... while at the same time trying to protect each of these people of their rights by defending the institution is a very challenging work.

For me aligning operations with strategic goals of the institution is one thing I manage and enjoy though it is very tough and requires me to also rely on my colleagues as well as learn from others all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenges
Acting Executive Secretary (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches on secretarys day
Cons: if the document is urgent you are to work long hours
i have experience day by day challenges with people and environment that we work under, people will advice you and with different opinions in which and the end of the day you need to make your own decesion that is comfortable for you and your boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very systematic workplace with very little challenge
In-Service Trainee (Former Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: relaxed working environment
Cons: mundane duties and no sense of urgency unless it is the end of the financial year
Creating,editing,completing job cards.
Creating orders for supplies
Liasing with line managers
Dispatching of vehicles
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educative, Nice workplace.
Senior Technician (Former Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 8, 2014
Each day has its own challenges
Have learned to manage staff and initiate projects.
Team work with my co-workers.
Hardest part: aggressive customers
Enjoyable: to see a customer smile after my help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
broad health ralated experience, good working conditions
Senior Environmental Health Practitioner (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: i'm not office bound for full 8 hours
Cons: my safety can never be guaranteed in some areas.
Independency in planning my day to day work, I work with minimal supervision. I have good mentorship skills to new and less experienced employees because of my approachable and friendly nature. I have learnt to work under pressure in diverse districts with large and small businesses, communities, large and small industries, organize my work and be responsible – more... for my area of jurisdiction. I regularly act in the absence of my manager and have acted manager in the department which the municipality encourage to all senior staff. I deal with people every day, with different personalities, cultural and socio economic backgrounds. The worst is dealing with difficult, stubborn, defensive groups of people who contravene the health bylaws. Positively it has strengthened my communication skills, people management and assertive skills. I enjoy going out meeting people and relating to communities at different levels, every experience is a learning curve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in service trainee
in-service trainee (Former Employee), Durban, ZNDecember 25, 2013
Pros: working with wonderfull people
Cons: no stability
a typical day begun at 7:30 and i would review all the artefacts which had been donated ,i would book a meeting with the head curator and she would review them or rject them, i would check for booked schools and prepare for the educational excursion, between the educational excursions i would prepare organise and manage the projects like the new exhibitions – more... and projects for more visitors ,myy co workers were very polite and effetctive , i understand authority and woud would submitt to my seniors, the most challenging part was the self reliance and self motivation to get things done and the most enjoyable was the feeling of achievement . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
library assistant (volunteer) (Former Employee), MPDecember 9, 2013
Pros: free lunches were two
Cons: long hours were tiring but i adapted
REVIEW THE PREVIOUS DAY AND SHELVE LIBRARY BOOKS BEFORE STAARTING THE DAY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning environment
Human resource Trainee (Former Employee), Durban, ZNOctober 29, 2013
Pros: get to experience different environment of human resource
Cons: had more then one person to report to
aquired the following skills
Interviewing skills training (Attended at EThekwini Municipality)
Initiating a disciplinary enquiry training (Attended at EThekwini Municipality)
Conducting conciliation and arbitration training (Attended at EThekwini Municipality)
Employee Assistance Program (Attended at EThekwini Municipality)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to enjoy team spirit we had
Pollution Officer (Former Employee), Durban, ZNOctober 21, 2013
When there is a pollution complaint in the river it is helpful to have the information on industries along the river and type of effluent they generate. My colleaques were of great assistance in tracing the pollution. The hardest part is when you can't trace the pollution back to the source or you have no concrete evidence. The enjoyable part is when – more... you give feedback to the customer about pollution you managed to trace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Business Retention Assistant (Former Employee), Durban, ZNOctober 18, 2013
Good environment to work, I have to be committed and deliver.
adhere to the mandate of the organisation as whole.

Reporting
Management is fair.
Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment
Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Durban, ZNOctober 15, 2013
Strict and work-oriented. Not much upward growth.
Good colleagues.

1 2 3

About Ethekwini Municipality

eThekwini is the largest City in this province and the third largest city in the country. It is a sophisticated cosmopolitan city – Read more

Ethekwini Municipality Photos