Find companies:
Ethekwini Municipality
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Ethekwini Municipality Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Trainee Internal Auditor (Former Employee), Durban, ZNJune 26, 2014
I gained lots of internal auditing experience, i completed a learnership
and the co-workers were easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place that gives young graduates a fantastic opportunity to learn their trade in a stable work environment.
Intern (Former Employee), Durban, ZNJune 22, 2014
Pros: friday birthday lunches at the unit meeting were always a great occassion
Cons: not being allowed to drive the unit's vehicles as an intern was the only con.
As an intern each day started with media monitoring which would last up to 3 hours on some mornings, and that required a lot of concerntration and as a result my ability to concerntrate for long periods was vastly improved.

I learnt a great deal about working in the field as a journalist, although it wasn't anything similar to the pressure-cooker that – more... is working in a daily newspaper. I learnt to be comfortable with requesting interviews and doing interviews with high-profile Municipal figures such as the Mayor and Heads of Units. I also learnt to write for a particular house style, which is the norm with each different publication.

The management was fair but very demanding, which I appreciated because they let us get on with our jobs without any interference which enabled us to execute our duties without any problems.

From my fellow workers, especially the interns, I learnt how to be part of a team and to always support each other as members of a team. I learnt how to work well with co-workers in projects assigned to us by our superiors.

The hardest part about the job was when deadline day was approaching and the pressure to produce quality articles for publication was ramped up, but this was also a time I relished as I always made sure I was well prepared to handle the pressure by doing everything required of me well in advance.

The enjoyable part of the job was the rapport that was enjoyed by all and sundry in the office, as interns we were made to feel welcome and no limitations were set on the contribution we could make to the team. In short we were valued members of the workplace because of the quality of work we produced. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy,Dynamic and professional work environment
SENIOR PROFESSIONAL PLANNER (Current Employee), Durban, ZNMay 29, 2014
Pros: flexi time
Wide variety of planning applications
the work environment focases on multi skilling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Secretary (Current Employee), DurbanMay 26, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: i'm contract
Ours of work ar

e vflixible I'm happy about it, I learnd a lot how to type minute, To sit with managenet during meeting it opened my mind. Mangement of Thekwini Municipaliy got open door policy compared where I'm coming from they gave staff opportunity to learn give them chance to be Supervisors to gain own experience.My collegues we worked as team – more... of which I;m happy about that. My hardest party of my job to do report every month since I'm Secretary of The Manager so she gave me chance to things on my own but I'm happy because I' also learning.Enjoyable part is that I've got flexible time, my collegues I very nice and my manager is down to earth I love my job so much – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun
Accreditation and Monitoring Officer (Current Employee), Durban, ZNMay 9, 2014
Pros: flexibility in decision making
Cons: rigidity of some systems
- Importance of maintaing constant communication with stakeholders through electronic communication, telephones written correspondance and face-to-face communication

- Frequent intteraction with management to resolve work related issues and to give and receive suggestions for iimproving work performance

- Mutual respect from co-workers and good teamwork – more... spirirt

- Contonuosly challenged to provide accurate and legally compliant advice on issues related to Supply Chain Management and Compliance Monitoring

- Conducting research, report writing and attending meetings for line-departments with intetion to provide SCM related advice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my carrier path
Admninistration Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee), kwazulu nata;May 6, 2014
Pros: free gifts
Cons: not even a minute late
do not take personal issues when you going to work. i learned a lot because i was working with older people in terms of professionalism,accuracy and time management, my co-workers were very useful especially because i was doing my in-service training. the hardest part when someone from outside is going to ask you about something you do not know and – more... you have to immediately assist. it was enjoyable because i was learning something new every day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lateral and verticala development of staff is supported
Fire officer (Current Employee), Durban, ZNApril 27, 2014
Employer encourages and supports both lateral and vertical development of all employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At Work
Senior IT Support Officer (Former Employee), Durban, ZNMarch 26, 2014
Pros: we had braais
Cons: we had to work over time after hours
Every day in the IT field one learns new things and I had fun working there because it feels great when people are relying on you to be able to access their computers. I enjoyed almost everyday at work because my work was always up-to-date, even though it wasn't any easy Dept to work because Management there and other staff members were not Qualified – more... for their top positions. It was unfortunate for me being a Black South African amongst a White and Indian dominated Dept. I became a threat to Management because of my fair Qualifications and I was not their favourite person – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
INTERN (Former Employee), Durban, ZNMarch 20, 2014
Pros: gained a huge amount of knowledge and experience.
Cons: none.
i did carry out this internship at no financial cost to the council and did not get salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning new techniques
Research Student (Current Employee), Durban, ZNMarch 10, 2014
I learned the tender process of advertising publicly a contract to various suppliers and getting different quotes, then selecting the less expensive supplier. This is a good project management skill.
The management required results and works hard in achieving the organization's goals or tasks. The co-workers were very cooperative and friendly on a personal – more... level.
The hardest part of the job was to balance deliverables and deadlines on the EU front and the academic requirements on the University front even though these were somehow dependant. The most enjoyable part was that i was always gaining experience in filed work and getting the chance to see the differences between tertiary instituitions and industry-based tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant atmosphere with lots of learning opportunities
Trainee Network Analyst (Former Employee), Durban, ZNMarch 10, 2014
Pros: training was provided
This was to date the best place I have worked in. It provided me with a solid platform for learning and applying my skills accordingly.

A typical day included installing Cisco switches and routers, cutover of sites to the metro connect fibre network, troubleshooting WAN and LAN faults logged and active monitoring of network devices at sites to name – more... a few.

I learned how to effectively plan for, configure, install, troubleshoot, and monitor LAN infrastructure for medium to large networks as well as learn the various products and vendor solutions available to industry.

I had supportive and easy going co-workers who contributed collectively to the running of the department.

The hardest part of the job was keeping to effective time management as we were a team of around 15 managing a network consisting of 400+ sites with the most enjoyable part of the job being my day to day tasks and working with Cisco technologies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Principal Clerk (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 26, 2014
I enjoyed working there people where helpful and friendly . I learned how to use the MIMS system .

Management were always willing to listen if there was a problem.

co-workers were helpful.

getting the queries sorted on time for payment runs.

when an account was up to date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PLEASANT WORKPLACE
PRINCIPAL BUILDING INSPECTOR (Current Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: friendly enviroment
Cons: tools
ASSESSING AND PLANNING FOR THE DAY
SERVICE DELIVERY IS A PRIORITY
MANAGEMENT IS ACCESSIBLE
OPERATE AS A TEAM- MOTIVATED
TRYING TO PLEASE THE PUBLIC
ACHIEVING THE GOALS AND OBJECTIVES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Receptionist (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 25, 2014
start by checking the diary, updating and sending out acknowledgements letters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Word Processing Operatro (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 12, 2014
There was no time to sit around and do nothing. Back to back meetings, lots of typing and arranging for the meeting. I had so much fun here. I learned a lot of things with this company including politics which I had never payed attention on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, and fun to work for.
Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: limited benefits.
Working monday to friday, is a huge advantage, co-workers were friendly and accomodative. I learned a lot was given a chance to network and learn more about the government industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive learning experience
Language Practitioner (Former Employee), Durban, ZNFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: working with other people as you get to see their take on things
Working at EThekwini Municipality it was part of the Work Inter-grated Learning from the varsity. It was suppose to be 3 months but I served one month extra. During this period you work and u don't earn any money. the work experience was amazing. the first day was very exciting got introduced to other co-workers by my manager/ mentor. every body was – more... welcoming. the team in overall was supportive and whenever I needed something work related they always willing to help – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging environment as regulations applicability oftens debated
Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: team building
Cons: 12 hours to ensure targets
To disseminate regulatory information to different departments within council is the most enjoyable and challenging part of my job. Trying to get department to get out of irregular expenditure through procurement planning is the most fulfilling and enjoyable work while defends the field of SCM. Serving as a mediator between departments and service providers – more... while at the same time trying to protect each of these people of their rights by defending the institution is a very challenging work.

For me aligning operations with strategic goals of the institution is one thing I manage and enjoy though it is very tough and requires me to also rely on my colleagues as well as learn from others all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenges
Acting Executive Secretary (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches on secretarys day
Cons: if the document is urgent you are to work long hours
i have experience day by day challenges with people and environment that we work under, people will advice you and with different opinions in which and the end of the day you need to make your own decesion that is comfortable for you and your boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very systematic workplace with very little challenge
In-Service Trainee (Former Employee), Durban, ZNJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: relaxed working environment
Cons: mundane duties and no sense of urgency unless it is the end of the financial year
Creating,editing,completing job cards.
Creating orders for supplies
Liasing with line managers
Dispatching of vehicles

1 2 3 4

About Ethekwini Municipality

eThekwini is the largest City in this province and the third largest city in the country. It is a sophisticated cosmopolitan city – Read more

Ethekwini Municipality Photos