Gijima Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gijima
TSE (Current Employee) –  Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng20 January 2018
Land of broken promises, work is fine but conditions versus benefits and payments are not so good, lack of proper tools makes working harder, overall just a stop over until one can get someone/place that can appreciate your skills
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy with Restructuring
Team leader / Manager for DR, Backup, Midrange (Former Employee) –  Centurion7 November 2017
Always busy with Restructuring
Outsourcing
motivating unhappy staff
Succesful DR tests
No clear strategy and a lack of vision
No sucession plannig
No increases
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Unhappy enviornment - Retrenchment always in your face
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, South Africa9 October 2017
I really enjoyed working for Gijima and would have stayed except I had other plans and Gijima did not have possitions available for me in the area I wished to work in
Pros
Fixed working hours were great and Work based scenarios
Cons
Location was the challenge for me at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Technician (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng4 August 2017
There is nothing much to say I was an intern there. Great collegues and managers I enjoy being there but I felt like I should go out and explore more even now I sill do
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New challenge every day
Field Service Engineer II (Current Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng13 July 2017
Its a good company to work for and I have joined Gijima I have learnt so much as we work as a team.
Most importantly we support each other in ever task that was assigned to us and also share knowledge base and resource to resolve user Issues efficiently on SLA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Software Architect (Former Employee) –  Gauteng4 May 2017
Work 8 hours per day, don't take lunch, self management, flexi hours, mainly responsible for the design and development of new application, assist junior developers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional working environment.
Sytems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Gauteng24 April 2017
Professional working environment.
Many opportunities for growth. A multi cultural environment. Excellent communication culture bidirectional in nature.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Great Workplace
System Support (Former Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng19 April 2017
Nice building with great offices with air conditioners and coffee machines installed. Diversity there is great, you get to know other people's culture and lifestyle while respecting that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ,very challenging and good experience
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng18 April 2017
Usually a very busy and productive day with all the necessary backup and support Working at Gijima was a good experience the only problem is lack of training and job uncertainty due to retrenchment talks every year end
Pros
Company car and fuel
Cons
Job uncertainly
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family values are amazing.
CISCO BU Manager (Current Employee) –  Samrand, Gauteng11 April 2017
Currently I was head hunted to head up the CISCO BU on a national level.
I have found the culture to be nothing short of friendly, helpful.
Management is approachable and patient.
The hardest part of my job is try to dig down through the multiple levels of decision makers across multiple buss units.
The teamwork in the lower levels and determination to succeed.
Pros
Flexible working hours and family is important
Cons
Multi layered management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gijima
Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State10 April 2017
Not a bad place to work, should you not be looking for a career path. You learn a lot. Most people are willing to help you if you are uncertain of certain procedures etc. Do not expect any raises or promotion soon or at any time. The position you are appointed in is the position you will stay in. Other than that I can't actually complain. I mainly manage myself and typically work from home. You do travel a lot, but you get used to it.
Pros
Work from home a lot
Cons
Travel a lot as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at Gijima
IT Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng5 April 2017
It is an happy and fun place to work at. You get to meet new people with all the different projects that Gijima has . I have travelled Africa training and completing projects for Gijima
Pros
The CEO is a great CEO
Cons
Travelling for weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast growing and sustainable company
field service engineer (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal14 March 2017
Suitable time for working environment.it empowers team and individual growth interms of providing further studies and time to time
business and client management system.
Pros
training course
Cons
projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workspace
Technical Consultant (Former Employee) –  Samrand, Gauteng7 March 2017
Gijima was on the rise as one of the leading ICT companies and it was joyfull to work for Gijima as I learned a lot while being there. Hard work will always pay off
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Field Service Engineer II (Current Employee) –  Upington, Northern Cape8 February 2017
we don't have an office, I currently work from home.
I drive to sites to support clients
the job involves a lot of travelling
Cons
travel long distances
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company and management feel nothing for technical staff.
Senior Technical Staff (Current Employee) –  Cape Town19 October 2016
Company do not care about their technical staff.
All staff working without any increases for three years at a time.

Staff that works for Gijima for 10 years plus do not receive any extra benefits, staff leaves and it is like they was never part of the company.
Pros
None, only receives a salary
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun walk
IT Desktop Support (Technician) (Former Employee) –  Gauteng30 September 2016
my exprience in Gijima was so good and i enjoyed working in gijima and enjoying doing my job. i completed my diploma in IT and getting opportunity for IT technician it was a great experience and i have learned a lot. the manages were so supportive ad helpful. co-workers were also so supportive and team spirit was very strong.
Pros
free lunch every last Friday of the month
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transparency, productive and cultural
Secretary / Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Centurion24 August 2016
• Ability to multi-task and prioritize the work load
• Flexibility to perform a variety of functions
• Ability to initiate own communications/correspondence
• Confidentiality/Discretion and Team player. I believe conflict should be managed as a positive factor of every working relationship
• Ability to work under pressure in order to meet deadlines
* I have a wide range of interests ranging from the creative through to environmental, communication, sporting and social concerns
The reason I enjoy this field is I particularly get the opportunity to connect with people
Pros
Socials every 3 week of the month
Cons
long hours if deadlines needs to be met
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hard work
Technician in Training (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal9 July 2016
we help users with their pc, emails, fixed printers, installed office for users, created user accounts and connected users to printers
Pros
being able to work and study at university
Cons
few months for internships
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at the Office
Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Gauteng Pretoria23 June 2016
Being an outsourcing company I find myself based at client site and not head office.
Arrive at work before 7:30 refreshed and ready for the days challengers cause there is always something new everyday.
There are various types of people in every organization and we should choose our words carefully when speaking and interacting with them.
Management will always encourage you to give off your best no matter what the situation it , one should really be calm in the IT environment. Pleasure to work with some co - workers, some like to work as individuals and other in a team which is much better.
Hardest part will be when you cannot get a hold of clients and you have work to do , it sort of messes up your entire day but you work around it .Most enjoyable part of the job will be when you setup appointments and are able to meet clients on time and you are able to resolve their IT requests sooner than expected and on the first attempt. The other enjoyable part will be the get together we have as a team and we get to socialize with our fellow colleagues
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport