Sasol Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Process Controller (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga12 February 2018
SASOL is a very Productive and stable working environment. It offers competing salaries and long term incentives. The training and development of employees is a big concern for sasol currently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Student (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga8 February 2018
Safety is a major concern at SASOL.
Excellent team work.
Helpful staff.
Staff is well treated.
Productive yet fun workplace.
Very risky work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Natref: Joint venture comprising Sasol & Total
Team Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg1 February 2018
Highly production oriented.
Focus on employee relations and remuneration to be aligned.
Pressurized and stressful environment.
Nature of the environment are highly dangerous but safety policies are in place to address these issues.
Pros
Incentive bonus
Cons
Poor remuneration
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, relaxed and competetive
Planner (Former Employee) –  Metsimaholo, Free State26 January 2018
• Plan, Schedule and co-ordinate maintenance activities
• Input in PDR and Scheduling meetings
I've learned handling difficult situations
Seeing the work being excecuted as per planning

Management was good

I disliked the kind of pay I was receiving
Pros
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mining and Hr Assistance
Admin Clerk (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga20 January 2018
Always have more but normal admin work, learned more in terms of people management in mining industry, good communication with middle and the top management. Eventually understood and enjoyed mining environment. the hardest was when one of my staff is absent from work,I used to be happy when I complete my job and the ports
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Normal 8 hours and optional overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career orientated and very productive
Process Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga16 January 2018
Very busy and customer relations is important. I was exposed to technical knowledge and management principles. Convincing customers and delivery of tasks
Pros
Quality awards and production incentives
Cons
Extra hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly compass company with great integral motion and motives
student (Former Employee) –  sasolburg12 January 2018
I was actually a student in training from flavious mareka tvet programme, I was placed we went for practicals in Sasol and exposure..for 10 months and we were treated very well,we didn't expect such treatment as we felt like outsiders while they have their own beloved students but they managed to give us all formatives and skills of being one of the best process operator artisan,so its a world class company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenges your way of thinking
Process Controller (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga9 January 2018
great exposure to the petrochemical industry
working conditions are not bad and the working hours are fair
the work load is bearable
the company firmly believes zero harm is possible
Pros
work load is reasonable
Cons
vapours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place and very safe
Process Controller (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga7 January 2018
A very great company to work for...you get to interact with different people,that are so loving,caring and very helpful.
I don't really enjoy working night shift,as it confuses my system but going to work knowing that you going to get exciting people is a very good part,
I enjoy my job very much,you always given a chance to learn.Promoting people is what they do best.
Management do understand that we are different people,and they manage us very well.
The company taught me to respect my colleagues in order to have a good working relationship with each other,and in that way we can keep up with our company values.
Pros
People
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Belt Attendant (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga5 January 2018
I am a hard work and I have a good communication skill and i like to work as a team with my colleagues and Safety comes first. We look after each other. I'm willing to do anything now in my life to succeed. I'm willing to work overtime and to work with different people.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm at Control room
driver code 10 (Current Employee) –  eMbalenhle, Mpumalanga27 December 2017
Sasol at Secunda is the nice place because i'm sleeping at home always i travel to and fro to work nothing is so difficult but to change the environment to look somewhere else this is advantageous.
Pros
Bring your own food and four shift system rotation
Cons
The hours is too long 168hours per month plus 40hours per months which is 208hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Planning is more important and cost saving
Occupational Safety officer (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga20 December 2017
Daily morning site walk/audit ,feedbaack meeting with team of previous day and planning for the new day.

Management support is good

Team work is encourage

Continous improvement for the organization if of more value
Pros
Good Rewards
Cons
Less compliment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not enjoy you're always reminded on losing your job
Artisan (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga secunda6 December 2017
Teamwork very good enjoy a lot
Working culture also good safety first
Management i'll say its avarage because they manage people out of their emotions
Pros
No lunchtime
Cons
10hours a day or even more
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and team work
Senior Electro-Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Syferfontein, Trichart28 November 2017
I Mario have been working for Sasol for about 11 years and i enjoyed every moment of it .Started as a general worker ,maintenance operator and to become a learner artisan it was great fun to be part of Sasol
Pros
team building
Cons
breakdowns
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State19 November 2017
not competative but productive and challenging,good enviroment with good team and great equipements. future career developments,training and motivation lacking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic
General Worker (Current Employee) –  mpumalanga south africa secunda18 November 2017
the company is a company that takes care of the employees there are alot of benifits like medical aid, pension and alot of health care opportunities that they will assist you with
Pros
bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insightful and Empowering
Technical Clerk (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga13 November 2017
A typical day during shutdown maintenance programme involves a 12 hour shift working in a multi-disciplinary team and closely to the foreman and other technical clerks who are permanent.

This was the time i got my first real taste of work experience after completing my studies in 2017.

I have learned quite a few things i.e. Managing administrative duties. I also learned how to plan and schedule using prioritization and interpersonal skills.
Pros
Worked in a multi-disciplinary environment
Cons
Long Working hours i.e. was working for 7 days in a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and effective work areas
Millwrigt (Current Employee) –  Mpumalanga Secunda9 November 2017
This company has its issues as all companies do but the working enviroment is excellent and they always strive to give their employees the best they can
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coaching and Assessments is on point.
practitioner (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga9 November 2017
The challenging part of this job is when to complete a project but depending on others to assign or co-operate with on the same work and to wait for someone signature when he/she absent from work.
Pros
One lunch
Cons
Nine hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work.
cashier (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal6 November 2017
we worked shifts, 6 to 6. we worked with customers daily. I learned how to deal with difficult customers, I sharpened my customer care skills. The management was great, they helped us along the way. the hardest part was on busy days because of the many customers, but I enjoy interacting with people and customers. We were in charge of our floats. It was a great learning experience.
Pros
learning customer care
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report