Shoprite Group

1,1 K reviews

Shoprite Group Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
favuratism and employee isolation
shelf packer (Current Employee), Cape Town, Western CapeFebruary 5, 2016
Pros: understanding when having a serious problem
Cons: long hours
if the manager isolates the staff members, that on its own kill the team unity. A day at work is fun if the floor controler does its job by reviewing the job tasks before the shifts starts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Front Admin Manager (Former Employee), Johannesburg South, GPFebruary 3, 2016
Pros: R12.00 petty cash/day
Cons: long hours (+-12 hours/day)
It's a great experience, including colleagues I work shift, Sunday's & public holidays, enjoyed my duration but I think 1 can not spend more than 20 years working in 1 places as we as human being should look for other challenges in life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was born into Meat Trade and love it
Meat Market Manager (Former Employee), Port Elizabeth, ECJanuary 31, 2016
Pros: Love working in Meat Trade as its in my blood
Cons: none
Mornings complete the paperwork and do hygiene checks.
Temperature charts 3 times a day.
Keep place clean and productive
Training off staff
Love working in the Mead Trade
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace and productive
MERCHANDISER (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GautengJanuary 29, 2016
Pros: free lunch
Cons: 5 hours
i got this job during my matric caz i had assigment for travel and tourism so i had to find a place where i will work for 3 weeks to fill the form from school as they wanted working experience.this was not a permanent job for it was just a holiday assigment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting place full of growth and development
Trainee Manager (Former Employee), Gauteng, JohannesburgJanuary 28, 2016
Work was hectic everyday was a challenge everything was exciting. Literally have zero expectations because whatever happens will definitely be mind blowing.
Tolerance and patience is what I learned, to persevere through it all and end the day like a champ.
My colleagues were everything, I'd wake up with a smile on my face every time I think about the day ahead.
hardest part would be dealing with stubborn customers which is also the enjoyable part, nothing pleases me more than a satisfied customer... I mean we lived for them :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exhausting and challenging working enviroment
Supervisor (Current Employee), Tongaat, ZNJanuary 24, 2016
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work is firstly having enough staff so the day can run smoothly without any problems. Ensuring all staff has tea and lunch breaks accordingly. Ensuring pick-ups are done timeously. Making sure all relevant paper work are put accordingly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice working there
money market clerk (Former Employee), Port Shepstone, ZNJanuary 19, 2016
Pros: you buy your own lucnh
Cons: 8 hours a day but more on busy days
Always smile,customer is always right. Never ague with a customer. I respected my manager, nice working with them but not on busy day. Pay day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and puntual
CASHIER (Former Employee), mpumalangaJanuary 15, 2016
Pros: 12h00-13h00
Cons: long
i have learnt a lot in cashier work ,how to handle different,how to deal with customers, how to cash up the money and to how to use a computure
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assistance (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPJanuary 15, 2016
Pros: free uniform
Cons: Extra time
I learned how to use computer and dealing with difficult customers
and i learned customer service, and to become the good manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good to be in retail
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Tzaneen, LPJanuary 11, 2016
in the shoprite group you can gain a lot of knowledge.
we meet different culters with dfferent expectations.
we strive to face challenges and we also aim to please our customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR Administrator
Recruitment Officer (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GautengJanuary 8, 2016
Cons: Long hours
I would prepare Work permit applications for all employees being mobilized to our Site. Filing leave forms, contracts, sick notes, resignations and terminations of employees.
Prepare reports for work permits and report to Management.
Ensuring compliance in all work permit applications.
Answering and addressing employees enquiries.
Record keeping of all staff information.
Data capturing of all required data.
Filing and assisting with CCMA case preparations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reach maximum profits with less manpower
Regional Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPJanuary 6, 2016
Pros: Company Car, Short Term Bonus and Long Term Bonus
Cons: Shoprite Culture
Preparation for CCMA cases. Recruitment and filling of vacant positions. Scheduled hours versus Sales versus Staff cost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Regime Management Style
communications officer (Former Employee), Brackenfell, Western CapeDecember 2, 2015
Pros: annual bonus
Cons: terrible benefits
overall culture is awesome. top management has been there since company basically started so they still operate military style and are not keen on new changes. no training available to grow and develop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and motivating
MONEY MARKET CLERK (Former Employee), Pretoria, GPNovember 27, 2015
Pros: certificate of long service
Cons: long hours
a very good place that need a visionary and a hardworking person. the employees are well mannered and serve with the smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workpace
general worker (Former Employee), Vryburg, North WestNovember 17, 2015
Pros: Good environment
Cons: Long busy day
The employees are great and the atmosphere is good. The customers are great, the only bad thing was the hours and the turnover of staff.With me being an general worker, I dealt with a variety of different customers a day within an average shift of 7 hours.
I learned how to communicate with others easily and how to handle money, especially in a busy environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had a lot of Fun IF the work was done
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Thabazimbi, LPNovember 12, 2015
Pros: free lunch
Cons: very long hours and no over time
I have learned a lot from shoprite from being a manager.
We did had some hard time to reach our targets but in the end we did make it. I know that the staff there is missing me i was there a few months ago and i am a shamed to see to shop again it looked horrible i can not believed that the shop went back words we i left there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was trained to be a manager
Trainee manager (Former Employee), Gauteng, GautengNovember 10, 2015
Pros: free lunches
Cons: none
i was given a broad oportunity
should shoprite open a store i will be one of the candidates to be considered
i was managing over 20 people
i learned about customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with staff and communicating with the general manager
packer (Former Employee), Richards Bay, ZNNovember 3, 2015
Pros: lauches time
Cons: long hours durring sunday
typical is where we have to count the stock.staff member were very kind, even the general manager was using a polite language when he was communicating with the staff member it was a effective company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to work as team with staff member's
Storeman Supervisor (Former Employee), Mpumalanga BushbuckridgeOctober 29, 2015
I was feël happy to work on the Retail store. I started to learn things like how you work with customer's. You Must understand the problames of the customer and solve it in the Good manner dont allow the customer to Walk off in the shop unhappy. How to merchandise products on the shelves and make sure That after merchandise their PI.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
general worker (Former Employee), Lenasia, GPOctober 26, 2015
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: part time job
i learned about sales, customer service, merchandising, promotions, how to make orders, how to recieve orders, time mamagement, stock control, store management
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Brackenfell 7560
Western Cape
Revenue
R50m to R250m
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Shoprite Group website