Find companies:
Shoprite Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
740 reviews

Shoprite Group Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Trainee Manager (Former Employee), Kempton Park, GPDecember 8, 2014
Pros: free break fast and lunch
Cons: long hours
It was a good working place full of challenging duties everyday,it was a great n exciting feeling meeting new people who have a same dreams
It was not so easy to work 07 to 17h:00 at the first place but I got used to it and enjoy being there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You stop living
Former Admin manager (Former Employee), MpumalangaNovember 30, 2014
Pros: training and very good customers that made my time there memorable, i made life long friendships.
Cons: long hours, horrible salaries and alarm call outs
I started as a cashier and ended up as a department manager.As a manager you get exposed to all the politics that happen high up,you are told to ensure staff follow rules that the bosses break without thinking twice.You cannot approach some senior management with an opinion or suggestion because their positions are dangled every where to keep people – more... quiet.I must have been told by my previous RAM more than 20 times in three years that he was going to fire me,suprisingly when he had problems in other branches he asked for my help.He was always biased with everything because his wife held the same position as me and he is her immediate superior.Double standards and nepotism will be the downfall of Shoprite Checkers which overall is a good company.I left because of a better offer,i miss the customers and staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
guality and enjoyable to work with people
shelf packer (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPNovember 28, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: few hours
a typical day at work was to offloads goods and to make sure they dont get damaged.i learned so much in terms of being responsible and able to work with people with respect.the hardest part of the job was to always to push a loaded trolley over and over.the most enjoyable part of the job we were getting free lunches
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
chef, paker (Former Employee), Alberton, GPNovember 26, 2014
Pros: free lunchs
Cons: long hours especially holidays
I learned to be patient that working hours can change due to lots of customer, with good management working hand in hand with my co-workers the hardest part of the job is find taxis also the job is fun from hour to hour
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
trolley man (Former Employee), Queenstown, ECNovember 20, 2014
Pros: lunch time
Cons: long hours
My days at work were very nice and i learned to work hard, have positive attitude to the customers and co-workers. The hardest part was cleaning and the enjoyable one was pushing trolleys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY GOOD PLASER TO WORK
NONE FOODS MANAGER (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPNovember 5, 2014
Pros: good company to work for
Cons: lomh houres, notime for family
ENJOYED EVRY DAY WHEN I WORKED AT SHOPRITE , STAFF IS GOOD MANAGEMENT WAS HELPFUL AND MADE YOU THING THEY WAY YOU WANT TO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
general worker (Former Employee), Cape Town, WCOctober 29, 2014
Pros: dicounts
Cons: extra unpaid hours
my previous employer told us adding fun in the work place helps you enjoy working and completing tasks

it was true cos you always look forward in going to work not cos you getting paid but cos of how you work and the relationship between you and your coleages
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture needs a lot of improvement
Store Manager (Former Employee), Polokwane, LP, Mogwase, North WestOctober 24, 2014
Pros: annual profit share
Cons: wxcessive working hours
I learned more about thinking on your feet. Very fast paced business where focus on risk should not be lost at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
packer (Former Employee), cape town western capeSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: over time
Cons: lomg hours
i remember this other day there was this old lady i was packing her products she was so sweet she was me like"my daughter" i gained lot of respect and ma co workers they were so kind and disciplined, i never find any hard part of the job my job was so easy and i was enjoying packing, the enjoyable part of the job was that i was dealing with different – more... kinds of people there were colureds and blacks even white people i enjoyed dealing with those different kinds of people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company culture
admin manager (Former Employee), Cape Town, WCSeptember 19, 2014
Cons: no lunch available
It dealt more on external customers than internal ( employees)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and continuous learning workplace
Sales manager (Former Employee), Polokwane, LPSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: sustain toughness
Cons: long hours
The company teaches management from all angles,you learn to be independent and very tough as decisions you make have consequences and you have to stand for them,you learn to delegate and get things done in time in order to achieve targets as its very crucial to achieve targeted numbers,planning have to be so good as this is a very busy company-the culture – more... is all about delivering results and moving on and that teaches you to focus more on your job and deliver.Overall its a good organisation that cooks managers to become very knowledgeable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
checkers Hyper Centurion
Front admin manager (Former Employee), Sandton, GPSeptember 9, 2014
this was my first job,
a lot of excitement, hungry for success,willingness to learn
all was good, very nice welcome.
was a trainee manager, learning how to run each department in the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less productive
GENERAL GROCERY ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Zeerust, NWSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: no free lunch and transport
Cons: short hours
Shoprite retail store its management was very pour, regarding employees support, they lack leadership skills. when we workers experiences problem regarding the conditions of workplace they do failed. it was fun and interesting but salary was pour, it was fluctuating every month.

skills acquired

-Stock taking
-Stock Control
- Computer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainee Management Review
Trainee Manager (Former Employee), Pretoria, South AfricaSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: engaging with staff members
Cons: long working hours
Supervising service department staff and assisting in cash office management. Compiling weekly reports, assisting in planning and conducting stock taking. Inventory management and providing input to increasing sales. It provided a challenge to curbing inventory theft by customers. It was highly motivating to work with staff members in a close-knit environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good shop
cashier (Former Employee), Umtata, ECAugust 14, 2014
Cons: long hours
it was very good experience working at shoprite.The stuff that was training us for cashier were very good and polite with us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monday: Up at 6AM, shower, no breakfast, at work by 7AM. For the next five hours, handle emails feedback, questions, report prom out of stock to the r
computer operator (Current Employee), Nelspruit, MPAugust 8, 2014
Monday: Up at 6AM, shower, no breakfast, at work by 7AM. For the next five hours, handle emails feedback, questions, report prom out of stock to the regional manager, do bookwork (matching reservations, checkouts, bank statements, etc). At noon, go out for a half an hour lunch break at one of the various overpriced restaurants /

as a computer operator – more... and the email feedback sometimes you have to deal with nasty remarks from your bosses as they would want you to respond as fast as you can forgetting that you also have to deal with customers and this turn out to be the most hardest part of my job and the same time interacting with customers is more funny since you meet different people some are difficult to deal with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Personnel Admin Clerk (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCAugust 8, 2014
Pros: good benefits
It is challengeing to work for such a large retailer, but the experienced gained is beneficial . I have been employed at this company for 22 years but feel the growth has been too slow..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young & energetic and have an outgoing personality,
cashier (Current Employee), Benoni, GPJuly 11, 2014
My experiences allow me to see the broader picture and its implication; hence this strengthens my abilities to reach the ultimate goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
Back admin manager (Current Employee), Barberton, MPJune 24, 2014
Pros: many training courses that the company pays for
Cons: long hours
We have many tasks to complete each day, and have to learn to multitask

You need to manage your own time and staff to be as productive as possible
Management are under a lot of pressure and sometimes forget that their staff have families to go to

The hardest part of the job is that your family always has to come second, you have to work shift that – more... can be anything from 11 to 15 hours, without overtime.

On some weekends you work without being paid

The most enjoyable part is that we get to attend many training courses and its easy to build a team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging
forklift driver (Former Employee), Centurion, GPJune 11, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: long hours
hard day at work i learned how to work as a team, and i miss my co-workers. the hardest part of the job is to offload the stock from the truck and the enjoyable part is to scan the stock and the management was perfect.

1 2 3 4 5

About Shoprite Group

The Shoprite brand is one of the leaders in South African food retailing and is, according to independent market research, the – Read more