Find companies:
South West Gauteng College
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

South West Gauteng College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SWGC - Learning Culture
Lecture/Facilitator (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPMarch 18, 2014
Pros: the environment and culture of learning
Cons: learners absconding their levels or grade
I'm passionate about Teaching
Teaching is enjoyable if you love imparting information
Working with highly skilled people makes your job easier
In FET colleges we usually work with difficult Learners or special needs Learners
Its fulfilling when your Learners proceed to the next level
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and healthy envinment.
CAFETERIA SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Johannesburg North, GPJanuary 31, 2014
In the morning, I count the float. Change the work schedule. Make sure all food items are prepared on time. I've learned to develop my own menu, up my sales by upselling the food items that are not selling very well. I was managing two staff members and the daily operations of the cafeteria according to the set standards and goals My hardest part of – more... my job, was if I had to discipline my co workers.
The enjoyable is that during school holidays, is not very busy and this give us time to clean properly and come with ideas to improve our menu and the cafeteria setup. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't pay their workers right,they are using one size fits all (same salary) for admin clerks which is not fair
Ms (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: when there's only meetings and trainings
Cons: not at all 45 minutes only for lunch
I feel they are using me as im an Intern but i earn R1700 per month,whereas i always strive for perfection in all the task i get.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challeging and fun work place but serious on job
Personal Assistant, receptionist, administration (Current Employee), JohannesburgAugust 13, 2013
Pros: i used to have free lunch from her if my filling was correct and she was impressed.
Cons: i didint mind working over times as long i make my job done.
I have learned filling in department of education while i was filling schools documents even though my senior was giving hard time but at the end i learned filling even with my eyes closed. i enjoyed capturing and typing and i have learned that if you deliver nothing will come into your. if you dont leave any stone behind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so far my manager are happy with my work and achievement that i am making
procurement clerk (intern) (Current Employee), soweto, gautengMay 23, 2013
Pros: when celebrating our collegues birthdays
Cons: we do work over times but not everyday
.typica day to me is friday
management is very good they are very encouraging.
. my co- worker they treat each other with respect we are a family every one would want.
. enjayable part of the job when talking to suppliers/clients.
. suppliers who are not commited to their work,when deliveries take longer than you expected.
,dealing with suppliers,tenders – more... an that the work at that derpartment is always pilling there no time to relax. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
admin clerk (Current Employee), soweto kliptownFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: free breakfast
Cons: long hours
. a day spent at work is wonderful
. i learned to communicate with customers
. i work well with my fellow workers
. is sending debt collection
. customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
I.T Technician and Network Administrator (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GautengJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: free lunch, free transport for meetings, coffee and tea, work laptop.
Cons: long hours, no lunch at times
Simple 8am - 4pm Job, where in the morning stuff sign the register to assure that we at work and in time. I had my own quiry or problem register for the stuff members with regards to any technical problems that they have so i know where to start and end for my day.
I have learned a lot, like how to work with people and how to approach different kind – more... of people so as to keep the work environment healthy. I am good working under pressure and i sure as hell had fun i must say. My co-workers where friendly and it was like i am at home. Honestly there where no hardest part for me 'cause everything was smooth even when there where network failure and Pupil writing exams and the are some technical issues i would handle them fast and quickly without any disruptions and so within no time everybody is happy and the students will go like i Sir you inspire me. When everything is working smoothly i must say it is the most enjoyable part of the job, 'cause i would relax in my office and come up with better strategies of how can i make things work entirely without any common problems occurring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but quite interesting!!!!!
Student support officer/ School Cousellor (Current Employee), Johannesburg South-SowetoNovember 27, 2012
Pros: chocolates on your birthday!!!!!
Well it differs, on some days i do cap test for students who came to register, do means test for those applying for bursaries, have couselling session with those who made appointment to see me, capture information during registration, help lectures with invitulation, organise functions for students e.g- sports and end of the year function, type acknowledge – more... letters for students applying for bursaries and letters for parents meeting. From this job i have learned to patient, be able to work under pressure, be multitasked, be able to work with people from different cultures. The hardest part was when i have to deal with difficult and disrespectful students. I learnt so much from my co-workers the team work spirit, punctuality, respect and how to work very hard.i enjojed sharing information with the students and working with them-they are so interesting!!!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but Great
Small enterprise assistant (Former Employee), Gauteng-SowetoNovember 19, 2012
Pros: free health check-ups (wellness day)
Cons: stable working hours
I find my work interesting and fun .Working more with a computer seems to provide me with more skills and my fellow workers are fun to work with.The college management is well structured and they provide quality managerial function which suits all.The most challenging part is to be given a task and by an hour one should submmit the report and not given – more... enough time to complete.The most enjoyable part is that you get appraissals for a job well done and when we close we have year end functions which improves the good employee relationship with co-workers.I must say that being under the auspacies of South West it encourages me to do more and become not only an employee but a valuable asset of the organisation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun (sometimes)
Receptionist - intern (Current Employee), JohannesburgSeptember 3, 2012
typical day at work is Monday.
I have learned i must be patient ,loyal, understand with people
management is good so far so good.
my co-worker are friendly most of the time.
if their pressurizing me
the switch board
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very much productive
Education Specialist (Former Employee), GautengJune 5, 2012
Pros: no
Cons: long hours
My first day to conduct ameeting with all ICT deparrtment staff,I have learned that being bold and confident helps irrespective of your experience.It was not easy working with the new management but i finnally got used to it although was too hectic.The hardest part of my job was running the ICT department and having classes in Information Systems and – more... A+.The most enjoyable part was when i have contacts session with my seniors because i was gaining more experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My line of work enables me to learn something new everyday.
Examination Officer (Current Employee), Roodepoort CampusJune 1, 2012
Pros: soft skills workshops
Cons: there never is enough manpower to do the job right the first time around.
Problem with NCV results its because of outstanding ISAT & ICASS
Report 191 because of outstanding year mark.
Statement of results not being released on time according to management plan.

Dealing with difficult clients determines strong character
Policy regarding examinations.

Management of high volumes of scripts and mark sheets in a logistic manner – more... required by policy and guidelines (DoHET and Umalusi) to run Marking Centres.

Team player, (it's interesting how my current workplace never has a dull moment) ,.

Monitoring and inspecting (internally) of exam venues, particularly to ensure that invigilators follow the right procedures at all times.

The end result of graduates finally receiving their diplomas at the annual graduation ceremony. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun to solve a problem
ICT Technicain (Former Employee), JohannesburgApril 30, 2012
Solving individuals problems
I have being open minded since i will be called for a problems that i have never solved before and yet i have to come with a solution.
I have to manage my self as i was the one who knew more about the work that i was doing at that campus,thou I had some one I have to report too.
Concerning my Co-workers it is always nice – more... to work with people who have faith in your work, they believed in me.
You will use a method to solve a problem today, and when you try same method tommorow it does not work and every one expect you to be clever because you are IT Guy
Dealing with different problems and laughing at my self after i have struggled with a small thing. – less

About South West Gauteng College

South West Gauteng College is a public Further Education and Training institution operating under the auspices of the Department – Read more