Unilever Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and a great learning experince
Quality Inspector and Basic Operator (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng7 November 2017
The work place had great company culture, and highly innovative place. The expericence facililated growth and networking. meeting new people made the stay special
Pros
subsidized lunch
Cons
long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A big company and with high expectations. Yet workers struggling to buy the product they work with
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal30 October 2017
Enjoyable environment
To be always calm and collected as some customers are rude
Very bias
Customer always right and showing smile
Shouting
Gratitude
Pros
Incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday work environment
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng27 October 2017
You results are determined by the amount of work you put in, especially at retail trade level. Our purpose as merchandisers is to drive sales and gain market share at retail trade level. A typical day at work will include merchandising Unilever products on shelf and any other additional adhoc spaces you receive at trade level. This in turns increases the chances of gaining market share against competitors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Driven No supervision
Fitter (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal25 October 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is to work under pressure everyday, It makes mentally fit to tackle even challenges outside the workplace..........
Pros
Free Lunches when targets met
Cons
Explaining when targets not met
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun plce
universal machine operator (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal12 October 2017
as from I started working at Unilever I can say Unilever is the best company to work for the management is 100 percent ant safety comes first all the times.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
make sure u keep time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company benefits are so good and the issue will be work life balance
Field Manager (Current Employee) –  Mthatha6 October 2017
The products are so good and so easy to sell and the only issue is the work life balance . It is the best company to work for fun people to be around them
Pros
Outings are good
Cons
Hours of work are so high work till late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I currently enjoy my job, but I am bored and seeking something new
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  Umhlanga, KwaZulu-Natal20 September 2017
You are left to work on your own . We are responsible for our work, and to make sure that our deadlines are met. Accuracy is of great importance, as you are constantly working with figures. We practice Agile Working, which means you can work from home as long as your deadlines and your responsibilities are met.
Pros
we have a unilever staff shop
Cons
Long hours are expected if the work is not done
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flat structure
National Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Durbn19 September 2017
The company has a lot of opportunities but they are for select individuals. The growth rate was too slow for management of certain race. It is too sales driven
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough, Workplace learning place
Engineering Specialist (Current Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng18 September 2017
Unilever Lordsview is a fairly new factory. With the pressure of producing Ice Cream for Africa and getting its foundation intact, one would find it hard to balance providing current expectations and also build for stability for future.

The advantage is that one gets to develop working systems and SOPs. That build work capability in a way that any place can give you.
Pros
Great for learning and development
Cons
Long hours. Unhealthy family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
general work (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng14 September 2017
It was a a good place to work on and the management was very strict on time and the working conditions were perfect. Workers were so productive and yes indeed it was a good environment of workers
Pros
pap and steak
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work place
machine operator (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal14 September 2017
Unilever is a good company , I like it, they have medical aid for their employees, they train employees , they give employees chances to grow within the company
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
8 Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Opportuniy for growth
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Krugersdorp, Gauteng13 September 2017
Unilever has a lot of stock, which means a lot of work. Its good because you get to be busy you don't even notice that time is flying.
I learned quite a lot actually, e.g I always thought merchandising and shelve pack are the same thing. History of the company etc.
The hardest part was when my line manger changes my off day in that morning of my off day, or call me during the night to tell me I'm no longer going to that store but I'll be going on another!
My job becomes easier when I know what is excepted of me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and fun
Universal Operator (TEAM LEADER) (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal10 September 2017
ha ha ha. If I could and wasn't for the company shutting down its site, I would still say this is the best place to ever be. Growth, fun, leadership, career advancement, management and staff. Man I had the best moments of my life with this Company. They really are no 1.
Pros
Vp
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
millwright artisan (Current Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal7 September 2017
Nice working environment, good engineering culture, friendly colleague, open learning place where everyone is allowed to come with new ideas. Good team work
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with different people from different walks of life.
Merchandizer (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo6 September 2017
I love being around people with strong positive mindset. Working in retail environment its my passion in terms of learning strategic basics on how to keep focus and understanding what customers want and of kind of customers you working with on daily basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creditors Clark
Accounting Creditors Clark (Temporary Position) (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal5 September 2017
The most amazing environment I have worked in and very supportive.

Training was very good on their SAP computer system and team work was very important to the company.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Cant think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning new things everyday
forklift operator and reach truck (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal29 August 2017
Unilever head lots of opportunity and people was so kind the only problem they were using agents unfortunately they chase that agent and our contract were terminated
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long ours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work place
Vendor Administrator (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal29 August 2017
Fast paced work place.
I learned how to work under pressure and how to work with a team
Culture of work was focused more on results.
Hardest part of job was producing the expected results.
Most enjoyable part was the free ice cream on fridays
Pros
Free ice cream
Cons
Working under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
DATA ANALYST Responsibilities (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal25 August 2017
Although I only worked here for a short amount of time...I loved the job and what it taught me. Management taught me a lot in shaping my career and showing me due diligence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very calm environment
Product Development Technologist (Former Employee) –  Umhlanga, KwaZulu-Natal20 August 2017
The environment is really welcoming the moment you enter
I have learned the skills of various roles in the research and development team in the foods department .I gained a lot of confidence in speaking and communicating amongst people of different skill sets other from the department I have worked in.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Unilever. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,2
Based on 4 510 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3,9
Salary/Benefits
3,9
Job Security/Advancement
3,7
Management
3,7
Culture
4,0