Wakefern Food Corporation Employee Reviews in South Africa

Found 325 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like my job and I work with smile always
fresh food manager (Former Employee) –  pretoriaAugust 11, 2016
Always smiling with customers.
Friendly person
forcus on sales
staff schedules
checking on department profit
sales overall everyday
check hygiene in the department
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western CapeJuly 31, 2016
I enjoyed working at Shoprite because they taught me a lot, I learned to work on a till and how to count lot of money. the hardest part of the job was to make sure that the float balance at the end of the day and dealing with customers.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes
SHELF PAKER (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western CapeJuly 12, 2016
busy place as well, but too much crime in this place and it wasn't safe for worker. and its sad yoo. I honestly don't want to work here ever again, but I wish I can help them to improve the workers safety
Pros
not at all
Cons
very short hours and sometime you dont take lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a really a nice place
packer (Former Employee) –  Northern CapeJuly 7, 2016
It an exceptional place.and it is good to work there.no hard working just a good work implyed to your strength.I enjoyed working there it also have good management strategy
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  witbankJuly 5, 2016
That job is the good job for me to being cashier at shoptri they teach me lots of things that this why I will apply here on dis- chem
Pros
anytime
Cons
anytime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work well both individual and as a team
Receiving Admin clerk (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern CapeJuly 5, 2016
I'm a fast learner, hard working and can cope very well under pressure. Work well in a team as well as individually. I enjoy the work place as it is where i spend most of my time.
Pros
work during lunch hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, customer oriented and good working conditions
Till packer and general work (Former Employee) –  Gauteng in Eastrand vosloorusJune 14, 2016
The company is customer oriented, thus every employee knows customers come first, very productive, long working hours even on public holidays. Strong front management such as supervisors, fun work, communicating with different people and everyone is treated the same.
Pros
general work doing variety of work
Cons
long hours on public holidays and low salary rate
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
stock taking (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GautengJune 8, 2016
hard working company with more benefits i learned so much from them it was nice working with them problem you work few hours in few days which takes us to less money i leaned to physical perform and to group work with different cultures
Pros
free transport
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplacce
frontend controller (Current Employee) –  Pretoria North, GautengJune 8, 2016
very productive, fun workplace, management is very helpful, co- workers are very active in their work, assisting customers with a smile,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
Distribution assistant (Former Employee) –  Centurion, GautengJune 6, 2016
Everyday I make sure my Department has been higher performance, and that job make me feel changed because I build good relationship with my collaborative, I enjoy my work
Pros
They only has to launch all of as is 1 hour, it divided in to 30 minute each one
Cons
They beginning on 06:00 and end with 18:00
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
cash office clerk (Current Employee) –  East London, Eastern CapeJune 3, 2016
It was always nice being with friendly and supporting team. The relationship between the management and the co-workers is always proffesional and trustworthy
Pros
Free Fruit
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Shelf Packer (Former Employee) –  Westonaria, GautengMay 26, 2016
I and my co-workers we were working peacefully. the only probleme we had was the manager. she couldnt speak to people well and didnt treat people well or in a profesional.
Pros
free food at nightshift
Cons
small salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, GautengMay 24, 2016
We would be expected to submit reports and some of the schools were difficult to work with and didn't want to sign those reports. I have learned to work under pressure with a very little salary. Managers would expect us to deal with those difficult teachers or learners without them assisting us. Winter time we were supposed to work . I enjoyed working with school kids as if I was a teacher though I was just a peer educator.
Pros
FREE UNIFORM
Cons
WORKING ON WEEKENDS AND HOLIDAYS
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Till packer (Former Employee) –  Khayelitsha, Western CapeMay 24, 2016
leaned to co- operate with people, working fast as much as possible, had a wonderful management, understanding. the hardest part was when the customer want something that is not on stock and when trying to convince him does not want to listen to you, claiming to see a manager
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
money market clerk (Former Employee) –  Randfontein, GautengMay 19, 2016
well an typical day at work, would be making sure you there on time,or should i say before that specific time. then make sure your work place was well organised. then make sure you are ready. i met regular customers, since it was at an area where people lived there. i made sure to provide great customer services,always smiling. i did get challenges though. you get rude customers but you should always be calm and thats where its easier solving the customers matter. end of the day i use to make sure my work place is clean and prepared for the next day.
Pros
sometimes you get gifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Dispatched Clerk, Receiver Checker (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western CapeMay 10, 2016
a typical day at work, working under pressure, handling the pressure. I have learnt many skills, skills such as communication management and interacting with co- workers . The most enjoyable part is when everything goes according to plan and there is no hiccups
Pros
off days
Cons
long hours, night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
profitable and fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  JohannesburgApril 25, 2016
working with difficult customers and working long hours.when customers are not satisfied with the products. I send the to the supervisor to change them to their satisfactory.I enjoy working with people.
Pros
free transport when knock off late
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, GautengApril 20, 2016
It was a great place with good people and i gained alot of experience there the management was very kind and my co-workers worked like a team the hardest part of the job was coming late and the most enjoyable part was when i was working on friday and saturday
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Coming home late
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyble
nun food general asistens (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, GautengApril 20, 2016
month end
all ways make your customer happy
all ways u need a good leader
helpful
long hours at month end
to see help customer a
Pros
never
Cons
good many
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned?
general worker (Former Employee) –  GautengApril 18, 2016
I have learn a lot about retails. They teach you how to build your self and the ones around you. One becomes motivated to do more everyday.
Pros
Daily activities
Cons
Time schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2 423 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4