Wakefern Food Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working conditions
Retail Student (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng4 January 2018
working there was a learning curve. I learnt a lot during my days there such as work ethic, working under pressure. I only left the place because I had to go back to school.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good clean workplace
packer (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng3 January 2018
I have a great time there..good management n supervising excellent...development it's there and development.. u can grow there skill n implement some too
Cons
8hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday production and good customer service
CASHIER AND SHOP ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Ptetoria Gauteng3 January 2018
Dealing with hard customers, Doing money pick ups , Cash balancing,I'm enjoying my job when I'm not over and I don't have money shorts,clean work place,working under pressure,Be pantual, keep smiling to my customers so that they can always come to my store
Pros
I have only one hour lunch
Cons
Long hour lunch can lead to diciplinery hearimg
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cshier and packer (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape19 December 2017
I would like to wok there because I like working with people and there is a lot of customers everyday and am willing to help them with passion and love
Pros
Extra times
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was new there
packer (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal24 November 2017
Its was a part time job and I am a fast learner I managed to work there even its was first timetime and the hardest part it was nothing I can not lie because the old staff members are always there to help you I enjoyed there every day its was fun working with some of them
Pros
no
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Cashier or Packer (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape14 November 2017
Friendly staff and dedicated about their job, the company is giving their staff to be free when they are in the workplace. The company is bringing more customers and it is making high sales.
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
overtime and weekends available
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working
Hostess and waitress (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape5 November 2017
the place helped me achieve my goal by letting me do my hospitality learnership and i gained a lot of experience in the industry of food n beverages. the place has warm welcoming for guests
Pros
30 min-1hour
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
general worker (Current Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng29 October 2017
I work hard.I listen to my superiors.Am a team player, and I pay attention. I have communication skills,And am a time keeper. I work with peace.......
Pros
Own lunch
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard
FLOOR ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Soweto pimville25 October 2017
the company is a well-known business, though the management and the environment it's not conducive to what the business is.but never the less its good
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and rare opportunities
packer (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng29 September 2017
it was great for meeting exciting customers on daily basis but the environment was too small for me i need an environment that have lot of challenges and lot of opportunities.
Pros
staff price lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
till operator,money market clerck,cash office work (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng,yeoville20 September 2017
I enjoyed working at shoprite,as it was my first job,and I gained a lot of experience, and I learned a lot of things there,it made a different in my life
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
8 to 9hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
General assistant (salvage) (Former Employee) –  Pretoria West, Gauteng15 September 2017
its a great place to work at
i have learned a lot different cultures etc
i received a lot of costumer service experience
computer skills
the hardest part was working night shift
the most enjoyable part was meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
money market clerk (Current Employee) –  kzn11 September 2017
They pay very less and you work many years and still a casual worker.most of the staff are not happy at all because most of the time the managers have favourites staff and so forth
Cons
long hours don't pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
stock taking (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng11 September 2017
It was great working there because you get free lunch and the money is great so that's awesome cause the service is great and fantastic. The colleagues were fun and hard working
Pros
Enough time
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  Limpopo burgersfort6 September 2017
I am a hard worker, time management and good communication, team work, I get well with other people and have an ability to create a good relationship,
Pros
Free launches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
receiving clerck (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng30 August 2017
firstly i have to understand the place of work and give myself some quality time to learn and have some more potential, and i am a hard worker and eager
Pros
N/a
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not productive and streesfull work
money market clerk (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 August 2017
Company procedures followed but not taking inciative of they workers, contract workers even one has worked for the company more than 2 years, they dont value they stuff.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun-workplace
teller packer (Former Employee) –  Mfuleni, Western Cape8 August 2017
i usually learned to communicate with crowded people. the management is excellent. i am used to work under pressure. a typical day at work is when the is misunderstanding between two people which can lead them to cause a conflict, that can make bad reputation for the company.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service
Controller (Current Employee) –  Sr flagstaff7 August 2017
I like to work under pressure,under hygiene cercustances,I like to attend at work in time,I know how to place orders,and I kwon how to plane and organise
Pros
In time
Cons
Like to work underpressure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food
Sale every after 2weeks (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga Province19 July 2017
I have learned that I must take a good care of the customers so that they may call again. The hardest part is that I have to stand from morning until late. The most enjoyable part is that we get free lunch.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
6 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wakefern Food Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 3 420 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3,5
Salary/Benefits
3,1
Job Security/Advancement
3,2
Management
3,3
Culture
3,4