Wakefern Food Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 387 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Bakery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kloof street Cape Town13 July 2017
I can honestly say that no matter where I worked I always tried to make it fun at work.

You always met different people from different backgrounds.

I got to work at the fruit and veg counter as well and it was fun.
Pros
Got to meet different kinds of people
Cons
log hours, i was pregnant at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Butchery Manager (Former Employee) –  Mkuzi, KwaZulu-Natal5 July 2017
this is a country store with grate opportunity and i was grate full to have been given the opportunity to work there it was my first management position so its was learning all the way
Pros
benifits
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  Gauteng25 June 2017
Do not know this company id not work tehm and could not rate them or continue but the screen does not allow to change this so if the IT help desk can assist with this it will be highly appreciated!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng13 June 2017
i dont know much about the company so i cant even say if management,enjoyably part of the job,a typical day at work,work place culture etc i cant lie i dint know course ive not been there.ill only know if am working there
Pros
not sure about free lunch
Cons
dont know if they work long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would love to work in waterfront
cashier and waitress (Former Employee) –  cape town28 May 2017
You should be nice to the customers because the customers are always right.respect is the very important weapon at work an be kind to everyone at work place.
Cons
long hours are fine if you have transport at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Trainee manager (Former Employee) –  Pretoria16 May 2017
*Ensuring that the store runs like a well oiled machine and checking up on cashiers at all times
*ensuring that everything in the store is in order
*
*
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was needed
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng2 May 2017
working as a cashier at the company were difficult due to long hours under pressure of management but through that ive learned to do my best our salary were not good but we work long hours
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
fruit and veg assistant (Former Employee) –  Lorraine, Eastern Cape1 May 2017
i worked there for about a month and as far as jobs go it good but not he greatest, my opinion might be slightly bias due to a lot of conflict with my manager,one thing i can say is that the employes were not treated as part of the company,rather as expendable drones
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, bad pay, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wakefern
fruit and veg assistant in checkers (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape5 April 2017
excellent working environment, enjoyable team dynamic,great customer service always striving to go the extra mile to ensure customer satisfaction. generaly a great place
Pros
welcoming staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not suitable for my health
Perishable Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria29 March 2017
Great place 2 work if you have a family to support u and also if you are a permanent worker. You also gain work experience there it make u to realize what you get in workplace..
Pros
professional
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gauteng29 March 2017
Being a cashier taught me to be wide awake when working with money.I have developed punctuality and my love for customer service when i was a cashier.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had enjoyable good time to gain most of experience as a general worker there
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Jane Furse, Limpopo18 March 2017
Am willing to get another and work perfectly as well as previous I can either be a security officer,personnel or find any type of job where I will earn a salary of more than what I ever had.
Pros
lunch and teatime
Cons
15 minuts for tea and 60 minuts for lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like to have fun with my staff
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  witbank mpumalanga16 March 2017
Work together with ur staff respect ur job take care to costomers smile look friendly
everytime help costomers first respect ur manengers always check. Ur stores that clean
Pros
free lunch
Cons
nomal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ladysmith, KwaZulu-Natal12 March 2017
the management is responsible and I learned a lot how to handle stock and help the customers. The workplace is secured and safe and everything is done accordingly.
Pros
no
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Branch Administrator (Former Employee) –  Gauteng7 March 2017
productive and fun workplace,it is a company to work for my dream company, always having fun with staff competting to win customers, always sleep peacefully after a productive growth in sales
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Trainee Waitress (Former Employee) –  Northern Cape Kathu6 March 2017
I`ve worked as an trainee waiter and we had shifts that we worked. I liked the job very much because you have to be able to speak to different kinds of people and see new faces everyday. Every night after shifts you had to clean all the tables that you had that day and when your tables is clean you may leave and take your daily tips that you`ve made.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Standing for long
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im a hard work i can do all my best as i can
paker assistant (Current Employee) –  mpumalanga4 March 2017
I really want to work as a paker because is a good job for me , cause im a hard worker i really dont want to miss this job cause im interesting in working in it.
Pros
my own lunch
Cons
9hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frindly collegues to work with as a team, better be much submissive to employers to keep your job secured atleast
General worker (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape21 February 2017
Has been toleratable so far, the employer often pay us short money than the agreed rate but orders employees to work harder and long hours with very strict rules.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 February 2017
It was a very busy retail in Johannesburg CBD the volume of customers get take you off the roof sometimes and it was not easy to get used to it sometimes. Working as a cashier is a fun job learning to interact with customers face to face on the daily basis. Discipline and time management is always a key as you work on schedules and on weekends which can be tougher sometimes. Management was good down to earth and people you will interact with on a personal level of course always understand when you explain to them why you're late even when you cannot make it to work for a day you can notify them in advance. They was always that enthusiasm to come to work even though you will have one or two customers spoiling your day which can deal with as you meet another customer which you will help with something which makes your day. The hardest part its on Fridays and Saturday end of the month where customer are in their numbers shouting and complaining when queues are long. The most enjoyable time was basically everyday as get used to helping customers and customers shout at you it makes you realise the importance of working with people and understanding their frustration and help resolves most of their concerns.
Pros
90 minutes lunch
Cons
Working on schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Afte work workers can do fun
Workrs shoul know how to do salez (Current Employee) –  Limpopo13 February 2017
Productive is more important in the company.what I like about the company I get more challenges each and everyday.and you know difficult customers and you know how to help them and make sure that they come out happy.what I don't like about company is that they don't haired people permanet
Pros
Workers must do it
Cons
Long hours can be availeble
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wakefern Food Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 3 074 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3,5
Salary/Benefits
3,1
Job Security/Advancement
3,3
Management
3,3
Culture
3,4

CEO Approval

77%
804 ratings
Add your rating