Wakefern Food Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 396 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
till operator,money market clerck,cash office work (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng,yeoville20 September 2017
I enjoyed working at shoprite,as it was my first job,and I gained a lot of experience, and I learned a lot of things there,it made a different in my life
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
8 to 9hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
General assistant (salvage) (Former Employee) –  Pretoria West, Gauteng15 September 2017
its a great place to work at
i have learned a lot different cultures etc
i received a lot of costumer service experience
computer skills
the hardest part was working night shift
the most enjoyable part was meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
stock taking (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng11 September 2017
It was great working there because you get free lunch and the money is great so that's awesome cause the service is great and fantastic. The colleagues were fun and hard working
Pros
Enough time
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  Limpopo burgersfort6 September 2017
I am a hard worker, time management and good communication, team work, I get well with other people and have an ability to create a good relationship,
Pros
Free launches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
receiving clerck (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng30 August 2017
firstly i have to understand the place of work and give myself some quality time to learn and have some more potential, and i am a hard worker and eager
Pros
N/a
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not productive and streesfull work
money market clerk (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 August 2017
Company procedures followed but not taking inciative of they workers, contract workers even one has worked for the company more than 2 years, they dont value they stuff.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun-workplace
teller packer (Former Employee) –  Mfuleni, Western Cape8 August 2017
i usually learned to communicate with crowded people. the management is excellent. i am used to work under pressure. a typical day at work is when the is misunderstanding between two people which can lead them to cause a conflict, that can make bad reputation for the company.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service
Controller (Current Employee) –  Sr flagstaff7 August 2017
I like to work under pressure,under hygiene cercustances,I like to attend at work in time,I know how to place orders,and I kwon how to plane and organise
Pros
In time
Cons
Like to work underpressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food
Sale every after 2weeks (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga Province19 July 2017
I have learned that I must take a good care of the customers so that they may call again. The hardest part is that I have to stand from morning until late. The most enjoyable part is that we get free lunch.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
6 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Bakery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kloof street Cape Town13 July 2017
I can honestly say that no matter where I worked I always tried to make it fun at work.

You always met different people from different backgrounds.

I got to work at the fruit and veg counter as well and it was fun.
Pros
Got to meet different kinds of people
Cons
log hours, i was pregnant at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Butchery Manager (Former Employee) –  Mkuzi, KwaZulu-Natal5 July 2017
this is a country store with grate opportunity and i was grate full to have been given the opportunity to work there it was my first management position so its was learning all the way
Pros
benifits
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  Gauteng25 June 2017
Do not know this company id not work tehm and could not rate them or continue but the screen does not allow to change this so if the IT help desk can assist with this it will be highly appreciated!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng13 June 2017
i dont know much about the company so i cant even say if management,enjoyably part of the job,a typical day at work,work place culture etc i cant lie i dint know course ive not been there.ill only know if am working there
Pros
not sure about free lunch
Cons
dont know if they work long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would love to work in waterfront
cashier and waitress (Former Employee) –  cape town28 May 2017
You should be nice to the customers because the customers are always right.respect is the very important weapon at work an be kind to everyone at work place.
Cons
long hours are fine if you have transport at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Trainee manager (Former Employee) –  Pretoria16 May 2017
*Ensuring that the store runs like a well oiled machine and checking up on cashiers at all times
*ensuring that everything in the store is in order
*
*
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was needed
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng2 May 2017
working as a cashier at the company were difficult due to long hours under pressure of management but through that ive learned to do my best our salary were not good but we work long hours
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
fruit and veg assistant (Former Employee) –  Lorraine, Eastern Cape1 May 2017
i worked there for about a month and as far as jobs go it good but not he greatest, my opinion might be slightly bias due to a lot of conflict with my manager,one thing i can say is that the employes were not treated as part of the company,rather as expendable drones
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, bad pay, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wakefern
fruit and veg assistant in checkers (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape5 April 2017
excellent working environment, enjoyable team dynamic,great customer service always striving to go the extra mile to ensure customer satisfaction. generaly a great place
Pros
welcoming staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not suitable for my health
Perishable Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria29 March 2017
Great place 2 work if you have a family to support u and also if you are a permanent worker. You also gain work experience there it make u to realize what you get in workplace..
Pros
professional
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gauteng29 March 2017
Being a cashier taught me to be wide awake when working with money.I have developed punctuality and my love for customer service when i was a cashier.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wakefern Food Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 3 198 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3,5
Salary/Benefits
3,1
Job Security/Advancement
3,3
Management
3,3
Culture
3,4