ABB Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working environment
Information Security Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 July 2018
Great environment , you continually improve your knowledge through engaging with colleagues globally. Management is encourages one to always improve professionally
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Engineer in Training (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng23 June 2018
ABB South Africa provides a vibrant diversity of departments in which to gain experience. The ability to move departments and continue learning is advantageous, and every employee is treated with long term goals in mind. Every employee has a mentor, and mentors someone below them - this is to ensure transfer of knowledge between employees soon to retire, and employees that are new to the workforce.
Pros
Good people.
Cons
Can work over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity and growth
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Limpopo, Zambia, Mozambique, Botswana and Gauteng7 May 2018
Enjoyable, productivity, growth, fumy and learning .

I was give a platform to grow and work independently, making informed decision, exposed to new green energy technology

travelling African continent
Pros
good perks
Cons
Long hours and public holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Challenging and highly Rewarding Work environment at all Levels.
Local Product Group Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng30 April 2018
Fast Evolving Technologically advanced working Environment.
Extremely Enjoyable and Fast tracked environment.
Great International Exposure, with many opportunities within career development.
Pros
International Exposure whereby keeping you in check with the latest technology advancements.
Cons
U need to be on your toes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes
Promoter (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape20 April 2018
Management was kind,caring and supportive to me.Workplace was health and the atmosphere was good.The hardest part of the job I was dealing with the customers who want win no matter what.The most enjoyable part I was always communicating with customers.All was well in so much that I felt it was such a short time.I develop self confidence and love for customers, l really enjoyed working there in so much that I still wish to turn the clock I miss everything about my job not forgetting how friendly the management and staff were to me
Cons
Overcrowded as it was easters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skill development
Proposals Engineer/ Tender and Quote Specialist (Current Employee) –  Modderfontein, Gauteng12 April 2018
ABB is all about improving skills and educating young talent like myself to be great in the business. The hardest part for working for such a huge business is that you must always pull you A game and maintenance the brand's reputation, what I enjoy about working for such an organisation I get to know not just one side of the field which is technical, you also get to know the business aspect of things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project Administrator/ Sales Order Processor (Former Employee) –  Mooderfontein12 March 2018
Was exposed to many things and it thought me how to deal with many customers and suppliers. I have learned to be independent and manage to work under pressure
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, productive and fun company
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng15 February 2018
I've learned a lot from ABB and I enjoyed working with colleagues from neighbouring countries. I learned to work with customers happy and unhappy, being able to solve situations without a manager by my side. I was independent and learned to calm unhappy customers and deliver what was supposed to be delivered.
Pros
Subsidy for lunch everyday
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Testing technician (Former Employee) –  Kuruman9 January 2018
ABB did hire me boardroom appointments as we were working at Reisa solar field its the best company I ever worked for I dnt have matric but they did hire me
Pros
They did buy us something to eat like cereal at work and coffe
Cons
Perfct hours and well paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great team work
Projects (Former Employee) –  City of Johannesburg, Gauteng13 November 2017
A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK
The days are very busy, starting with a meeting most times and carry on with day to day operations. A lot of liaison with Engineers and Project Managers. Lots of internal communication via email, phone or in person.

WHAT I LEARNED
I started my finance career at ABB and for the 8 years I was there, I learnt so much starting from a debit and credit to working with all the accounting tools. I learnt how a business system work as I worked in business. I learnt leadership skills and I partook in a lot of inhouse courses like advanced excel, SAP superuser, Project Management.

MANAGEMENT
The management at ABB was bottom-up management. Employees contributed a lot to Management decision in a lot of ways and it was great to be part of most decisions.

WORK CULTURE
Relaxed work environment. Honest and integrity being the core.

THE HARDEST PART OF MY JOB
Working very long hours to get the work done and reports on time. I worked on a very high volume Business unit

BEST PART OF MY JOB
I enjoyed every bit of my job, taking decisions and making all necessary recommendations. Just taking charge of my area of work and being trusted enough to handle it all by myself and worked with a great team that made my job so easy and enjoyable
Pros
Medical aid, Pension and Provident fund
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project Analyst (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng13 October 2017
Working with different regions gives great exposure. Fast growing. Fast working tempo. Interactive work culture. Great learning abilities and exposure. Strong leadership team
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and speed
HR Compensation and Benefits Specialist (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng14 September 2017
A committed and proactive professional who enjoys being an HR rounder in the use of embedded skills and knowledge. Quick to assimilate new ideas, concepts whilst demonstrating a logical and analytical approach to solving complex problems and issues. Able to work well on own initiative while demonstrating the organisation and prioritisation required to achieve tight deadlines and deliverables. A motivational and inspirational professional who enjoys being part of a successful and productive team, and thrives in highly pressurised and challenging working environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical example of a good and productive workplace
control and instrumentation QA/QC (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga10 September 2017
waking up in the mornings and getting ready for has never been a hesitation to me.Doing what i love and having a deep passion for for it just make my job more easier and consequently simplifies my life. Being a quality controller/ quality assurance is a previlage to me as we have guides such as specifications to follow when conducting inspections, drawings to refer from and assuring that everything is done as per specs and procedures as well as keeping record and delivering on time and avoiding re-works for cost reduction.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wealth of knowledge
Senior Proposals Engineer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng1 September 2017
ABB has a wide offering of products and offering and is great company to work for and grow in.
The are bursary opportunities and mentor-ship. The environment is work intensive bur overall friendly
Pros
Wealth of knowledge
Cons
A culture of Restructuring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracts Manager and/or Contracts Administrator
Contracts Administrator (Current Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga30 August 2017
My key responsibilities are from Pre-contract; Contract and Post contract stage. In brief during the Pre-contract satge: Procurement and this include deciding on procurement strategies; Solicit tender offers; Evaluate tender offers and last award the contract. Contract stage: Administer contratcs in accordance with its terms & conditions within the agreed time frame; Manage formal governance of the contract which include change control, cost monitoring, payment procedures & approvals and management reporting. Post contract: Ensuring that what has been agreed upon is delivered to appropriate quality standards; Making sure that any defects has been rectified and a proper close out report is submitted to the Client and all the Guarantees or insurances returned to the Contractor or Consultant.

Contracts Management/Administration, as opposed to the Project Management is solely focused around the protection of each party's rights under the Contract, and the maintenance of a fair and balanced position at all times through the progress of the project. Therefore, the importance of Contracts Administration to the success of the Contract, and to the relationship between the Contractor or Consultant and the Employer should not be underestimated. I liaise with Area Project Managers; Senior Project Engineers; Procurement Manager/ Superintendent; Contractors or Consultants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical Official
Clerical Official (Former Employee) –  Singapore28 August 2017
Nice workplace,worked with engineers doing printouts and display changes,diferent culture in Singapore,difficult to stay with changes made by engineers
Pros
Salary
Cons
Language
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Long Meadow1 June 2017
Stress full, but fun.
Yearly retrenchments
Regular changing of managers, roles and responsibilities.
Excellent with anti-corruption/bribery policies
Global company room to move
Pros
Global Company
Cons
Regular retrenchments
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
HR Director (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng19 May 2017
Great international company to work for with great benefits and in those years there was strong management in place that made good decisions. There were opportunities for people to grow in their jobs and travel overseas to gain training and development
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees work closely together like a family
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape30 March 2017
You meet and with with new and international customers virtually on a weekly basis. The company offers excellent growth opportunities for all its employees.
They also train electrical and mechanical apprentices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stepping stone
Power System (Assistant Project Administrator) (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng1 March 2017
Updating and data capturing of employee details, medical aid, education, personal details, work history and reference.
I've learned to use SAP and Syspro.
The working environment was a healthy and people were friendly and helpful.
The our contract will end soon and knowing that the company will restructure.
As it was my first job, learning was exciting and innovative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ABB. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 3 135 reviews
51,1 K
41,2 K
3581
2127
1104

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,5Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,8Culture