ABSOLUTE PETS Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
SALESPERSON/ ANIMAL NUTRITION ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Northern Suburbs, Western Cape1 December 2019
You often feel that you can easily be replaced. Management has favorites. They have high expectations for staff yet they don't make you feel appreciated. Commission sucks. They love watching staff on CCTV.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best customer services, new and exciting experience
Nutritional pet care advisor (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng19 November 2019
Very exciting, getting to learn more about animal nature, and life style, learning more about pet nutrients and different kind of medications... I learnt more and new things.... working at Absolute pets was a great experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canal Walk, Western Cape5 August 2019
Great colleagues. Worked really well together. Obtained a Veterinary Nutrition certificate through the company. Most of the work days were really busy but of course there were quiet days as well.

Through Absolute Pets I gained knowledge on what pets require to maintain a healthy diet, what to do when a pet has fallen ill and what medication or treatment to recommend when a pet has an injury.

The hardest part of the job was the occasional angry clients and how to stay calm when they are angry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Growth Opportunities
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal7 February 2019
The load of the work culture is character building, the management is supportive however the systems of the company put strain employee relationships.
Pros
consistent service and product training
Cons
long hours and salary cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun in the workplace
PET CARE ADVISOR, (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape16 January 2019
a typical day at the store is basically come in clean, make orders for the day, open the store for business day and then help customers, receive deliveries etc while making sure all the admin stays up to date. Most of your team members will be really easy to get along with and will always be more than happy to help you, you get the odd man who is out to make everyone else miserable, but you get them everywhere. you may be surprised with puppy visits in a mall and you will see animals everyday if your branch has a parlor. most days are either a lot of fun or really boring depending on where you are based. just make sure your admin is meticulous and you communicate with your team and management when you are confused or made a mistake.
Pros
your team becomes your family, lots of fun, job security, occasional surprise visit with puppies, highest salary you will receive with the benefit of getting pet food at cost or for free.
Cons
long weird hours, work weekends, can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with animals
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cape Town18 July 2018
Great colleagues. Worked really well together. Obtained a Veterinary Nutrition certificate through the company. Most of the work days were really busy but of course there were quiet days as well.

Through Absolute Pets I gained knowledge on what pets require to maintain a healthy diet, what to do when a pet has fallen ill and what medication or treatment to recommend when a pet has an injury.

The hardest part of the job was the occasional angry clients and how to stay calm when they are angry.
Pros
Grooming Dogs
Cons
Safety Issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday comes with its own challenges
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Gauteng22 May 2018
You will get used to be part of the team. Coming in the morning and cleaning up and placing orders before you open the store. It eventually becomes the daily routine. Meeting up with customers and they do not trust you because you are new to them, but with time you get used to them and they too will be used to you. Creating customer relations at the point of you knowing their pets names and them showing you pictures of their pets that is enjoyable. Confronting grumpy customers who are always in a hurry and are not patient enough to wait for their turn to be served.
Pros
working shifts
Cons
weekend long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned so much
Sales Consultant/ team leader (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape5 October 2017
Working for this Company was the best experience of my life,
It was fun and i got to meet the most interesting people.
i got to work with dogs. pity they don't value there staff
Pros
working with dogs
Cons
undervalued
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
na (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape13 May 2016
I love the people who work at this company, they are hardworking honest people.

The company is still through the growing pains.
Pros
The People
Cons
sometime long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing company
Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  WC3 June 2015
I enjoyed my time at Absolute Pets. A fairly new company but is growing at a rapid speed. I do believe that the company has a lot of potential and will be a successful company
Pros
A friendly team and always going out of their way to assist their customers.
Cons
Company growing at a rapid speed and therefore i had to put in long hours to meet deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Enviroment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, WC13 November 2013
A typical day at work will be helping customers with they problems/ general situations regarding they beloved animals.
What I've learned is that people are still unsure of how to buy for they animals.
I as manager always tried to keep me staff happy and motivated.
The hardest part of the job is when you hear all the sad stories about unwanted pets.
Most enjoyable part will be all the fun stories customer tells you about what they pets do and also to see your customer's happy face after you given him/her good advice regarding the pet.
Pros
Working with people
Cons
Working on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is an accommodating work place. the manager i work with is fun and understanding, caring and a well mannered
sales assistant (Current Employee) –  hyde park corner johannesburg24 January 2013
i love working in this shop. love my manager, and head office staff. am able to have time with my son, and do my things
Pros
suppliers free-bees
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 14Report