Ackermans Employee Reviews

Found 199 reviews matching the search See all 204 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean environment
cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng20 January 2019
It is fun, colleague respect each other and there is good communication between employees, management is able to resolve issues with customers if assistance is needed.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is the right place to start your professional career as they offer training to develop your self and to know who you are
Dc assistant (Current Employee) –  Kuils River, Western Cape5 December 2018
Ackermans helped me a lot because in their work place they have values , they values different cultures. They offer training like who am I training.They have incentives and bonuses for their employees . They do give money for your kids education every year
Pros
On December they give gifts
Cons
The longest hours I worked is 12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grow quickly
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hermanus, Western Cape28 November 2018
The empower the staff and train the grow with in the company. Support their stores and take care of the people that are working for them... Growth is important to them
Pros
Benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworking
Assistant Sales Consultant/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng5 July 2018
The management gets all the benefits while the general stuff and casuals get peanuts. there is a lot to do with short breaks and barely enough to survive on
Pros
radio
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Exciting but travelling is a challenge
Divisional Human Resources Manager ( for EC (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape3 September 2018
very busy , challenging, encouranges one to always think out of box, I have gained an extensive experience on partnering skills, conflict resolution, operating independently, . Company I work for is big on culture, recognition for hardwork and respect for its employees
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Teller / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal20 February 2018
helping customers. I have lent to work with customers who are so demanding and I had satisfy every time.
Management was so good .Hardest part of this job is that you stand the whole day and there are weekends . It is their culture to mop the store before you knock out , even if it's late.
We used to enjoy when we have reached the target of the day .
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive i learn many things there my knowledge get extended in that company .i joy serving customers i now know how to treat costomers .
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng25 June 2018
i got any experience on how to handle cash and to deal with customers . how to behave as a cashier . i enjoy serving different customers .we were also working under pressure but it was cool
Pros
free lunche
Cons
long hours during holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the culture and the working environment
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape14 August 2018
I love the respect that employees of Ackermans have for their receptionists and fellow colleagues.

I also love the the culture of the company, it is very welcoming and diverse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ackermans is a good place to work at, it's so diverse, and my colleagues became family
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng13 September 2018
What I learned through my days at Ackermans is that you have to commit yourself to it, because you spend more days on it that anywhere. And it need people who are work orientated and able to work under harsh conditions.
Especially December the work load increases excessively. But as its a diverse place, you get to meet and interact with different people everyday.
Pros
Welcoming stuff
Cons
Growth within the company is limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open and honest
till operator (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng20 January 2019
Employees were open and always up for helping out customers, handled the work professionally and efficiently.

Working with customers brought out a good personality in me and gave me the opportunity to know how to work with people effectiveness.
Pros
Tips from customer
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat challenging but fun as well.
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg5 October 2018
At the store,I worked at the manager was rude and full of herself.She made life for the customers and the staff very difficult in all ways possible.She wasn't much of a leader but rather a bully.Even though I learnt a few things,my time there could have been much better spent.
Pros
Goody packs on targets reached
Cons
Long unpaid hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achive set revenue and set gaols for the day.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 November 2018
About robbery and we had to stay calm, we had to cooperate to ensure everyone safety. we had to continue to work after that incident. we could not focus on customers everyone that comes into that store. being in control and win the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional development
cashier (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal9 January 2019
Being a cashier at Ackermans provided to my professional development because there i interacted with a lot of customers from various backgrounds and also assisted me in problem solving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Educating Fun work place
cashier (Former Employee) –  Gauteng10 October 2018
Cashier

Ackermans Rayton

26 April 2018-August 14 2018

learned to communicate with people and how to deal with different attitudes from different people. cleanliness was always the priority at he store learnt alot about self descipline
Pros
Visit Rewards
Cons
No overtime was paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production, formal and professional
Stock taker (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng13 February 2018
The company offers opportunities for advancement to employees, has very good organisational structure and the working environments are conducive, its not so bad to work in.
Pros
Not so bad salary and monthly bonuses
Cons
Long working hours, working on Sundays and public holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gauteng11 February 2018
It was not a permanent job I worked there for 2 months.But I had the best time.it Was my first job.but it felt like home cause the management and stuff were very helpful and accommodative. I worked morning shifts and Night shifts. I learned a lot about retail there and stock including merchandising.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant/3IC (Former Employee) –  Durban North, KwaZulu-Natal15 April 2017
A high pressure environment consistently flocking with customers, stock and job improvements. Learned how to remain relevant,competitive and competent. A perfect environment for overall growth (personal and business). A conducive place towards career advancement. A great place for hard-workers and goal driven personnel. I learned how to effectively multi-task and delegate. Learned how to prioritize on good work ethics and development than financial gains in a work environment. An exciting culture of team work. Great business structure - excellent breed of superiors and staff!
Pros
Performance incentives, annual salary increases and great bonuses
Cons
Long rewarding hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Culture orientated
Buyers Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kuils River, Western Cape10 April 2018
Ackermans has a great culture and the people truly make all the difference in the working environment. Systems are abit slow but overall the company is a good place to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to learn a lot about sales.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape3 April 2018
A typical day at work would be signing in at 8 am. Then checking which department I was in for the day. Once I've checked which department I was in for the day I had to count my float and get ready for the store to open. I would have my lunch during the day and by 6 my float would be taken in and I would go home.
Pros
1 hour lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
Shop Assistant & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gauteng11 May 2018
it wasnt a place to work not even funny the people and management was so boring that even if they wanted people i wouldnt recommend them to go to apply
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ackermans. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 204 reviews
558
448
362
224
112

Ratings by category

3,2Work/Life Balance
2,7Salary/Benefits
3,2Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,5Culture