AECI Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to commence career
APPRENTICESHIP FITTER MACHINIST (Former Employee) –  Modderfontein, Gauteng17 January 2019
Worked for a period of 6 months per section while training as a fitter.
Learned a lot about different types of fasteners and application.
Together with assigned senior artisan learned and fixed a lot of different press machines. Very nice working environment and people in general.
Learned and fixed Conveyors, air conditions, hydraulic systems. pipe lines including water to steam pipes. fixed leaks, replaced worn pipes and flanges and any other component to be replaced in that pipe line.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
worked long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Accounts Clerk (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng4 October 2017
Here I learnt under pressure but my superiors never made me feel like i am inaqudate. We had alot of team building and their benefits are impeccable, fabulous place to work for.
Pros
lots of team buliding
Cons
can be pressurised
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Apprentice Fitter (Former Employee) –  Modderfontein, Gauteng8 August 2017
Preparing workshop for breakowns in Plant. Working with acids and chemicals. Good management and planning practice. Hard work but still have time to have laugh.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and learning friendly environment
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal28 July 2016
work starts from 8 till 4 in the afternoon . i learnt how the human resources department works and lot of experience in communication skills .the management was professional and good leaders and corperative .
Pros
experience
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy hard working with less supervision
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 April 2016
I like the day we solved the customer problem. I learned to work independently. The management is free and fair and easy to communicate with.
Pros
compliment
Cons
long hours work sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning environment
Fitter Machinist (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng3 April 2016
A good institution to train and also create a good working and learning culture. High professional team of experts passionate about what they do.
Pros
Working culture and ethics
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and workeable environment
BURSARY ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  Woodmead, Gauteng3 December 2015
Although the disability transformation is still way behind, the company can be very productive if they improve, amongst other things, their transformation wing.
Pros
Friendly stuff and culture
Cons
Not that I can think off
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging
Machine (Carrick) Operator (Former Employee) –  Modderfontein, GP27 November 2015
though i spent short period with the company but i rate it highly in terms of working system they put in place for their employees. it really need one to survive in the company as its work it is very challenging and dangerous. safety it is priority if you want to make it.
Pros
break
Cons
shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hennenman, FS3 November 2015
I enjoyed working at this company with my heart...i as unfortunately retrenched.I had lots of benefits as this was an overseas company and indeed they paid me a lot
Pros
Medical aid, lots of benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people to work with.
Accounts payable Creditors, Debtors (Former Employee) –  Chloorkop, GP26 May 2015
Excellent group to work for. I started by 6.30 am in the morning due to the traffic and left at 15.30. Co- workers at Chemfit are awesome to work with and go out of their way to assist when asked.I learnt Q Doc's at Chemfit which I had not known before.
A lot of paperwork and that was also another reason why I started earlier so that I could get through it all. I think the most difficult part was when they wanted another new account opened and expected it to be paid immediately which unfortunately as it is corporate it first has to be approved by management.
Lots of laughter during the day.
Pros
lunch on a Friday
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure workplace with lots of free time off
Production manager (Former Employee) –  South Africa12 May 2014
A production facility which allowed me to develop my managerial skills. Worked shifts in the early start of my career which was ideal and given me lots of time off.
Pros
Time off
Cons
Night shift working
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment
HR Information & Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Modderfontein, GP9 May 2014
The senior management team is very demanding, yet supportive.
Pros
Work independently
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Instrument mechanism (Former Employee) –  Modderfontein, GP24 February 2014
training given as an apprentice excellent and job security great
Pros
Job security and training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Creditors Clerk/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC10 February 2014
Full busy day at work.
Learned to work with different cultures.
Hardest part of job deadlines but kept me on my toes.
Pros
Benefits Medical and Pension
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panel Beater,spray painter.
Fitter, Panel Beater Transport Department (Former Employee) –  South Africa.Umbongintwini.KZN.6 February 2014
Worked on all vehicle fleet.

Repairs to bodywork on Mechanical horses,road tankers.
All company management vehicles and light delivery vehicles.
Pros
Very Responsible job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very varied work day, never the same day twice
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kempton Park, GP24 October 2013
AECI is a good company to work for due to the very diverse nature of its business activities, they have wholeheartedly supported my studies and have been nothing but good to me.
Typical work day can vary from quiet to insane depending on what is required and a culture of safety and teamwork is encouraged while individual achievement is also encouraged
Pros
Good medical aid and provident funds, focus on emplyee safety
Cons
Top management doesnt always drive change
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
accountant (Former Employee) –  sandton9 January 2013
interesting, it was motivating i learned alot daily activites were amazing
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Modderfontein, Gauteng12 December 2012
General secretarial duties; Filing; Dictaphone typing; Typing of Purchase Orders, Answering of Disa Telephone – 2 lines – 6 extensions; Typing of general correspondence; Typing of minutes of meetings; Typing of reports on inspections; Keeping of diary
Pros
corporate
Cons
chemical effects
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good team work
Scientific Technologist (Current Employee) –  chloorkop6 November 2012
I ALMOST SPEND TIME WORKING ALONE IN THE LABORATORY, DO TECHNICAL WORK AND QC ANALYSIS. there's a litle to learn because most of the time i'm doing routine work. Our management is very supportive and i have good relationship. the only thing which makes me unhappy i want to growth and develop my career path to more challenging roles. the enjoyable part is when given the task that need logical thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Administration (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg10 July 2012
Get to work at 8o'clock, check e-mails, answer phone calls and sort out files. What I have learnt from AECI is how to communicate with staff and customer on professional level. I worked well with management and my co-workers, they comneded me on my work effeciency and puntcuality. The hardest part of the job was working underpressure when multiple clients would come in without appointment but I dealt with it very well. The most enjoyable part of the job was being complimented by management.
Pros
free lunchies
Cons
clients arriving without appointment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report

See more AECI reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AECI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,9
Based on 27 reviews
511
47
36
21
12

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,3Management
3,5Culture