African Bank Employee Reviews

Found 386 reviews matching the search See all 393 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Grabouw, Western Cape5 September 2019
Employed for 12 years and enjoyed many successes. I would recommend this employer to anyone seeking a career in the banking industry. They have a great support structure and rewards hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape2 September 2019
Building families dreams
Cultures and respect
Waiting on forensics to get back when customer signed approved documents and gave them hope and then just decline to application without proper feedback
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive working place
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng23 August 2019
It's a very productive working environment, it's enjoyable, fun and the management is very professional, they're activities that always take place in Wednesdays
Pros
No
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Idutywa, Eastern Cape31 July 2019
Great company, good training and development programs, good staff. variety of products, solid support systems in place. good ethics and service plans. great future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Internal Auditor (Former Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng20 July 2019
Best company to work at. Great employee benefit, promotion for performers. Great management system, excellent support. Salary below market related. Company culture excellent.
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
Salary below market related
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and fast learning
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Woodmead, Gauteng18 July 2019
I got a different challenging experience.
I had to get my analytical skills working due to high volume of fraudulent activities. This place pushed me to be attentive to details because if i miss anything on the documents, then that will cost the company and customer a whole lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo13 July 2019
I enjoyed working there and then we where forced to go because of retrenchment.a place that taught me a lot.it just that it took a while for growth I was also trainee manager and then moved back to consultant I did not have room to grow because I was moved from branch to branch no client Base
Pros
Permanent
Cons
Hours were fine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Debt Collector (Former Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng9 July 2019
The company will teach you how to conduct your self when dealing with clients directly or indirectly. i have learned to put customer first and to always respect them
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
sales consultant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng5 July 2019
African bank is one company that will take you from nowhere and put you somewhere. A company that rewards hard work. Its fun working for african bank
Cons
Work saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Archiving targets
Sales consultant (Former Employee) –  Mandeni, KwaZulu-Natal18 June 2019
Archieving sales targets in all metrics in each and every month and complying with all the set rules and procedures on how to sell a product and teaching the client.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Senior Business Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng13 June 2019
Learned a lot about extracting data from columns containing XML and JSON strings. Was exciting to be part of developing ETL processes for the new Banking platform and devoping Power BI reports to monitor progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Sales Unit Manger (Former Employee) –  Mafikeng, North West27 May 2019
Interact with lots of different people! Learn a lot about the banking industry and the market! Learn to approach and network with people. Target and budget.
Pros
Nothing free
Cons
Going extra miles to make producto
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales consultant (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape29 April 2019
selling products, meetings, batching

learned to work with clients

not being able to obtain enough walk ins

productive and busy days were fun

the workplace culture was interesting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My day to day focus is to render an exceptional customet service I learned to work and deal with people of different cultures. Time management is very
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng23 April 2019
My day to day focus is to render an exceptional customet service
I learned to work and deal with people of different cultures.
Time management is very important to respect .
My workplace culture is very enjoyable.
The hardest part is when you tried to work very hard to reach your target, but still find your self with a shortfall.
The most enoyable part of the job is to get recognition for doing the good job
Pros
incetives
Cons
not getting paid for overtime worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity was good in away that we reach target and take us out for lunch
debt collector (Former Employee) –  Midrand17 April 2019
Is when you try to push your work and knockoff late, because most clients are not allowed to take calls at work then you wait untill they knockoff, so that you can be able to reach the on their cell phones.

It was no easy it first to deal with difficult clients but that was the most part i have learned.

I have worked with good managers handling their duties very well, be able to resolve the queries quickly.

very good place,canteen areas are there and also refreshment areas.

Is was when u suppose to do marking by selling the product they have.

Is when they organise functions for employees to go for team buidings
Pros
Lunches were provided based on the work done by agents once a month
Cons
Long hours not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pruductive
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Daveyton, Gauteng16 April 2019
Good working relationship with my colleagues and I learned new things from my team, gained more experience in finance and customer care, hard times was when there was no business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction and new challenges
OCCM at Ellerines, AfricanBank (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo19 March 2019
Work through Ellerines with African Bank hand on hand
Job satisfaction collections
Monthly challenges with incentives
On Job Training done and train staff
Pros
3 monthly incentives for target achieving
Cons
Ellerines close down
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
FACILITATOR (Former Employee) –  Lejweleputswa, Free State12 March 2019
company culture its works hand in hand with the community and it cares its community.the business is growing fast and it cares about its customers daily needs.
Pros
presents
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape11 March 2019
African Bank is a fun workplace with a high production demand. You will find that in this environment you will become more as family then colleagues. You can find growth in African Bank
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay environment
Specialist consultant (Current Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng28 February 2019
It is an okay place to work if you still new in the working environment not for an experienced employee from another company. They have their own unique jargon and the top management always ensures to include all employees with changes coming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at African Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 393 reviews
5113
4125
3114
225
116

Ratings by category

3,6Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,6Culture