ALSTOM Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search See all 2 609 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturer of motors
Electrical Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Benoni, Gauteng10 January 2019
Focus on insulation materials used in production of motors.

Static and dynamic testing procedures

Failure analysis reports.

Use of engineering design software and calculation methods.

Repetitive in many ways however attention to detail is often required.
Pros
Understanding of motors
Cons
Repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Cooperative
Welder apprentice (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga14 September 2018
It must continue doing a good job to its employee. And it should train other students from the TVET Colleges, provide them with Learnerships,Apprenticeships, Internships and In-Service Trainings.
Pros
Good Salary
Cons
No free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and enjoyable
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Witfield, Gauteng22 February 2018
The typical work day started at 07:00 and ended at 16:30. These working hours were from Monday to Thursday. On a Friday we started to work at 07:00 and finished the day at 13:00.
The day would start off with the actual planning and make sure that the most urgent work gets done first.
I learned that team work reaped great rewards and that in a multi-cultural environment people can work together if they put their minds to it.
The hardest part of the job was working with fellow associates from different departments that did not worked towards the company's main objectives and goals.
The most enjoyable part of the job was, when there were unforeseen issues that had to get resolved and if additional work were received and plans had to be made to get materials in, in order to supply clients there products JIT.
The social engagement after hours, were we would go and play action cricket and go-carting was also one of the things that helped us to build a bigger and better team.
Pros
Medical aid, pension, 13th cheque
Cons
Monthly stock takes over weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environment
Financial Accountant (Former Employee) –  Benoni, Gauteng13 September 2017
I mainly had on the job training and therefore any knowledge and experience I have built up from self development. The enjoyable part for me was putting systems in place.
Pros
13th and 14th Cheques
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Company
Manufacturing / Methods Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng7 June 2017
Good company, new, Government initiative. Plant is built on the East Rand. Take about 2 years to be fully operational. Lots of administration work being completed. Lots of expats from France and Brazil.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work and Easy to adapt to the environment
Site administrator (Former Employee) –  Lephalale, Limpopo2 June 2017
Alstom is a great company. it is job friendly and the people are amazing. easy to work with. the job culture Is also good. most enjoyable part is working as a team
Pros
The people i work with are amazing. i believe in team work
Cons
Getting delays when the job is supposed to be finished
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Senior Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Limpopo31 May 2017
No real chance for personal development as risk is quite high and number of contractor employees very high. Thus, full time supervision on site is required.
Room for compulsory training was made (first aid, basic fire fighting and legal liability)
Management was good. during my stay site managers was swopped 3 times and each had different work ways but, in the end worked out good
Pros
Housing and transport free
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Power Distribution
Site Assistant Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Limpopo17 May 2017
It non-Local company , that bring service in our south Africa economy /infrastructure . It is a supporting company that grow south African with more skilled in the field.

Alstom Power distribution base on thermal and control and instrumentation in Power Stations
Pros
Yes
Cons
8 Normal Hours, Overtime after 8 hours per day
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe working conditions
QC Inspector (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga22 March 2017
Uploading and reviewing of the latest drawings in the system.making sure that all the Quality documents eg;QCp,Drawings, Quality manual prociduresprocidure are up to date in terms of reviewing and approving.
Pros
Free educational trainings
Cons
No overtimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
PIPE FITTER (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal22 January 2017
The work was fine and I enjoyed working in Durban the rate was much good because we earn R55 per hour even the over times I was doing pipe fitting in the project that was at sappi saico in mkhomazi
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
11hours and overtimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Turbine Technician (Current Employee) –  Lephalale, Limpopo3 December 2016
Productive and friendly environment. Good exposure to some deep engineering technics.
A challenging position that demands precision and accuracy
Pros
plenty of overtime
Cons
far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a nice place and working environment ive gained alot of experience
Apprentices ship (welder) (Current Employee) –  Bellville, Western Cape13 November 2016
Make the best of your opportunity wherever you work and show everybody what you capable of doing. I gained valuable experience.
Pros
nice
Cons
nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pre Planning of the futher can be an advantage
Lead Project Planning Specialist (Former Employee) –  Woodmead, Santon8 November 2016
A typical Day at work
- Normally come in early so that I can get all my work done. Scheduling of projects
- What you learn, Learn all the time different things
- Management, Need to be open and honest.
- Co-Workers, good relationship.
- The hard part of the Job, To battle with resources to get the work done.
- The most enjoyable part of the job, When we can laugh together after a stupid mistake.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Unexpected overtime working which was poor planning
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Fitter & Turner (Former Employee) –  Komati, Mpumalanga13 October 2016
A lot of experience I gained from komati power station maintenance was done very effectively hours were long but it was worth the reward, I'd recommend Alstom as a great company for anyone to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne entreprise
responsable mise en service électrique (Former Employee) –  afrique du sud21 August 2016
très grosse entreprise rachetée par GE. chef d'équipe de la mise en service en étroite collaboration avec le responsable du montage. très bonne entreprise. très bon esprit d'équipe. déficite de l'entreprise donc peu de chance d'évolution au sein du groupe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Financial Accountant (Former Employee) –  Benoni, Gauteng8 August 2016
Busy environment
Learned how to do Management Accounts, forecast Budgets
Management was tight. I worked with a strict boss, but loved it.
Co workers were a nice crowd.
Hardest part of the job was training myself in most aspects.
The enjoyable part is the job satisfaction I got out of the job.
Pros
Leaving early on Fridays
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but challenging
Senior H&S Advisor (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga14 June 2016
Alstom was a product but challenging work environment.
This is excellent for personal growth.
The challenge was to build a power station that is already delayed due to unforeseen constraints with zero incidents within an allotted diminished time frame.
Pros
diverse international work force
Cons
time contraints due to unforseen delays
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nv'lne'vqejvpoqekpoqkqf[fkeokf
E&I/C SUPERINTEDENT (Former Employee) –  SOUTH AFRICA30 May 2016
qclnqejfejfpoeqfpok1ofkpofkpe2jf2ejvkmwvkewme
kf
pjfiojfpqf
nójfoke
knvekrkg[
pp[e
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Achiever and results driven and being productive every day
Marketing Director (Former Employee) –  Woomead28 January 2016
People Management
Time Management
Reporting
Presentation
Meetings
I have learn from my colleagues and subordinate is the cultural diversity and vs
The most enjoyable time at work is when my clients are happy and my bosses are happy because myself and my team understand the goals and objectives set by the company and we delivering and achieving set goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging repeatative
graduate trainee (Current Employee) –  medupi25 January 2016
walk down of plant checking on construction progress
planning of new construction task in line with availability of access and milestone report
managing and supervising subcontractor
hardest part of the job is ensuring cohesion of communication between client and subcontrator
time management
Pros
working with diverse people of different cultures and skills
Cons
lack of technical growth relevant to a graduate electrical engineer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALSTOM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 2 609 reviews
5932
41 K
3477
294
170

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,9Salary/Benefits
3,5Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture