Anglo American Employee Reviews for Electrician

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 1 030 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety
electrician (Current Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West20 May 2018
very safe environment to work in
productive team members
supportive management team
fair training and development opportunities
living righteous values
Pros
raining and devopment
Cons
sometimes slow progress..too much adminisrative work
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Electrician Artisan (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga9 May 2018
Anglo American is a fun working place, enjoyed working there since 2005-2007 as an apprentice got qualified as an Electrician in 2007 until 2017, and never experienced any challenges.
Pros
long service and safety packages
Cons
normal working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Underground Electrician (Former Employee) –  Limpopo25 April 2018
Is a good company but dont care about the employees,
It's only check for production,they talk safety but they don't practice it at workplaces and put pressure on employees
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Welkom, Free State25 March 2018
As I was in charge of the generator room at the Uranium Plant, and therefore never went underground in the mine, I enjoyed my job at President Brand mine.
Pros
Housing
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,production is very high
Acting electrician (Current Employee) –  Limpopo thabazimbi21 March 2018
It's good to be part of Anglo American platinum because there are many benefits for our children, bursaries transport to school etc. I love safety there but I dislike travelling long hours to work
Pros
Free transport
Cons
Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workpalce
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng11 January 2018
Am a hard worker i can even work at any conditions and take over time jobs am health. Am a fun person who like to make joks and i love playing soccer that keeps me fet
Pros
my lunch box
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintenance
PLANT ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga24 May 2017
maintenance, repair ,service and make the availability of machinery is good.job and good housekeeping.All audit requirements were meet
maintenance schedules .
Pros
fun
Cons
standby long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very chalanging workplace
Electrician Artisan (Former Employee) –  Limpopo12 March 2017
I enjoyed myself very much at Anglo American and I'm an electrician that I am today because of them. I learned a lot whilst at Anglo and gained alot of experience in the mining and smelting division.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
semi electrician (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga26 November 2016
I ve leant to work as team and i was self motiveted.i ve gained positive confident as i work with different people.i gained and improved my communication skills.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vast learning experience
Mining Electrician (Current Employee) –  Limpopo, Mokopane24 October 2016
Has new challenges
Give out safe production
Integrity
Team-players
I want everything to be perfect
Influencing co-workers positively
Pros
Development
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great to work for Anglo.
Section Electrician (Former Employee) –  Free State14 October 2016
Unfortunately i worked for Anglo American during the difficult times of colour discrimination, though i enjoyed excellent treatment by my supervisor, i would have loved to have had more chances working myself up the ladder in the work place, but such opportunites always fell short of me, there were always industrial upheavals with the Unions and many strikes and many political issues which together with poor world markets eventually ran the company down. But i really had few opportunities to develop there.
Pros
i liked braai safety meetings management gave away.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underground nd maintaince
AUTO-ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Limpopo12 March 2016
first thing in da morning everybody get her job nd check breakdowns ..learn alot on drill rigs nd Lhd's.our manadement was free to every one on company nd we heard team work by our workshop.The hardest part is wen the machine hav serious breakdown during da end of da shift and enjoyable part wen we do maintaince on machine
Pros
30min lunch
Cons
normal eight hours or overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have a soccer team and we play against other departments eg Engineering vs HR department its fun for any person of any age group
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga22 February 2016
this company is a wonderful and enjoyable place to be,it is any man's dream.Im working 3 shift rotation maintaining mining machinery.we have maintenance schedules that help us to maintain a different machine every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive working environment
ELECTRICIAN (Current Employee) –  Kathu, Northern Cape2 February 2016
Safe working environment
Care grately for employees
Excellent fellow employees
Good working conditions
Strict obedience to the law requirements
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am learning new technology
Electrician (Current Employee) –  RUSTENBURG23 October 2015
I am gaining a lot of experience, maintaining safety, hygiene and housekeeping. maintain and repair electrical systems on production equipment. monitor machine operation and ensure that the machine history cards are updated
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Northam, LP20 March 2015
every morning we had a workshop safety meeting and on Wednesday we have section safety meeting with safety officer . I learned that anglo American do care about its employees when it comes to safety, every Tuesday of the week the mine manager holds meeting with the supervisors to discuss safety way of working and they are required to present register for workshop and section safety meeting. in my workshop we where like a family, each person had a buddy who can confined in him or her about family problems, health wise.

in the workshop we had three electricians and eight assistant, the hardest part can come in the form critical breakdowns that requires that two artisan must be always present at the site ,the will be one electrician working on three section alone with two assistant , but when everything is done safely we all celebrate that we made it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and enjoyable to work
Acting Electrician (Former Employee) –  Amandelbult, LP17 November 2014
being able to learn to cope working long hours with difficult schedule,coorpotating with my team and superviser and working standbyes
Pros
bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 31NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a company lead by Love
Acting Electrician (Current Employee) –  Swartklip, LP18 September 2014
It is accompany that is more adventures, where one can learn a lot, from the inner being to the skills and education. it feels like one is home, learning everything that's is required in life.
Pros
free education
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading in Mining
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Welkom, FS2 December 2013
I grew up in my trade, with the help of my supervisors and management.
Pros
Management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 5Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
underground electrician (Current Employee) –  amandelbult19 May 2013
work normal hour some times overtimes and standbys

Work Underground Electrician working on new and old Medium Voltage electrical Installations, Maintanence and Switching.Maintanence and faultfinding on underground equipments such as Locos, Lights and Pump stations
Pros
none
Cons
normal
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Anglo American. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,2
Based on 1 030 reviews
5512
4311
3157
229
121

Ratings by category

4,0Work/Life Balance
4,0Salary/Benefits
3,8Job Security/Advancement
3,8Management
4,0Culture