Anglo American Employee Reviews for Safety Officer

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 1 030 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but exciting with safety achievements recognised and celebrated
Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  eMalahleni South Africa14 February 2018
The coal mines were bulk producing mines for export and power station smalls.

The management teams I worked for fully supported Anglo's need for a safe working mine. The middle management and workers did not trust the system and were difficult to sway from their old mining methodology.

I was expected to implement Anglo Health, Safety and Environmental systems to the workers and ensure compliance to that end. A typical day would require that I comply to the duties of the health and safety officer.
Pros
Employees/contractor owning the safety systems in place and going home each day unhurt
Cons
Being the middle manager closing the mistrust between management and employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anglo American is very diversified workplace.
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West14 December 2016
This is a one big family with a culture than can only be matched by a few. Care and respect are our core values. We have learned that as a team we depend on each other to achieve our objective - mining platinum safely and going back to our loved ones in one piece. Our management have an open door policy and we don't see them as managers but team leaders who we can interact with at any given time. Visible felt leadership is what brings them closer to their subrdinates. The co-workers are fantastic. We always make time to celebrate whatever achievement together. In terms of the hardest part of the job, seeing someone getting hurt and having to inform his/her loved ones is a nightmare. One the flip side, having a nice braai with the team after any safety achievement is the most enjoyable part of my job.
Pros
R150 christmans voucher
Cons
We are highly paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and determined
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Mpumalanga30 July 2015
I love what i do, i love to do different tasks for me not to get bored. I'm a team player but i also work well i'm i'm alone. I get along well with my co-workers. I have learnt that people are different and therefor my approach to each indivivual must be different as well.Hardest job i've ever done was to do a behavior based coaching on a group of people that did not understand isizulu and english, but understood Sepedi. The most enjoyable part of my job is that i deal with different people and i make a positive change in their lives with regards to safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for with poor management at time.
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Rustenburg, NW13 February 2015
Too much meeting and to lest time in the field to complete the legal work. Good working environment. Too much senior staff that all want to give orders. Good team relationship
Pros
Good medical aid and pension
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very good company
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Kathu, NC9 November 2014
Start to work at 7:00 in the morning and complete the day at 16:00
Learned a lot about the system used by the company and the proper application of MHS Act
The management of the company is very well informed and participate/involved/contribute100% towards safety of the employees
Co-workers were very helpfull moreover towards safety of employees
When the is an incident which needs to be investigated and have a negative stats reporting on the project
Pros
Free lunches when having meeting and functions hosted by HQ
Cons
Long hours work not permitted
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive every day
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Sishen, NC22 July 2014
Every day you lean something new
To be glad every day is a zero harm free day
To transfer knowledge to your co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 8Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high safety standards, and look after thei employees
SAFETY RISK OFFICER/RISK MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg South Africa26 March 2013
Learned a lot about Risk Management, and Safety in the Workplace.
No job security due to current labor situations in South Africa
Management good, but does not fully live up to company policies.
Fun place to work at with good work/life balance.
Most enjoyable part was being able to join Safety in the largest Platinum Producer in the world.
Pros
excellent safety/risk management system, and learned a lot about safety
Cons
poor job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and compliant
SAFETY OFFICER (Current Employee) –  RUSTENBURG, NORTH WEST1 October 2012
I love working with people and helping them to improve in any safety issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport

See more Anglo American reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Anglo American. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,2
Based on 1 030 reviews
5512
4311
3157
229
121

Ratings by category

4,0Work/Life Balance
4,0Salary/Benefits
3,8Job Security/Advancement
3,8Management
4,0Culture