Anglogold Ashanti Employee Reviews

Found 246 reviews matching the search See all 483 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Required advancement in learning,
Fitter (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng15 March 2019
Worked nicely,i stressful but a good company to work.wanted to learn more,do more courses.but no advancement.wrking ug was a good experience, conditions were fair. But the control room was a good experience.
Pros
Nice environment.people friendly
Cons
Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training and experience to gain.
Miner (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng11 March 2019
Good training and emphasis on safety and team work. Excellent managers and willing to mentor young managers coming in.
Very fair with its people and company values mostly at the benefit of its employees.
Pros
Excellent Training
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace is always hazard free, employee safety was their first priority. They always listen and find ways of solving employee quiries
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng18 January 2019
The company cared about its employees and their safety at work. Safety was their first value. They always listened to employees and find a way of resolving employee quiries.
Pros
Employees had leaves when they are due
Cons
Overtime were for everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Operator (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng18 January 2019
I cannot say work was fun at anglo because of the focus and being aware of your own safety and what ive learnt is that safety is very important it comes first
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and Fun at Work
Metallurgical Technical Assistance (Former Employee) –  Klerksdorp, North West4 January 2019
I was involve with the implementation of the Compliance system.Culture was different from Country to country, and hardest part of the job was when I travel and the flight is delayed.The management was vey open and fair . I have learned that you can still learn from the other countries how they do their job
Pros
travelling
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
PROTECTION OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng7 December 2018
Planning
Lot of security related duties
Management is supportive
Coplying with policies and procedures
Risk when doing high value assets escorts
Experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Internship (Former Employee) –  Orkney, North West7 December 2018
It a company with lots of patients and few staff. It has skilled workers who can managed work very well. Patients care is the most important thing that must come first
Pros
Good in handling conflict
Cons
Long hour's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and life expirience
Sampling Assistant3 (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng10 October 2018
Working for Anglogold Ashanti, has a lot of expirience. One has to adjust from working underground. I had to clock at 4am for me to start my daily duties.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
eight hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Training I had
MQA Apprenticeship Electrical (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng8 October 2018
My electrical learnership was the best thing that has ever happened, and was sweetened by the level of knowledge from my training officers which made it easy for me to pass my trade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and rewarding experience
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng25 September 2018
AngloGold Ashanti Pharmacy was professionally run and the benefits associated with the position was very good. The pharmacy manager managed with professionalism and a warm touch.

Due to a long daily commute I relocated to Potchefstroom.
Pros
Working conditions
Cons
Daily commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good policies and procedures
Production Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gauteng14 September 2018
Community minded company with values, people orientated company with safety as first value.
Very good learning culture with a lot of emphasis on details
Pros
good policies and procedures
Cons
job-oportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
System Auditor (Current Employee) –  Orkney, North West29 August 2018
Learning all the time among colleagues
Skills, Communication
Professionalism and good quality leadership
Day to day difficult personnel
Accuracy and development all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very productive
Boilermaker/Welder (Former Employee) –  Gauteng18 July 2018
working with people that still believe that what ever they say must be
done no matter how dangerous what he want you to do.
I have learn to work with different cultures and still achieve our common goals to deliver on achieving safe production.
They did not treat us the same manning people they will get incentive will get not as if we have know input production .There were does who still believe that when you see them you must jump .To work to areas that are very hot and confine space .To finish the job before anybody can think that you are finish.
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fairly productive company with extra mural activities including most sporting activities on a competitive level.
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Vaal Reefs, South Africa17 July 2018
Every day starts with a green area meeting where the day 's activity is outlined. The safety aspect is always stressed since the risk of probable injuries is quite high. What I learned mainly is that each and every task needs assessment irrespective of how insignificant it may seem.
Pros
Vast different sporting codes
Cons
Little room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
ims store assistant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng27 June 2018
It warehouse store I'm working Monday to Friday 7:00-15:30
I learning how to communicate with the team and work together
issuing, receiving material
I'm a smart worker focusing on the job
keeping our environment clean house keeping
respecting the supervisors
enjoying the work that you are paid for
No absent
Pros
buy your lunch
Cons
30 minites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work and grow as a person.
Electrician Artisan (Current Employee) –  Calertonville, Gauteng21 June 2018
Great company with a clear vision and mission,safety awareness is it's priority as it's slogan says " safety is our first value ".
Learned to be proactive in safety related aspects, work has been quite challenging but for the better outcomes though.
Management is at the forfront to achieving the goals, production and reach out for the community at all costs.
Conducive work culture i happened to explore and picked as the workforce is very friendly too.
Enjoyable part of the job was to face a challenge and seing yourself being the winner at the end as the job been done in time as scheduled and accordingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rerspecy and dignity
blasting assistant (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng16 June 2018
Anglo very good company that take care of their workers make share we work in good conditioning place underground and we mine gold that has no blood on it or death
Pros
Work hardar
Cons
9 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety and production
Mining team/rockdrill operator (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng31 May 2018
Working with safety nd production working very hard 2 take our company 2 the next levels we treat each other with dignity and respect we value diversity we value safety we follow the procedure safety is our first value
Pros
Movite
Cons
8hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forced to resign
Shift Boss (Former Employee) –  Carletoville30 May 2018
Mine overseer left loaded gun in office draw and I reported it and I was victimized until I left, given a package. Enjoyed my job except deep level mining and accidents but loved the challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a workplace same as others
CMMIS CLERK (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng15 May 2018
They have values that are of high standard and just need to be implemented as they are. They give back to the community that they operate in. Need to improve communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Anglogold Ashanti. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 483 reviews
5204
4176
379
214
110

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,8Management
4,0Culture