Aurecon Group Employee Reviews

Found 72 reviews matching the search See all 102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and poor benefits
Civil Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng9 June 2019
Aurecon provides a good platform to learn, however, if you are placed on a fixed term contract, don’t expect a market related salary or benefits. Aurecon places new employees on contract so that they can give you the absolute minimum required benefits and justify a mediocre salary. Also, it enables them to get rid of you if it’s no longer financially viable to keep you, therefore job security is not guaranteed. If offered a fixed term contract, rather not take it. They will expect you to work overtime with no pay, all while expecting that you will be satisfied with the poor benefits. The company provides no room for growth and doesn’t incentivize hard work.
Pros
Nice offices
Cons
Long hours, poor salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complicated structure and poor management
Finance support (Former Employee) –  Tshwane, Gauteng14 May 2019
Worked in the finance division. Finance department still very much white afrikaners dominated. The increases and bonuses are very low for support staff. Job safety poor due to retrechments. Finance management difficult to work with due to their poor managemnt skills. There is a culture of fear and no room for mistakes due to management who will shout and talk roughly to you if a mistake is made. If you want career advancement dont work at Aurecon.
Pros
Nice offices
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greating learining place
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng25 April 2019
Its truly a great company to work for.

Great place to learn, very diverse culture.

They put they employees first. it place where you can give your opinion and no one will be offended.
Pros
great working environment
Cons
too much retrenchment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Project Administrator / Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Rosebank, Gauteng23 April 2019
It was really a great experience to work for Aurecon. They had great benefits, management had an open door policy. They had a great sense of staff nedds
Pros
bonusses, leave days
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, Good people, below average salary, minimal room for growth
Candidate Quantity Surveyor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng25 March 2019
Aurecon is a great place to work at, there is a wealth of information and highly talented individuals that you have the opportunity to work with. The variety of work you are involved in is a great benefit.

However a few cons are:
- Slightly lower salary compared to industry
- Room for growth seems limited
- Current concerns over job security due to inflow of work

.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth
Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng6 March 2019
There is no clear trajectory for individual growth. No transformation. Everything seems good when you're outside but an entirely different story once employed. Zero inclusive corporate culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained a lot of experience in the built and environment field
Assistant project coordinator (Former Employee) –  Limpopo27 February 2019
Aurecon is a good Company. They also provide technical training for field workers in building and construction, aurecon carries out different projects in different locations, be it water, sanitation, building etc. Aurecon group company is located in 9 provinces in south Africa, and normally works hand in hand with Cogsta, Cogta, public works, municipalities, and other NGO's in the same field.
Pros
Free launches sometimes when travelling
Cons
Work overload
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, South Africa14 January 2019
The people are amazing at Aurecon. Everyone get's along no matter their background or level. The engineers are so passionate about their work and really wants to deliver great projects for clients.
Pros
Additional training for engineers
Cons
very small increases and no guaranteed bonus, big employee turnover due to small chance of promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Engineer
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lynnwood Manor10 January 2019
Employed in a electrical engineer role with main focus of providing support services to project manager of large scale and small scale projects.

Projects involved were from mining clients and municipal clients.
Pros
Great building and facilities
Cons
Limited room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior Forensic Planner (Current Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng20 October 2018
It helps to be productive and fun workplace
There is a diverse culture
You can advance in your career and develop you skills
Positive leadership approach
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading Engineering Firm
Electrical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape20 August 2018
Rewarding working environment with pleasant and friendly employees. Exposure to large global projects working in an multi-disciplinary environment with potential for personal growth.
Pros
Exposure to global projects
Cons
Long ours required
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a global footprint
System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng15 May 2018
I learned a lot while working at Aurecon. You get an opportunity to grow, however the focus is on engineering.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the opportunity to work with clients across Africa.
Pros
Global footprint
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Assistant draftsman (Former Employee) –  Lynnwood, Gauteng23 April 2018
I learned a lot of at Aurecon through out my work period .
I have grown in my job skills and to work in a team .

Working at Aurecon was fun an love the people that lead in Aurecon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
explicit and insightful
Mrs Chrisna Mostert(Supervisor) (Current Employee) –  Tshwane, Gauteng16 April 2018
Aurecon is by far the best company i have worked for, you learn daily here, and the opportunities to advance are many.The bosses are often patient and supportive to staff.
Pros
Opprtunites
Cons
Tedious at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great engineering job experience opportunity
Engineering Intern (Winter 2012) (Former Employee) –  George, Western Cape, South Africa13 March 2018
I was an intern here during high school as a work experience opportunity. There was no remuneration allowed. I created 2D CAD drawings for concrete storm water drainage structures and did pipe size dimensioning per hydrostatic and other fluid calculations. It was a great experience and I got to see a lot of on sight operations.
Pros
Friendly Environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and innovative
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  gauteng8 March 2018
I really enjoyed working for Aurecon. It is a big international company and it always finds way to more innovative. There is so much job opportunities and growth.
Pros
Relaxed environment
Cons
I was on fixed term contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love doing my work & enjoyed all the time I worked there.
Senior Draughtsman (Former Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State1 March 2018
Productive.
About the engineer field.
No problem
I can easy adapt in any workplace culture.
No hard part of my job.
To learn something new in the drawing field.


I am on pension now, but is still capable to do my work and feel the age for retirement was to young.
Pros
I enjoy every day to do the work I'll have o do!
Cons
I'll never mind to work extra hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work but good pay off
Facilitator (Former Employee) –  George, Western Cape17 January 2018
Great Company though often had long hours. The culture is a bit stodgy but to be expected considering the industry. I would recommend that you start with the end in mind because tere will always be a need for working after hours and they don't pay for after hours.
Pros
End of Month Braais
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Legal Counsel (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng15 January 2018
Good Company to word for. The Working Environment is good and the people are very friendly. Health and Safety is of great importance to management and there is a culture of Safety first.
Pros
Nice working Environment
Cons
Salary not compedative
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Student Technician (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal21 November 2017
the environment is very friendly and work is related to what you have learned in university. people are supportive and very helpful. I really enjoyed working there.
Pros
supportive staff
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aurecon Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 102 reviews
535
440
319
26
12

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,3Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture