AVI Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 41 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning oppertunities
Field Marketer (Former Employee) –  Western Cape31 March 2017
Every day is filled with challenges and i learned to always improvise.
The management is very supportive especially with help needed.
The hardest part of my work is the heavy boxes but i enjoyed it regardless.The best part of my job was that i could use my own initiative and that gives u the skill to always improvise.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Lots of physical labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal9 March 2017
It's fun working here, great co-workers it's quite a crazy work environment. No long hours, alternate weekends and Sundays off. Hourly pay ain't bad compared to other retail stores.
Pros
40% discount
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
field marketer (Former Employee) –  Mthatha, Eastern Cape24 January 2017
It was good to work there , I have enjoy from that company bt every company have its ups and downs. That company stick to the company rules like other company .
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
no long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work and productive
sales rep (Current Employee) –  johnessburg20 October 2016
I would be dedicated to my job and love what id be doing .work as a team to build character and for the benefit of the company Time puntucuality and neatness for representation of the company.most to maintain good relationship with fellow workers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about retail at this company
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Johnnesburg18 July 2016
Busy, learning experiences often, fun co workers, disciplinary procedures difficult, having an understanding and almost family like connection with colleagues
Pros
In House Training Programmes very thorough
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nt a productive working place & not fun
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Gauteng16 July 2016
It was a fun working place until they change management then it became the worst place u can work on the manager had a bad attitude & if u complained u were gn stay in her bad books forever; in her circle meetings sometimes we would stay their without been given anything 2 eat the whole day & she would tell us we nt there 2 eat the meeting start @ 9 until 4.
Pros
nt working on holidays & Sundays
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
picker and packer (Former Employee) –  Isando, Gauteng7 April 2016
fun workplace, the hardest was picking 120 cases per hour in a very large warehouse, management taking decisions that involve workers without consulting them, working hard and getting incentives for that, I have learned to be patient and to take pride in my work.
Pros
getting hampers every month
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive results driven workplace
Brand and Communication Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP2 November 2015
A workplace highly dependent on results. Fast paced environment and great levels of exposure to senior level management and strategic thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Accounts Payables Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, WC10 February 2015
A typical day would start with preparing payments for the day ( COD and 7 day vendors)
AVI Management has an open door policy and should you have difficulty with some issue, go discuss with your manager before you really get into your day. The office environment is pleasant and feels like a family. The hardest part of the job is having to wait on other parties to complete their steps before you can perform your duties. The most rewarding part of the job is when suppliers are paid and happy and communicate this to you. You also build up pleasant business relationships with the supplier contacts you are dealing with
Pros
Working independently but as a team
Cons
No real cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 11Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking the human touch.
Commercial Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP3 October 2013
Work was quite varied and involved a lot of interaction with all segments of the business. I learned quite a lot about dealing with different personalities. Management were a bit distant and communication wasn't always clear. There are a lot of good people working there but not a lot of fun was had. The hardest part of the job was communicating with the various stakeholders, while the best part was dealing with some very good people.
Pros
Performance bonus
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 21Report

Want to know more about AVI?

Ask a question
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruitment Manager
Recruitment Manager (Current Employee) –  Bryanston, GP13 July 2013
I have been responsible for the development and implementation of a recruitment strategy at the organisation where I currently work.

This process is all but complete and I am now looking for a new challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 16Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
REPACK BAY (Former Employee) –  DURBAN, KWAZULU NATAL10 December 2012
Stock management and lot of paper work regarding profit and lost statement in conclusion I WOULD LIKE TO CONTINUE WITH PAPER WORK I ENJOY IT and cashflow projection is what matters in the business to manage the deadlines and avoid them by the WAY I am more experienced in paperwork you give me the rules I will do the rest
Pros
regular time
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 12Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing company with continuous improvement
SAP System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bryanston, Sandton25 October 2012
Daily analysing of leave logs to ensure accurate leave accruals for all staff. Continuous growth of Human Resources staff and empowering HRSS to identify problem areas and apply solutions. Training and knowlegde sharing on an ongoing basis. Testing of new functionalities on SAP on QA as well as legislative changes and break fixes. Hardest part was to persist if test results turned out negative. The most enjoyable part of my job was the satisfaction gained from training employees and seeing how they apply that knowledge on a daily basis
Pros
staff discounts on certain products
Cons
family / work balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 6Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment (co-workers)
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Cape Town2 August 2012
The working environment has become more stringent as the policies and procedures have changed which at the moment makes it unpleasant to work there. The people I get to meet at work are great, and my co-workers are truely, people I would work with any day. Management is in my opinion not up to standard with regards to basiclly every aspect of the job be it paperwork, customer service, helping of co-workers, being the drivnig force behind wanting us to work to the best of our ability.
Pros
working with the people i do.
Cons
low pay for the amount of effort.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 10Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for!
SAP Program Director (Current Employee) –  Bryanston4 July 2012
I worked with an amazing team at AVI. It really has been a great company to work for and I have loved most of my time working here,
Pros
subsidised products and my best has been my spitz company card!
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 8Report

See more AVI reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AVI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 41 reviews
512
412
38
28
11

Ratings by category

3,2Work/Life Balance
3,1Salary/Benefits
2,9Job Security/Advancement
3,2Management
3,2Culture