BP Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 2 941 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Pump Attendant (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal21 December 2018
working with customers,refueling cars,tyre pressure,oil and water,i learnt to work under pressure,management was excellent,to be calm with arrogant customers,receiving tips
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Louis Trichardt, Limpopo (Former Employee) –  Elim, Western Cape22 November 2018
Enjoyed working at the petrol filling station because I was getting tips on a daily basis except when I'm not working or when I'm off. The overtime payment was excellent
Pros
Bring your own food
Cons
Sometimes overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Delmas, Mpumalanga25 January 2018
very nice place to work.it had its pros and cons as well.the thing i disliked was that i was stable or stuck with no opportunity to move forward and there was no growth or opportunity to study
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun wre value diversity
Acting logistic engineer (Current Employee) –  Waltloo, Gauteng19 September 2017
1,Since divorce travelling cost more and I have less time with my child, cant relocate it will affect kids education

2 It promote growth
3.It support studying
4 I provides mentorship
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng15 July 2017
Bp filling station its not a gud place to work for u work der more hours n dey pay u less money even if u have over times u not getting that money or it might short
Pros
Shortfalls
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High work ethic, good values
Strategy Manager - Supply (BP) (Current Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng19 June 2017
Highly satisfying company to work for. Great professionalism and good systems in place.

However, some not so stellar individuals in management spoil the otherwise great image.
Pros
Very flat reporting structure in practise - senior executives sit side by side with junior staff.
Cons
Focus on bottom line means competition is high, giving rise to some nasty behaviour
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service station
petrol attendent (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal16 May 2017
is the place that anyone can survive in the proccess of building futere. working hours are very cool in such a way that the one can have time to do things for there selfs
Pros
none
Cons
8hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well organised, there's a order, hard working, services is good and perfect
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng31 January 2017
Is good to work at bp cause I love to work with people ,giving them the full service that they need , tell them about the promotion ,one you want up in your mind wena you going to work you must know that I am going to work , cause many people they don't take any job description serious, first of all you must focus on your job
Pros
specials
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is productive and fun working
attendant (Former Employee) –  gauteng31 January 2017
the was a fine management, it was a clean work place. we had one hour lunchtime everything was just fine untill the last day where I failed a misty motorist and that was it for me, thats how serious the management was regarding work.
Pros
one hour lunchtime
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fine place to work but opportunities for upward mobility are limited
Pricing Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg25 January 2017
It's a flat organisation and opportunities for upward growth are limited as the organisation does not have promotion policy. You have to wait for a vacant position.

I think it has a great graduation programme.
Pros
Diverse organisation
Cons
Opportunities for job advancement are limited as it's quite a flat organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Pump attendant (Current Employee) –  Gordon’s Bay, Western Cape4 November 2016
Working at BP's fun and challenging sometimes because i got to meet different kind of customers but i was taught well on how to face those challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviroment
petrol attendent (Former Employee) –  KwaZulu-Natal3 October 2016
People are friendly. And the maneger.we where all treated equally .we all do something's no one was above other one.The environment was clean and safe for us
Pros
no free lunch
Cons
13 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventurous and eye opening
Display Merchandise Auditor (Former Employee) –  Western Cape, Gauteng and Kwa-Zulu Natal29 July 2016
The day would begin with planning the travel to various BP petrol stations. The plan was to cover a minimum of 10 outlets per day and thus I had to maximise on travel time due to distances between these outlets. Once I have reached the outlet I would then undertake the audit by physical observation or inspection of the material and signage on the site against the set standards. I would then engage the management of the outlet on my findings and pose any other questions I may have that would be of assistance to my investigation.
At the end of the day, I would spend evenings drafting a report on the findings on the audit done on each of the outlets I would have visited on the day and forward through the report and recommendations to address gaps to the head office and the management team at the specific outlets.
Pros
Travelling the landscapes of South Africa, trekking across cities and rural areas.
Cons
Looking for accomodation (mainly B&Bs) every day, as sometimes you would cover a stretch of 800kms in a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, relaxed environment
Intern Business Process Modeler (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape23 July 2016
Working as an intern in this company was great, the people were very accommodating and helpful. I also loved the culture.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build good knowledge
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Klerksdorp, North West10 July 2016
Its a good company to work at for building knowledge about fuel and lube industry.
Bp has a lot to offer
Pros
Company car / petrol / cell phone
Cons
Incentives / bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
petrol attendant (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, GP18 November 2015
What I have learned is hw to treat a customer.The importants of a customer.The other thing is to always be on time,be productive,active and always smile.
Pros
No
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High performance environment
HR Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP29 October 2015
BP is very focused on developing its employees, it is a high performance driven environment. There is a lo of interference from Group (London) and the drop in oil prices has increased the red tape.
Pros
agile working hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive productive environment
Finance clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC14 October 2014
Very positive environment and co workers are all happy to be there, Key values that influence attendance and commitment to succeed and be the best at what you do.

Have declined a permanent post at Maskew Miller for a Contract Post at BP and will make the same decision again.... :)

Work experience was insight full and will benefit any employer.
Pros
Company Gym
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 8Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, WC3 October 2014
Arrive at work,greet staff and mangement and resume my duties,i learned many things here and management was willing to teach me and my co workers we get on quite well and the hardest part of my job is to handle a difficult customer,but that doesnt get me down.the most enjoyable part of my job is handling customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 7Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good management
ADMIN CLERK (Former Employee) –  Port Shepstone, ZN3 July 2014
to find out you have run out of stock and did otknow about it. To balance stock daily and to know the product customers buy most and make sure we don't run out. Management was good and helpful. I got on with everyone i'm friendly. stock shortage and to reconcile. To know I have met my daily target
Pros
discount on gas refills
Cons
not met monyly sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 2 941 reviews
51,2 K
4910
3576
2146
1142

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,6Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,7Culture