Blue Mercury Financial Services

Blue Mercury Financial Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone to bigger opportunities
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Rosebank, Gauteng6 January 2020
It was a great place to start my career in the insurance industry. I learnt alot at Blue Mercury but its time to move on to bigger better opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Roaeb23 December 2019
Worst job I have ever had. It’s perfect as a start up first job not for a family person.
Working hours 8-6 if loadshedding or not on target 8-6:30
Nothing enjoyable about my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non compliance outsourced insurance call centre (family business )
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Randburg, Gauteng11 January 2019
Blue Mercury is a family run business that employs on a hire & fire method, the management uses an extreme amount of profanity to its employees, ..No room for growth it's a family business.

Filthy working environment with aggressive management.
Pros
None
Cons
Aggressive Management, hire and fire method, cant make commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Durban8 March 2018
The company is a good company with good principles and a good working environment. The product I used to sell was expensive in line with the quality but targets were too high. Commission was hardly earned.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starting salary very low, irrespective of experience
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal2 March 2018
Have to generate a minimum of R40000 worth of permium to start earning comm, if you happy with just earning a basic you should be fine. Fun environment nobody behind your back.
Pros
Good brand
Cons
Earning comm not as easy
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  johannesburg30 August 2017
Working here at Blue Mercury has really taught me the value of working in a team and I found a company that really does appreciate my efforts and dedication
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a productive call centre, fun enviromnent family orientated and considerate.
Outbound Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  KwaZulu-Natal4 August 2017
We basically need to call client provided to us in the form of leads, high LSM clientele, so we basically need to be on calls the whole day, selling Discovery Insure which is short term comprehensive insurance, Management is supportive, the hardest part of the job would be that the people we are calling are generally very busy people and always don't have time to be on sales calls, and that Discovery is quiet expensive in terms of premiums. Honestly is just the salary is not working out for me and the commission target is unrealistic, I say this because only one person made comm between two branches.
Cons
Long hours and working saturdays if you are not on target
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Telesales Agent (Current Employee) –  Rivonia, Gauteng11 May 2017
Blue Mercury is a unique company that has shown me how important self development is and daily development is essential, Feeling comfortable is not safe for career objectives.
Pros
Self development
Cons
Distance to travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace but not really productive
CALL CENTRE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Rivonia, Gauteng12 December 2016
Start everyday at 7am and knock off at 5/7pm depending on my daily target.

I have learned to perform under pressure. To manage my self, plan and execute my plans. To set my own personal daily targets, to meet and exceed my daily targets.

My co-workers were ok except everyone kept to themselves and had no time anyone.

Long stressful hours and warnings for meeting targets. I never got one but was always scared to receive one.

The working environment was nice, supportive and fun.
Pros
Incentives
Cons
Very long hours and working while standing at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blue Mercury Financial Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2,5
Based on 10 reviews
50
41
35
22
12

Ratings by category

2,2Work/Life Balance
1,6Salary/Benefits
1,9Job Security/Advancement
1,9Management
2,6Culture

Blue Mercury Financial Services Reviews by Location