BOSTON CITY CAMPUS Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work at
Marketing Research Learnership (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng9 February 2019
This is where I did my marketing research leadership. There was a lot of fun and more to learn at the same time. Because by its nature it's a learning institution it became very easy for one to learn and study at the same time.
Pros
Lots of half days
Cons
Long and complex assignments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and family like work place
Training Adviser (Former Employee) –  Germiston, ZA6 December 2018
Its a great place to work and has a good fun family vibe. Doesn't have much growth and the pay is could be better. The management is great and will push you to your highest potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with students
Part-time Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa13 July 2018
When I started working at Boston, the campus was in the stage of establishing itself in the city. Course material and general student and staff support was barely meeting the expected standard, but we mad the best of is. It was a privilege interacting with students and to helping to shape their young minds.
Pros
Interaction with students
Cons
Minimum interaction with other staff members
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Training Administrator (Former Employee) –  Orange Grove, Gauteng13 June 2018
I have learned a lot from Boston and thanx to them for teaching me the ropes as I have started my career with them without any work experience in training environment and they gave me a chance. I made lots of friends of which I still miss the environment even today....
Pros
Fun workplace and lunch sometimes
Cons
Low salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional yet comfortable
runner (Former Employee) –  Bedfordview, Gauteng20 September 2017
A typical work day consisted of meeting new people and helping everyone where they needed a helping hand.
I learnt a lot of people skills and professional traits.
Management was always up to standard, very organised and treated staff very well. it was a great experience working there.
Pros
great working environment
Cons
working on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling being able to give back to education
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng5 August 2017
I have enjoyed taking a break from the corporate world of management consulting and giving back to Education. I am however ready again to re-enter the corporate world.
Pros
Job satisfaction
Cons
Not very challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome learning environment
Part-time Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng4 May 2017
Boston City campus was alive with students and the learning culture was great. All the facilities was conducive for lecturing and the course material of high quality.
management of these courses was effective and efficient
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workday
marketing liaison (Former Employee) –  Somerset West, Western Cape3 May 2017
Start with follow up on enquires regarding registrations.
process payments received on student accounts.
Deposit cash at bank.
attend to staff matters. leave applications etc
attend to walkin students interested in starting studies.
setting up career tests.
Pros
free parking
Cons
long houra
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work and Creative
TA(Training Advisor), Onsite (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape30 May 2016
Worked as a Training Advisor and maintained all the computers.
I learned how to fix network.
Finished all my duties on time.
Friendly relationship with co-workers.
Working with many students at the same time was hard.
I loved working with computer hardware and software and upgrading them.
Pros
Study leaves
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
debt collector(TRAINING) (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng23 May 2016
working at Boston was fun
my collegues where always jolly and when its time to work, we worked hard
and everyone was always willing to help another
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fair environment to work in
Junior Bookkeeping Work Readiness Program (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng29 March 2016
Boston was a great environment to be exposed to the work place and to learn and know what to expect in the work environment. I learned some pretty useful bookkeeping skills, how to deal with the pressures of the workplace and i was able to enhance and sharpen my skills and abilities.The hardest part of the job was having to deal with different personalities and the workload- all of that was manageable though in the end. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
travelling distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Debt Collector (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng22 December 2015
I enjoyed a lot when working there because I learnt a lot as we where working as teams and individuals in other days. I learnt that working together as a team its fast and more ideas come up. My manager was motivating me daily and it was hard to call hard customers to pay fees. I enjoyed when we worked as a team because our supervisors where helping us showing us the right way to do things.
Pros
No
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP10 June 2015
having to deal with students and capturing the application forms
management were very understanding and they encouraged me to learn . co-workers were fun to work with.
Pros
free lunches upon reaching targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an educational enviroment, its productive and can get very hectic.
Training Advisor (Current Employee) –  Umhlanga1 August 2012
A typical work day for me includes booking and start external exams such as Microsoft IT exams. marking accounting trial papers. Giving workshops to students, taking enquiries on the phone or having walkins. counselling and helping them choose what courses to study. seeing and speaking to parents. Typing acceptance letters...I've learnt alot from Boston, they gave me my very first full time job, my co-workersf are the best we get alone very well and I'd like to think the Umhlanga branch has the best team. The enjoyable part of my job is helping students decide on what to study, and seeing them grow from little high school kids to qualified employees. The hardest part of my job is seeing students who try so hard but still fail or good students with alot of potential dropping out of college because of financial difficulties they are faced with at home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Learnership (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg1 August 2012
1.Typical day: Learning to develop systems.
2.I learned how to develop systems and manage / administrate database.
3.Co-learners were there to help when needed, we worked well together.
4.The hardest part was when after design you see no code error but the program is not running according to plan. (Frustration)
5.The most enjoyable part was when the program designed runs and does exactly as required after execution.
Pros
patient and understanding lectures
Cons
given task require internet and its offline
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes it was fun and enjoyable
training advisor (Current Employee) –  boston city campus randburg24 July 2012
boston city campus is a big company but the staff are not treated equally
i enjoyed most of my time workin for boston and i keep on studying each and every year ,i also got promoted but still earning the same salary.
my co-workers were very good and close to me
hardest part , its always hectic during the first 3 months of the year, we must work from monday to saturday , no day off required as it is a boston policy to reach the huge target
Pros
free lunch sometimes
Cons
we work from 3rd january up untill the 23rd december
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BOSTON CITY CAMPUS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,8
Based on 17 reviews
55
45
36
21
10

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
2,6Salary/Benefits
3,0Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,6Culture