Buco Hardware Employee Reviews

Found 70 reviews matching the search See all 73 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
forklift driver (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape29 May 2019
I have a high expectation in future. I am ambitious and determined to make successful carrer for myself. To be loyal and a hardworking employee with potentials. I am trustworthy and fast learner, show interactive and responsible. I will take any challenge with confidence and enthusiasm..
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working conditions
driver code 14 (Former Employee) –  Giyani, Limpopo19 April 2019
preparing to get to work by doing K53 and cleaning the truck Loading, offloading and Delivering of building materials to BUCO customers. working hours was from 7H30 to 17H00.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape15 April 2019
Enjoyed the work culture and the people i worked with became friends, learned alot, enjoyed what i did, staff is helpful and friendly and clients was friendly too most of the time, enjoyed being able to assist
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 2Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gave 1 star because that's the lowest you can give. I would give minus stars if I could
Worker head office (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape18 October 2018
Thing may have been good at branch level (judging from other comments) but that may be because most stores are franchised.

At the head offic, conditions are terrible, systems archaic (the only company I know that still uses invoice books with carbon paper)

Management. Wow. Don't have enough words. Awful is an understatement. I would discourage anyone from applying for any roles here. Staff are only cogs. Decisions are made behind closed doors and not discussed. Expect to be expendable by any means necessary. And I do mean by any means.

They know every loophole too. You will always be outsmarted and outnumbered. The fact that they are part of steinhoff should already sound alarm bells.

I suffered extreme psychological distress after my time there.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,fun and keeps you on your toes
Salesman/Junior Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Port Alfred, Eastern Cape11 October 2018
Work day is always full of learning at Buco but with great management and amazing work collages the pressure was always lifted a bit

The most enjoyable part of working at Buco was customer satisfaction and being able to help out where I can

Working at Buco was always full of laughs and excellent and exciting people
Pros
The management are always there to help
Cons
Stock take:-) hahaha
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and a fun,exciting place to work at
Receptionist/Admin (Former Employee) –  Kathu, Northern Cape21 August 2018
It was great working at Buco hardware Kathu,reason being that was my 1st job that I've worked for so long ( 3 years ). I knew nothing about reception work but Buco taught me that and it was an honor for to grow.

We worked as a team for the job to get done and management was also part of that team,they supported the employees.

The hardest part of my job was having to deal with colleagues that didn't hand in POD's on time and I had to wait for days to get it and clear it off the system.

The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to assist people in every way I could more espeacially customers calling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work for
Senior Storeman (Former Employee) –  Hoedspruit, Limpopo18 June 2018
Famaly orientated and striving towards costomer being happy ang making sure that the customer gets what thay need and is happy with the shopping experiance
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A gpod overall work place
Receiving - Storeman (Former Employee) –  Pinetown, KwaZulu-Natal18 June 2018
Good place to work for thay ar alwais there to help and asist you with what ever you need and will go the extra mile to get what you need if thay do not have it in store
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Malelane, Mpumalanga11 June 2018
I had the opportunity to work myself up in this company they look well after their staff. Every single person in this company matters and they first give opportunities internally. They give everyone the freedom to live their live to the fullest in the company as well as understanding personal matters. I loved working for this company
Pros
Good hours no weekend and public holidays
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was excited to be in retail
Time and attendance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Camps Bay, Western Cape23 May 2018
looking to being at work,tidying up the shop before customers came in .Keep the office area clean and ensuring that employees clockings are accurateness management .hardest part is dealing with difficult and rude customers who still have that tendency of saying a customer is always right.enjoyable part is getting more customers,making sales, reaching targets and giving specials to customers on a monthly basis and ensuring that employees are well paid.
Pros
team building lunch
Cons
working on sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a learning experience
Salesman(paint/powertool dept.) (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 April 2018
I'm a team player and eager to learn new things. Problem solving skills and listening to my superiors I'm good at. Assisting customers with queries as well. I'm also willing to put in extra time to see problems are being solved by the staff. Learning new skills and develop my self through courses and uplift my fellow team mates
Pros
Assisting where posibble
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and enjoyable
I'm A truck driver for BUCO as a holiday job (Current Employee) –  Port Alfred, Eastern Cape10 April 2018
I've been working for this company for almost an year now as a weekend and holiday job as a Truck driver and it's hard work but also amazing. U meet new people every day.
Being in the truck section is hars work because you get very heavy loads to work with to offload, especially if you have to do it by hand.
I always do an inspection around the truck to make sure its safe when moving off, ropes must be tight and boxes must be secured and locked.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but productive space
Dispatch coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ulundo10 March 2018
In the short space of time I had to work there I grew up in leaps and bounds thanks to the management that is conducive, if it were not for extreme reasons I wud still be employed there
Pros
Relaxed management
Cons
Few rest days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Steve Tshwete, Mpumalanga30 January 2018
Poor MD


Branch Management at the top is very unproffesional but managers under him is the most caring ,strict and understranding people. Joy to work for floor and project manager
Pros
Loved what i did
Cons
Branch manager is worst
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 4Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place and very productive
Sales person (Former Employee) –  Northern cape kimberley8 January 2018
Its a very driving place to work at and having to meet your targets and doing all your orders just making sure your customer is satisfied and happy, the staff was like a family and fun to be around with I did some courses like product knowledge and sale's management at Iliad training academy
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Internal Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Middelburg, Mpumalanga1 January 2018
everyday i go to work i make it my goal to learn new stuff and keep my work place neat and give the best service to my customers i always keep my clients happy to ensure they come back to me or keep supporting the shop and give good word of mouth about the company in the end that is what sells your product at the end of the daay
Pros
good worker spirit
Cons
not enough money to be indipendent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Casual Worker (Former Employee) –  Port Alfred, Eastern Cape5 December 2017
At buco i were like a runner, i do anything I've been asked to do, such as, stock taking, delivering, serving customers, working under pressure with pleasure
Cons
Exceed by 30 min to 1 hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work there after retrenchment
CREDIT CONTROLLER (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo4 December 2017
I worked there after I was retreched from Alert Steel. I was looking for something else to do. I was offered a Job at one of our clients which seemed to be a good move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive at work place and working with a team
sales person (Current Employee) –  Benoni, Gauteng28 October 2017
I am very productive due to what ever I do in a company and very good working in ateam,very hard working person who always willing to learn new things in bussines
Pros
N/a
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues are fun to work with.
Buyer (Current Employee) –  eMbalenhle, Mpumalanga17 October 2017
I have learned a lot working for Buco over the last 10 years and i would not trade the experience for anything. I have been on a few courses including, product knowledge and project management. I would like to grow in my career and unfortunately i have reached as far as i can working for Buco.
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Long hours and time away from my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Buco Hardware. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,5
Based on 73 reviews
519
417
325
24
18

Ratings by category

3,3Work/Life Balance
3,0Salary/Benefits
3,2Job Security/Advancement
3,2Management
3,6Culture