Cape Town Fish Market Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They give you the ability to work under minimum supervision
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal24 October 2019
It's good working in Capetown fish market because u will also have the ability to learn other areas in the shop and also you will gain the ability of working under minimum supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and productive
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng11 October 2019
l'm cool guy who love to put my passion wholeheartedly towards my duty and have an outstanding capability to withstand the pressure in a busy day all day.i can handle quite number of tables at same time without complains from my customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience working for cape town fish Market.
Waitressing (Former Employee) –  Cape Town harbour, Western Cape6 August 2019
I've learned lot of things as I didn't know anything about seafood so it was great experience for me, sushi as well even the great regular customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes
Cook potter (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 July 2019
The most enjoyable part of the job in cape town fish market restaurant is working as a team.
Recruitment of the staff when there is an opportunity for news positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This one big Fish Market Family! We all get along mostly.
Operator (Current Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape19 June 2019
Best to follow standard operating procedures when at work.
We are all here to give our customers the best experience at Cape Town Fish Market.

Strong ethics makes it possible for all of us to enjoy our work place daily
Pros
Staff meal and 2days off a week. Meeting new people daily from all around South Africa
Cons
Not much... It's a pity we located inside a mall and not next to the beach
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Host (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal15 February 2019
I had a great time pity I had to stop due to exams. We worked as a pair I.e a new member with a old one for few weeks to get used to the service and custom duties. We would work from 9 - 14:00 pm than from 14:00 to 9 pm. It is a exquisite franchise serving sea food.
Pros
Your own commission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner
General Manager and Owner (Former Employee) –  Lone Hill, Gauteng8 February 2019
I was the franchise owner together with my wife.The franchise had to close down as it was not profitable as it was presented to us. We ended up going to court for misrepresentation of the business. The court case is on going with ENS that offered to help us. As I have worked in the customer support before, the culture that I put in place was good for our customers and employees. They still give my wife and I respect even if the business does not exist anymore.
Pros
Yes
Cons
Overtime paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Chef (Former Employee) –  Sandton, ZA16 January 2019
it is a very busy outlet offering great seafood,i learnt how to prepare and store different kinds of sea foods including sushi. the culture is general like staff meetings twice a day,
Pros
Free meals
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to be
fulltime Barman (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape25 October 2018
very busy on weekends and in season time

i learned to be a hard worker due to our busy weekends

management is up to standard

ts very nice place in CBD located in century city mall which is one of the biggest mall in Africa
Pros
calamari
Cons
9 to 10hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Gateway Umhlanga27 February 2018
The name of the game, if you perform average sales in the month you will be liable to be the laughing stock of waiters in contention. Vibe meetings to help you reach your daily target.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waitress/ teppinyakki and sushi chef
Waitress,teppinyakki and sushi chef (Former Employee) –  cape town johannesburg18 February 2018
Its was a profitable experience as I have always wanted to be a sushi chef and this company has made that possible for me sending me for the training not only for sushi but also leant teppinyaki as well
Pros
free lunches sometimes increase in salary
Cons
increase in salary not according to standard labour laws no respect toward staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great atmmosphere to raise great sales people
waitron (Former Employee) –  cape town waterfront6 February 2018
it was a very friendly atmosphere lovely place to work at ,and under a great leadership a place to learn and get life skill and an advantaged place for good sells people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng2 February 2018
Amazing place to be in, adventurous and warm. Everyone is well trained and professional. very cool environment to work under with supportive team members
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad at All
F0H Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 January 2018
12 Hour shift
Guest Satisfaction
Staff Managements
Daily cash ups
Friendly Staff
learning new things
Great new ideas
Applying new ideas
food is great
Pros
lunch included for management
Cons
retail hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and healthy
hostess (Former Employee) –  centurion high feld18 September 2017
Cape town fish market was one of the company I didn't wanna leave but it was amazing to with cape town fish market. If possible I would go back but I think then for my experience and knowledge
Pros
free lunch
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is one of the well known sushi restaurants worldwide.
Runner (Former Employee) –  Steenberg, Western Cape3 August 2017
I enjoyed working with different waiters,I learned a lot too.What I liked the best was the sushi buffet and our specials then,and our variety of sushi.
Pros
I enjoyed working as a runner for the waiters.
Cons
At some point I felt unfairly treated due to no promotion from being a runner to a waiter for s
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal11 February 2017
best company
i learned cooking methods and types of food that people can eat
im a learner i like challenges
no hard part i have seen
most of all i learn
Pros
tea and staff meal
Cons
only 8 to 10 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good workplace
Waitress (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape3 October 2016
I had good working experience very good teamwork and I learned a lot from working at fishmarket as well good customer service and friendley management
Pros
teamwork
Cons
longhours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with good customers
Susshi chef (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng lonehill29 September 2016
I worked for this company for couple of years & i have learned a lot on how to be a chef not only sushi.i even created my own sushi
Pros
They provide meals for the chef's
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i always enjoy working with seafood
HEAD CHEF[KITCHEN] (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal25 July 2016
i like working weekends because its bizy.i always learn a lot everyday because there is new challenges.no problem with the management and the staff.always working long hours.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cape Town Fish Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,2
Based on 27 reviews
513
49
33
22
10

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,7Culture