Cape Union Mart Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search See all 116 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends how management is trained.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Heidelberg, Gauteng8 April 2019
On hands during the day. No stand g around doing nothing.
How to be more creative.
Workplace culture is very important
Being able to defend yourself is very difficult.
Pros
Being rewarded.
Cons
More days at home rather than at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng5 April 2019
At this company i have learned more about being a team player and that we all win when we work hand in hand.Cape Union Mart has taught me that a person drvelops themselves they shouldn't wait for someone to come tell them what to do...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy working environment
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 March 2019
Staff is not taken as people, there is no growth and the colour of your skin really matters. No matter how hard you work, if your manager doesn't like you then very less hours are given to you.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Warehouse checker (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 March 2019
Staff managers and all is great i had no problem with any of them only thing was travelling and their hours, i enjoyed working there if i could go back i would.
Pros
Free gifta
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rosebank, ZA22 February 2019
I appricated the opportunity because a learned a lot about customer service. Each morning we had training about product know and other things relevant in the store.
Pros
Birthday gifts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kimberley, Northern Cape19 February 2019
Nice company to work for nice benefits and amazing customer service, number one in customer service and target driven company with lots of fun and entertainment while we make big money
Pros
Lunch hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CEO takes good care of his employees
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Vaal30 January 2019
Great company to work for. If I knew then what I know now, I would never have left. They have awesome training and development sessions, as well as team building activities. Only downside is the working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
PPT (Current Employee) –  Kuruman, Northern Cape3 January 2019
typical day will be serving customer service the best way possible.
Learned a lot about camping and out door staff it is very interesting.
Store leaders are always there to listen and assist the staff were possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constructive Workplace
Sales Assistant / Equipment Department Specialist (Former Employee) –  Canal Walk, Western Cape29 October 2018
The company's environment was enjoyable to work for. Everything was done professionally. A uniform was provided. Staff management were considerate regarding family emergencies and leave.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Admin Manager / assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng vanderbilpark26 October 2018
working with customer service, training of all new products, get the opportunity to grow with in the company, stock take is always the hardest part of the job,
Pros
training
Cons
stock take
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape9 October 2018
Everything was great just the hours were not good because of retail hours coming home late after 8 pm was not great especailly when you are a mother and have kids that are still at school that still needs to be assisted with school work.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun workplace to work on
Technical sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Western Cape6 October 2018
wow i enjoyed working for such and great high end growing retailer such as cape union mart i have enjoyed my time and service at cape union mart for the past 3 years. great working culture/ fun environment/motivating staff and ,management great working experience indeed
Pros
hiking activities
Cons
short working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Casuals
Sales Assitant (Former Employee) –  Tygervalley, Western Cape28 August 2018
Hours are long and usually according to the mall times. This job is great for students/casuals/part time and especially awesome to gain experience in the retail sector for recent matriculants
Pros
discounts
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable environment
SALES ASSISTANT (PART TIME) (Former Employee) –  Nelspruit, Mpumalanga2 August 2018
Each day had its own challenges and fun moments, each day i was expected to have a conversation with the customers were by i was helping them to choose in our different products. I've learned that each customer always had an idea of what he/she want and it is not always easy to convince one to buy something they did not come for, i was expected to have a strategy of convincing them on what to buy by telling them more about the benefits of each product. The management of the store is well demonstrated or conducted since the managers are well skilled and trained, each manager knew on how to use their skills towards their colleagues regarding decision making and motivating us each morning. The workplace culture is not difficult to adapt since you are expected to be always on time and have an acceptable attitude towards customers, each morning one manager would conduct a small meeting briefing and motivating the colleagues. The hardest part of the job was when you had to help a rude moody customer, the most enjoyable part of the job was that you meet different people where by sometimes you get to learn new languages or be told interesting stories about why they need a certain product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Century City, Western Cape24 July 2018
i learned about customer services
i worked hard . 5 days a week
3pm-9pm or 8-3pm
enjoyable was assisting the customers, knowing what they wanted and they would write out a compliment carrd for your had work
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gauteng9 July 2018
Cape Union Mart is great.

Long hours that you would have to work.

I don't always agree how the managers speak to the sales consultants.

Consultants always fight
Pros
off days
Cons
conflict
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales vibes
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Gardens, Western Cape7 June 2018
The environment of making sales every day, reaching targeted total turn overs. Making money through product knowledge. Understanding of adventurous life.
Pros
stuff discount
Cons
racism
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place work for and keeping their culture as well
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng18 May 2018
Working for the company it was good it teaching you customer service you value them in store not by buying only but building a good relationship with them. I belive for people know to your brand and the name of the store it all goes down to the service you gave them.
Pros
Customer service First
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Sales assistant/assistance manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng17 May 2018
I really enjoyed my time there, they understand great customer service, lovely management whom is in touch with their own employees. The culture there is absolutely stunning!
Pros
Job security, lovely people, care for the stuff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable
Sales Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng11 May 2018
In this workplace got to learn about products and they purpose what different materials can do for you in cold weathers and when you go out for hikes.
Pros
Friendly people, getting to learn
Cons
Working on public holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cape Union Mart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 116 reviews
544
442
323
26
11

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,5Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
4,0Culture