Capitec Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Bancs Accountant (Former Employee) –  Stellenbosch, Western Cape18 June 2018
What an excellent company to work for. The atmosphere in the office is great and team work is key here. A great thing is that the high level managers/directors are involved daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draining
Service Consultant (Current Employee) –  Western Cape7 June 2018
Good start to your career, learn a lot. Doing everything from being a teller to issuing credit, savings accounts and insurance. Target driven as PA is every quarter, this is only if targets where reached, annual bonus every financial year when the company makes profit. There is no medical aid and the company does not contribute towards employees pension fund.
Fun young environment however management needs proper training.
Pros
Time off and Performance Awards every quarter
Cons
Longer hours (weekends and public holidays) and less money
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recomend for anyone
Service consultant (Former Employee) –  Moruleng6 June 2018
You can never be sure or safe as your word does not count for anything if you are not friends with management. do not settle once appointed, keep on searching
Pros
to wakeup and be paid for
Cons
long hours and not allowed to raise your voice if you want to keep your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
SALES CONSULTANTS (Former Employee) –  Kamaqhekeza, Mpumalanga24 May 2018
every thing was on point, training of stuff members, good service to clients. we never wanted clients to be on lines for a longer period as that annoys most people. management easy to access,open door policy practised. you never go wrong with anything as the manager and team leaders are present to assist at all times
Pros
training and team building
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World-class Learning Playpen
Sales Consultant; Branch Manager-in-training (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng15 May 2018
As a customer, probably the best bank in the world.

As an employee, you are literally a number that can be replaced in a matter of minutes.

My formative work years were spent at Capitec as I started from a sales consultant position until I left as a Branch Manager-in-training.

Promotion comes easy if you work hard but just because you are juniour management or supervisor level, the company still treats you like trash.

If one is willing to learn from the manure that this company will dish out, you will go far whether it is careerism or enterpreneurship.

Work life balance: working 7 days a week with maybe a weekend here or there.

Salary: very low base but with multiple and lucrative performance bonus and team awards. No allowance, no medical aid, you get paid about R200 for Sunday overtime, none for Saturdays

Job security: none. th company is doing well but not willing to provide any sort of security for workers. no union to represent workers either

Culture: world-class customer service and leading technology bank. you will learn to live with change on an everyday basis
Pros
team awards and performance bonuses
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes 31NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Establishment
SALES CONSULTANT, CASHIER, SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Dundee South Africa14 May 2018
Customer based, as soon as the doors has opened.
Advised on best products iro customer needs.
Management was helpful and reliable
Various cultures worked together, to built a Unknown Bank into a Well
known bank.
Had to visit Rural Areas, where communication was poor and made potential customers understand in their own language.
The expansion of knowledge.
Pros
Hard working
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target driven, fun working environment
Client Service Champion (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 May 2018
Capitec Bank pushes it's employees to grow in uncomfortable areas of their characters, allowing them to thrive as whole individuals in the workplace. It's overall team is a fun, dynamic group of people, making your day at work a pleasant one.
Pros
Quarterly Incentives
Cons
Trading hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
how it was working for capitec bank
Agent Client Care (Former Employee) –  cape town western cape7 May 2018
Working for the company was great experience i learned a lot i managed to gain knowledge in dealing with irate customers,working for the company i even learned on how to troubleshoot our speed point machines

I had great management because in the years that i was in the company they gave me a lot of exposure within the company it self and how to tackle each situation.

The workplace was a fun environment because in the years that i was there i managed to gain a lot of friends and in the process family as well.

The hardest part of the job was not the fact that i could not handle angry customers but it was the slow paced growth.

I enjoyed working with all the different customers from different provinces it gave me a lot of exposure on how to deal with the different races.
Pros
continuous training on different products
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Olways on time,willing to work under pressure
Atm assistant (Former Employee) –  Gauteng29 April 2018
I think my experience and educational level will make me the ryt candidate for these post.i worked for capitec I used to give client advice when taking loan and these bank is also has loans
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment because of sales
Service consultant (Current Employee) –  Pinetown, KwaZulu-Natal25 April 2018
In general it's a good company to work for if you enjoy being on sales and are good at it...starting off salary isn't too bad but there are no benefits for people who have worked there for a long time.
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
harsh working hours and the overtime doesnt pay much
Service consultant (Former Employee) –  bara taxi rank soweto19 April 2018
i do not have much to say about that job, i stated that the hours we had to work and the overtime we have to intake did not pay that much and the rest periods during there week are also unfair.
Pros
good administration
Cons
safety of employees is not taken serious
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company to work for
Collections Agent (Former Employee) –  Braamfontein, Gauteng17 April 2018
Working hours are straining and the environment is not welcoming. And the management of the workers not to the core. Salaries vs the work given huge difference
Pros
None
Cons
No growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal15 April 2018
It a very good company ,working with people making them feel at home and comfortable, having confident in what you is the most fun thing and it makes you feel good and attracted ,it feels like a home
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Marketing/sales and service consultant (Former Employee) –  Mafikeng, NorthWest9 April 2018
Learned how to treat clients.
How to apply HEAT(H-hear concern E-empathize A-acknowledge T-take action).
Take ownership of my actions.
Being a team player
Pros
Providing training
Cons
Working on Sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive
Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Welkom, Free State6 April 2018
very stressfull same time target driven,
communicate and convince client with sales matters persuasive.
do the best you can be friendly, driven and everything will come by itself.
young and vibrant.
reach mobile and internet banking targets.
receive incentives for hard work every nths.3 mo
Pros
long hours
Cons
working 3 weekends a month.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
CLIENT SERVICE CHAMPION (Former Employee) –  Kempton Park, Gauteng6 April 2018
was a great company to work for.
the clients are very interesting and its fun working with different people everyday.
team work is always the core of having a healthy working environment
Pros
bennefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and banking
Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape4 April 2018
I have grown in this company and it made me who I am. Most typical day is when I am late at work. I have learned that working with clients makes a life better outside and you become like a celebrity if you have good client service experience. I loved all my Managers and still do because they of their tolerance and spirit. The hardest way of the job is when you lacking back on Sales and targets. The most enjoyable part is when we achieve branch targets and budgets for wining the team awards[Salary increase].
Pros
no free lunch
Cons
weekend and public holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Client Relations Officer (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape28 March 2018
Client service, gathering of information,clients and processing, Office administration,Marketing of products, Debtors collection, Team participation,Cashier and Second in charge for the branch.
Pros
Performance Awards
Cons
Hard working
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Tzaneen, Limpopo27 March 2018
Good safely to work at and staff is open n free to talk to and client become your friend and you feel at home not at work its a safe place to work at.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
Extra hours worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Service consultant (Former Employee) –  City of Tshwane, Gauteng26 March 2018
N/A, there was no advancement for me so I left the company.

I learned how to deal with customers, credit and savings.............................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Capitec Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 508 reviews
5103
4163
3180
245
117

Ratings by category

3,0Work/Life Balance
2,9Salary/Benefits
3,0Job Security/Advancement
3,0Management
3,4Culture