Capitec Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Help Desk Consultant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 July 2018
Great work place with a lot of benefits.Lovely management and everyone is treated as a equal, even when you see the CEO it not formal. Friendly staff and great workpalce
Pros
great training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational working place
Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal12 July 2018
>The expirience at capitec is educational because you get the opporttunity to learn what is happening around in our country as well the community. It also equips an individual wth finance skills
Pros
None
Cons
Worked on saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working condition
Call Centre Agent (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng10 July 2018
Company is growing but the opportunities are limited in Johannesburg departments are based in cape town you either relocate or stay in the same position
Pros
Location is convenient
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work in a fun environment
Employer & Pay Date Management Agent (Former Employee) –  Bellville, Western Cape8 July 2018
Hard working bank with a easy-going staff culture. Hard work and hard play seems to be the culture in this growing company. It seems like the company still has some maturing to do along with its expected growth.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Bad lifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sad place to work
Branch Admin / Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng4 July 2018
capitec is a sad compny and i can only hope they have grown from whatthey used to be as a compny.i am thankful for all i have learned from Capitec but i always felt bullied and undermined
Pros
i learned a few things
Cons
long hours no overtime pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Junior Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape3 July 2018
A good organizational culture and working space . I have learned about business , handling client, troubleshooting , resolving complex problems . Good management where every individual is responsible of what is expected from them. The hardest part of the job is to deal with different people dynamics and the most enjoyable part is that you learn every day.
Pros
knowledge sharing and accessing it
Cons
working during weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much pressure
Collection Agent (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape26 June 2018
The environment is not friendly the managers on the floor are not professional. They always changing rules. You can't speak out otherwise you will lose your job not unless you are friends with management. Always looking over your shoulder coz your job is not safe.
Pros
Company benefits, incentive and year end function😏
Cons
Pressure, long hours, disorganised management. Slim chances of growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Bancs Accountant (Former Employee) –  Stellenbosch, Western Cape18 June 2018
What an excellent company to work for. The atmosphere in the office is great and team work is key here. A great thing is that the high level managers/directors are involved daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draining
Service Consultant (Current Employee) –  Western Cape7 June 2018
Good start to your career, learn a lot. Doing everything from being a teller to issuing credit, savings accounts and insurance. Target driven as PA is every quarter, this is only if targets where reached, annual bonus every financial year when the company makes profit. There is no medical aid and the company does not contribute towards employees pension fund.
Fun young environment however management needs proper training.
Pros
Time off and Performance Awards every quarter
Cons
Longer hours (weekends and public holidays) and less money
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recomend for anyone
Service consultant (Former Employee) –  Moruleng6 June 2018
You can never be sure or safe as your word does not count for anything if you are not friends with management. do not settle once appointed, keep on searching
Pros
to wakeup and be paid for
Cons
long hours and not allowed to raise your voice if you want to keep your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 2Report

Want to know more about Capitec Bank?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
SALES CONSULTANTS (Former Employee) –  Kamaqhekeza, Mpumalanga24 May 2018
every thing was on point, training of stuff members, good service to clients. we never wanted clients to be on lines for a longer period as that annoys most people. management easy to access,open door policy practised. you never go wrong with anything as the manager and team leaders are present to assist at all times
Pros
training and team building
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World-class Learning Playpen
Sales Consultant; Branch Manager-in-training (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng15 May 2018
As a customer, probably the best bank in the world.

As an employee, you are literally a number that can be replaced in a matter of minutes.

My formative work years were spent at Capitec as I started from a sales consultant position until I left as a Branch Manager-in-training.

Promotion comes easy if you work hard but just because you are juniour management or supervisor level, the company still treats you like trash.

If one is willing to learn from the manure that this company will dish out, you will go far whether it is careerism or enterpreneurship.

Work life balance: working 7 days a week with maybe a weekend here or there.

Salary: very low base but with multiple and lucrative performance bonus and team awards. No allowance, no medical aid, you get paid about R200 for Sunday overtime, none for Saturdays

Job security: none. th company is doing well but not willing to provide any sort of security for workers. no union to represent workers either

Culture: world-class customer service and leading technology bank. you will learn to live with change on an everyday basis
Pros
team awards and performance bonuses
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes 41NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Establishment
SALES CONSULTANT, CASHIER, SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Dundee South Africa14 May 2018
Customer based, as soon as the doors has opened.
Advised on best products iro customer needs.
Management was helpful and reliable
Various cultures worked together, to built a Unknown Bank into a Well
known bank.
Had to visit Rural Areas, where communication was poor and made potential customers understand in their own language.
The expansion of knowledge.
Pros
Hard working
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mediocre workplace
Service Consultant (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng11 May 2018
repetitive work,long working hours and salary scale is a bit low for the work you put in. the working environment is adaptable, potential for growth exists but only toward branch manager if at branch level.
your typical day to day job but with growth in clients, the work can be heavy and requires one who does not have commitments or family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 62No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target driven, fun working environment
Client Service Champion (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 May 2018
Capitec Bank pushes it's employees to grow in uncomfortable areas of their characters, allowing them to thrive as whole individuals in the workplace. It's overall team is a fun, dynamic group of people, making your day at work a pleasant one.
Pros
Quarterly Incentives
Cons
Trading hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
how it was working for capitec bank
Agent Client Care (Former Employee) –  cape town western cape7 May 2018
Working for the company was great experience i learned a lot i managed to gain knowledge in dealing with irate customers,working for the company i even learned on how to troubleshoot our speed point machines

I had great management because in the years that i was in the company they gave me a lot of exposure within the company it self and how to tackle each situation.

The workplace was a fun environment because in the years that i was there i managed to gain a lot of friends and in the process family as well.

The hardest part of the job was not the fact that i could not handle angry customers but it was the slow paced growth.

I enjoyed working with all the different customers from different provinces it gave me a lot of exposure on how to deal with the different races.
Pros
continuous training on different products
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Olways on time,willing to work under pressure
Atm assistant (Former Employee) –  Gauteng29 April 2018
I think my experience and educational level will make me the ryt candidate for these post.i worked for capitec I used to give client advice when taking loan and these bank is also has loans
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment because of sales
Service consultant (Current Employee) –  Pinetown, KwaZulu-Natal25 April 2018
In general it's a good company to work for if you enjoy being on sales and are good at it...starting off salary isn't too bad but there are no benefits for people who have worked there for a long time.
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
harsh working hours and the overtime doesnt pay much
Service consultant (Former Employee) –  bara taxi rank soweto19 April 2018
i do not have much to say about that job, i stated that the hours we had to work and the overtime we have to intake did not pay that much and the rest periods during there week are also unfair.
Pros
good administration
Cons
safety of employees is not taken serious
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company to work for
Collections Agent (Former Employee) –  Braamfontein, Gauteng17 April 2018
Working hours are straining and the environment is not welcoming. And the management of the workers not to the core. Salaries vs the work given huge difference
Pros
None
Cons
No growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Capitec Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 516 reviews
5104
4166
3182
245
119

Ratings by category

3,0Work/Life Balance
2,9Salary/Benefits
3,0Job Security/Advancement
3,0Management
3,4Culture