City of Cape Town Employee Reviews

Found 434 reviews matching the search See all 447 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful and fun working place and atmosphere of learning more
Communications Officer (Former Employee) –  Western Cape9 October 2019
I had to learn to work with different people from different cultural backgrounds. Develop people skills, communication skills, time management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work on
Data Capturer (Former Employee) –  Bellville, Western Cape8 October 2019
That is when i had a dead line of my capturing but, we only find out the last minute that they need some of the information,but i manage to finish my capturing, i worked till late that day as it is safe security 24/7.
The management can be nice and supportive at times not always, they make you feel comfortable to do your work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Foreman First Line Response East (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 October 2019
Was employed here for seven years. Not so good when it comes to promoting staff.

Salary is great, but line management not so hands on. Top management in some divisions diverse
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Cape Town is a very good place to work at when you want stability.
Professional Nurse (Former Employee) –  Bishop Lavis, Western Cape6 October 2019
I have enjoyed working at Cityvof Cape Town, the only reason I left was because I had to finish my practical hours for my BTech Primary Health care studies so that I can graduate this year. I wish they coukd be more supportive in personnel development and training especially when it comes to scarce skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer and service delivery orientation
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape28 September 2019
Issue work (customer complaints) to staff and contractors to repair and maintain street lighting and high mast lighting repairs
I've learnt how to handle and treat difficult customer, consumers.Manage difficult staff.
Most of the City's management apply set policies and procedures, while one will create own policies and procedure.
Work will be discussed every morning - Problems and solutions.
Hardest part of the work is trying to keep all customers happy all the time.
When all daunting task are completed within a specific time frame and in budget is very rewarding and appreciation is shown by management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with equal benefits for all employees. Diverse with all cultures.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Western Cape26 September 2019
A lot and more than anything. eg. Provides employees with education, allows freedom of speech. Takes care of the community needs. Allow destinated staff members to do studies in destined areas of the city in order to overcome problems therefore. This City is a good example to other cities of South For an example
Africa
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excited but no impressed
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape26 September 2019
No proper management style was observed. Unhygienic kitchen area.
No ethical leadership.
Not a very tactful branch manager. No proper staff equipment and furniture. Branch finance clerk has leisure time, especially when manager is out of office. Manager brags too much, does not focus on relevant issues.
No proper training. Position applied for was given to someone else, although I was interviewed for it. Misleading of advertising, process of job application.
Staff friendly and helpful but gossips more.
Pros
None
Cons
No staff area and inadequate bathroom stalls
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Technical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape23 September 2019
The City of Cape Town is a good place to work in that it offers stability in terms of always having work, while it offers great benefits.

However, in the Engineering field, most of the work entails maintenance. Yes, one does gain familiarity with design and construction standards, but most design and construction work is outsourced. So there is very little application in terms of actually physically doing designs and using the available software or running construction sites. Only some has access to software such as AutoCad and Civil 3d or Civil Designer and if working in a depot environment, construction tends to be narrow and focuses on a particular civil service rather than on the broader scale.

To be fair, the City of Cape Town is a very good company to work for if you plan on retiring, but in terms of gaining a broader exposure to the built environment and having a more hands on experience, the private sector offers more experience.
Pros
stability with regards to employment, remuneration benefits, exposure to design standards and standard practices
Cons
Little exposure to engineering tasks, i.e, using design software and doing new designs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Specialist Clerk intern (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape23 September 2019
It grows you as an individual and help ypu to learn as much as possible and it provides you with training and you get to obtain news skills and its work culture is diversed. I acnt say i have ever faced any challenge other than that you always have to be sober minded and accurate because I was dealind with peoples account and when you work with figures mistake is not an option.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful but good for career development
Assistant Buyer (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape21 September 2019
Very stressful. They are very good at sending staff for training though. So its good for career development.
Not much opportunities given to internal staff. Not all the departments operate on the same basis or levels, so it depends what department you work for and what your goals and mission is for working at the City of Cape Town
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City is a place where you can grow in your profession, with all the training offered
Clinic manager (Current Employee) –  Fisantekraal clinic19 September 2019
Typical day: 1 client came drunk to collect the treatment, swearing to everybody. had to manage that client by calling him aside and talk to him I highlighted, patients rights and staff rights. responsibilities of a nurse and responsibilities of a client. nurse patient relationship. Patient admitted he was wrong and promise not to behave the way he did in the next visit

What I learned: I learned to be independent, make my own decisions, became a better person with more knowledge and understanding of the organisation, I gained more skills on problem solving. clear communication. conflict resolution.

Management: we have a supportive structured top management.
at a clinic level. being a manager mostly doing monitoring and evaluation of programs. having action plans where there are gaps and do quality improvement projects. Do HR duties and overall managing staff attendance to monitor absenteeism, wellness of staff. To manage clinic structure by doing regular maintain ace and assets management. monitor and manage clinic budget

Workplace culture: City is target orientated. uses policies and guidelines for operations. have a vision and mission, which is to give better health services to patients accessing our facility


Hardest part of the job: To manage different people, with different personalities. when decision are done some would feel is not fair of be resistant to new changes. what helps is to engage all staff when ever the is some new changes, let them be part of the decision making. ask them how they think things could be done better. explain the benefit of
  more... the new change and how does it fit to the organisation. let them read new policies or guidelines regarding a specific change

The most enjoyable part, it to see the clinic performance becoming better, by reaching the set targets of clinic indicators. when staff is working as team, it makes clinic operation smooth
  less
Pros
8 hours shift, not working on public holidays
Cons
having to deal with different with different illnesses with limited resources, as the clinic is small for the community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Intern Student (Former Employee) –  Pinelands, Western Cape16 September 2019
My typical day at work would be to respond to emails and have a check- in with my Manager with regards to things needed to be done for the day. Liaise with different lined departments with regards to inquiries and complaints received from different communities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management advancement ???
Small plant operator (Former Employee) –  Somerset West16 September 2019
Good company to work Fr dd it Fr 20years reason I have left its because of being missed used doing supervisor work working with contractor first one out to site last one in always made sure whatever task were given to me did it to the best of my ability but it were never seen driving crane truck operating it aswell
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you are lucky to have good management
Specialist Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kraaifontein, Western Cape15 September 2019
Great pension benefits,
Bad management (unprofessional, inconsiderate and unapproachable, showing favoritism and racial preference to staff from their own cultural background, Also overloading people due to people leaving and not being replaced - more frequent illness results and negative impact at home.
Pros
Possibility to move within organisation
Cons
Doing more than one persons work, no effort to replace them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the City of Cape Town
Housing Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape13 September 2019
Working for the city was very traumatic . I was abused emotionally and constantly told i would never get a promotion. I was hated for having a qualifi
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused work environment
Finance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape13 September 2019
Good working hours. Great benefits for permanent employees. Employment stability and growth. Good working environment.

Annual bonuses for permanent staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked the night shift as a general worker in 2019 and the day shift in December 2018
general worker (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape11 September 2019
I worked the night shift from 8 - 4 as a general worker in may-june 2019 and the day shift in December 2018.
City of cape town town takes good care of there employees, staff are friendly and helpful. I work under Affirmative portfolios.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Data collector/data capture (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape3 September 2019
It is my aim to make and be part of a successful team that is directly involve in making the organization a success, as I believe I have a role to play in making things a success.
Pros
Non
Cons
No long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at city of cape town. Staff is friendly and caring
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Strand, Western Cape3 September 2019
I was a cleaner. It was a contract vacancy.
I had to clean the building in and outside.
The people working there is very friendly and caring.
I wish it was a longer contract.
I enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
EPWP (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape1 September 2019
It is great working with them. They are professional and very diverse too. It's like a family and friends when working with them.
They make it easy to understand the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Cape Town. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 447 reviews
5194
4125
397
211
120

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,7Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,7Management
3,7Culture