City of Cape Town Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional work place great teamwork
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape11 July 2018
Always ready to assist clients with a high standard of work ethic. Great teamwork and amazing staff. Always pushing to do above and beyond their duties.
Pros
All benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always work satisfaction
Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape2 July 2018
on the rad going from plant to plant
getting cctv cameras working

I learnt cctv / access control

excellent manangement

culture was brilliant enjoyed that

hardest part was figuring out faults

I enjoyed having my own office space
Pros
we had our lunch times
Cons
never
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worker friendly
Process Controller (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape20 June 2018
I love working and serving the community, so I was granted that opportunity to push my passion by the city of capetown. very good working environment.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Clerk 1 (Former Employee) –  Athlone Stadium14 June 2018
Very easy day
I have learnt how to manage employees times and do manual clock ins as well do reference checks.
Management I worked under was very helpful and always willing to help and guide me.
Best part of my job was when it was on season for the lifeguards and seasonal workers to be interviewed and there detail to be captured.
Pros
Good working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and motivating environment
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 June 2018
First job after matriculated. Employed for over 20 years. Progressive development, throughout my employment in the city of cape town, from labourer to ETD consultant. Further development opportunities through bursary process allowed me to obtain my qualifications. Secure work environment and great benefits, medical aid, pension fund and housing subsidy
Pros
Bursary available to staff to develop incareer
Cons
Not very open to realise staff potential to advance my position
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety and Security
Admin Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape5 June 2018
To work at city of cape town was are good experience and I wish to work again there and I learned are lot of skills and Work with different people Around me and also work as a team. the management skill and the way the people work with me it is very professional and good. to work at city of cape town it is like you at home the welcoming at the team work it makes you fill you with your family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its both a productive and fun work place
EPWP (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape31 May 2018
So basically a day at work would consist of always helping community members , working with a team has made work more fun for me. hardest part of the day is helping difficult community members but then again im up for any challenge.
Pros
working with a phenominal team
Cons
wages is way to little for the amount of work one does
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best
Solid Waste (Cleaner) (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape21 May 2018
this job was one of the best i could ask for perks was working during holidays in festive however i met alot of new people which i got very close to in a short period of time but i enjoyed this job
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COCT is a fun workplace with plenty of expierence to be gained as well as oppertunities.
Contractor ( Project Administrator) (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape18 May 2018
The COCT is a company filled with opportunity.
I have learned plenty during my time with the company and gained tons of experience.
managers and heads are understanding and are easy to approach.
Pros
Job oppertunity
Cons
The are no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service delivery and a very productive workplace
TITLE DEEDS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  City of Cape Town, Western Cape17 May 2018
we capture the data we get from the housing department like the title deeds of certain people.
Then we drop off letters off at their houses to verify them to see if they still the rightful owner of the property,if they are then we invite them to an event where we give them their title deeds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport

Want to know more about City of Cape Town?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape16 May 2018
Nice working environment,great colleagues,career growth,professionalism,ethical,taught me about the importance of batho pele principles,customer care and discipline
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to be
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Bellville11 May 2018
Its always grateful to be at work. Its nice to work with people who do their job willingly, remember we all adults but there are times where we fight and resolve the issues, Conflict management is the skill I also learned on my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very secure workplace
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape7 May 2018
I gained professionalism, time management and to be goal orientated. Under professional supervision I adapted to good leadership and management resolutions. Independence and self driving I developed enables me to move up the ladder and willingness to share the knowledge and experience I gained internationally
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrician (Former Employee) –  City of Cape Town, Western Cape19 April 2018
I started my electrical carreer at City of Cape Town, qualified as an Electrician , then progressed to be a Hv cable jointer,Hv electrician who did planning ,switching, power system repairs and fault finding as well as substation maintenance .
Pros
Job security, learning new skills
Cons
slow growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is productive
Supervisor Reintegration -Street People Programme (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape19 April 2018
Work environment is good. Provide many opportunities for advancement. The City is employer of choice with regard to their remuneration package. There is always room for improvement
Pros
wellness days
Cons
Irregular working hours penidng the department
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting work
Data architect Project Manager and consultant (Former Employee) –  Civic Centre, Cape Town, Western Cape10 April 2018
Sadly the organisation is still beset with Apartheid legacy issues, but good management minimises the impact of this where possible. Typical government department excepting for some good mangers and there are always good people.
Pros
Problems are opportunities
Cons
Opportunists are viewed with suspicion
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Examiner for Driving Licenses (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape10 April 2018
When it's holidays, there would be a lot of applicants visiting the station. I learned more than safety on the roads but filing and office work. All colleagues were dedicated to their work.
Pros
being off work on weekends
Cons
overtime when there's a lot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proffesional workplace
Sustainable Energy Assistant (Internship) (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape10 April 2018
good environment. Very professional people who works hard and assists when help is needed elsewhere. The management is very hands-on with lower level personal and motivates and encourage personal to give it 100% everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always strive to do my best and face challeges
Receptionist/Admin (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape9 April 2018
I am responsible person and always eager to learn new things to enrich my knowledge and acquire new skills. Self-discit line, determination and dedicated
Pros
team leader
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape5 April 2018
You are constantly learning, you have a lot of one on ones with the public. Management is just there to observe. If you do your job you will have no issues with regards to management. The people you work with also make it a pleasure to work there.
Pros
medical aid, housing subsidy, 13th check, sick leave, annual leave.
Cons
Growth in the company takes long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Cape Town. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 358 reviews
5149
4105
377
28
119

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,6Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,7Culture