City of Cape Town

City of Cape Town Pay & Benefits reviews: Administrative Clerk

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 602 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Work place
Admin Clerk(Temp) (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, ZA11 February 2019
Very tight office space.
Gets very busy.
I learned the systems that they worked on which was pretty cool.
You get to leave normal people hours.
One of the hardest places to get a job is council
Pros
Hour Lunch
Cons
One of the hardest places to get a job is council
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with high workload
Administration Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, ZA8 February 2019
You don't work on weekends depending on the department you're employed in. Working hours is convenient from 07:30 - 16:00/08:00 - 16:30. Overall the COCT is a good company but one can struggle to grow in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but stressfull
Admin Clerk (Current Employee) –  Somerset West, Western Cape23 November 2017
Working for the city of Cape Town is great and enjoyable but the only thing that need to improve is the progress of the staff, promotion and advancement, it's so easy to stay in one position for many years without knowing if you will ever get the promotion.
Pros
benefits
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy working environment
Admin Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 October 2017
Working at the City of Cape Town Council was a wonderful working experience as it exposed me to the work environment. This was my first time working so I really enjoyed it, and the management made working there very fun.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no transport
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Admin Clerk (Current Employee) –  Belhar, Western Cape5 October 2017
Very easy working environment to work in.
Especially working and assisting citizens of cape town and making a difference in there day to day lives.
Working in the City is a good experience.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hard Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Clerk (Current Employee) –  Camps Bay, Western Cape24 July 2017
The day is structured.

I have learnt how to manage time effectively and how to deal with people from all cultures.

Management is a bit biased in terms of advancement and favouritism.

Work is sometimes involved but communicating and tolerating people makes it easier.
Pros
Benefits ex: Medical Aid
Cons
Mundane
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Admin Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape7 March 2017
I was a temp at this depot and did not work here for very long. I had a good experience working there though, I learned alot about excel which i didnt know before I worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an exciting, new and learning experience
Admin Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC30 July 2014
A typical day at work would be capturing any documents that needed to be captured, answering any calls, being replacement receptionist.

I've learned to work with the different people that I did, I've improved my skills with excel and word.
Pros
salary
Cons
far too travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive , innovative and fun workplace
Administration clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC13 June 2013
being in a front desk means you are the face of the company, regardless of who the client are dealing with( officials). It happen this gentle man have been un attend for such a long time now he had to look for this official as they are always working on a outbound, sadly I was in the office. I had to take each and every word he accused me of never mind the fact that he was suppose to raise these accusation to the official he was in contact with. calmly I attend to him with the help of the other officials.

never say I don't know about the companies doings, rather refer the problem to the team that you are reporting to.

management are the nicest, but u need to deliver on time in order for you to be always on their good side.

co-workers are fun to work with.

given many task at once and expectation to be done in the given deadline.

you feel like u are in your own home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more City of Cape Town reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Cape Town. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 602 reviews
5261
4169
3127
219
126

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,7Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,7Culture