Department Of Health Employee Reviews

Found 772 reviews matching the search See all 1 605 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have gained confidence and I can take blood and manage chronic diseases
professional nurse (Former Employee) –  South Africa15 November 2019
Great communication skills i can work in a team and i want to learn more things that can make my career grow and working under the netional guidelines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department Of Health
Data Capturer (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Western Cape13 November 2019
It was amazing working there. There was a sense of togetherness from Nurses to the board members. Everyone made you feel welcome and we greeted each other often.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Speech Therapist,assessing, prevention,diagnosis and treatment of all communication disorder
Speech Therapist (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal13 November 2019
Department of health is paying less than other department. We need a good payment for the service provided to patients. The department is trying it's best to meet the needs of the employees, but there are resources that are not available. This disturb the employees as a result of the shortage of the resources, patient are referred to private sectors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important questions are not asked.
assistant nurse (Current Employee) –  Pella health center North West S.A9 November 2019
As assistant nurse at Facility Pella health center, and in Moses Kotane municipality they don't care about patients health or patients life, the nanometer for blood pressure are all old, not serviced, a glucobanometer is not working is now more than 6 months. I as the nurse Am the one to be blamed by the patients for not checking their blood sugar levels . AM working all as assistant nurse in that facility in the large number of community. While the professional nurse are more than 4. The pag is too little. The managers they don't treat staff with respect.no equipments.no maintenance. Aicons not working. When the official come to inspect they hide all their dirty work. Us as juniors we are not allowed to be involved in inspection
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fair enough for an intern I can't complain.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape7 November 2019
My tip is that they should review the amount they pay interns as stipend;in terms of looking at the cost of leaving in our country before deciding on the amount stipend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production level clerk
Administration Clerk (Current Employee) –  Jan Kempdorp, North West1 November 2019
filing, capturing of patient information
learned time management
having to deal with power from management where my input don't matter
The benefits from the department of health are good, working hours are also good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and pleasent to be in
Data Capturer (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng23 October 2019
the workplace culture is pleasant, my team is pleasant to be around
my management team is excellent and is always willing to assist
mastering the softwares we use is a challenging and hence fun
i enjoy all aspects of my job and i always finish my tasks at assigned time period
Pros
the benefits are not that bad
Cons
under staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and fun work culture
Administration Clerk (Intern) (Current Employee) –  Western Cape23 October 2019
always busy at work.
learned about government policies, HR work-related procedures and work.
management's planning and co-operation are great.
everyone is friendly, helpful and respectful.
hardest part of the job was when your work is don't and you have to wait days for new work.
enjoyable part was when the whole team comes together for weekly meetings and have memorable laughing moments together.
Pros
free training
Cons
not fully exposed to HR field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Team leader and mentor (Former Employee) –  Louis Trichardt, Limpopo23 October 2019
Same routine familiar duties
No career growth
Job swcurity
Support by managers
Caring and loving environmemt
Skill development through training and workshop
Hard to get promotion
Pros
Bonus and Pms
Cons
Long hours due to shortage of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dept of Health was good to me. Job satisfaction, because no matter what I will always be a nurse.
Operational manager PHC clinic (Former Employee) –  Harrismith, Free State15 October 2019
I was a clinic manager in a PHC clinic and had a very good relation with both my staff and my clients.
Worked for 27 yrs for DOH and gained a lot of knowledge and experience. The benefit in PHC is that you as Prof Nurse is totally independant in your functions. Other than a hospital where the Prof nurse execute doctors orders .In PHC you prevent, examine, diagnose, prescribe and treat and dispense. Sadd part is Im still healthy and has all this knowledge and not allowed to stay on because I am 65 yrs.and do basic nursing care. In PHC you prevent a
do basic nur
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything went good
Enrolled nurse (Former Employee) –  Mount Ayliff, Eastern Cape13 October 2019
I'm satisiffied, good to work for the department of health, l like to help people with empathy , I'm caring ,giving health education to the groups of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Secure and Professional working environment
Intern Student (Engineering) (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 October 2019
My Time in the government was a one year internship program.

In my time I worked with a supervisor.
I had to do Drawings on AutoCAD.
Visiting hospitals or government with any maintenance issues to fix.
Cons
I had none of the benefits because I was on the internship program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard ans strenous place
prof nurse (Current Employee) –  Makabeleni, KwaZulu-Natal12 October 2019
Short sfaffed. Long hours. Most times you dnt have lunvh but the benefits are good. Managements are usually hard to deal with an no progress. Trying to get to study firther is an uphill nattle that one wil
Neber wim
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience ever
Intern Administration Clerk (Current Employee) –  Khayelitsha, Western Cape12 October 2019
I am doing administration duties like faxing.. setting up meetings, paperwork, photo coping . Dealing with NGOs and doing claims In Finance department and also helping in supply chain with capturing the GG vehicles... checking stock and administration duties.
I have learned a lot like check claims, capturing payments, stocking what is needed by the company, minutes taking .etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skilled, experienced and ability to work independently
Supply Chain Officer (Current Employee) –  Free State28 September 2019
Gained much experience since I started in the department of health Free state, in case of development one is really being developed in so many ways, from being as a clerk to being in a supervisory level and being involved in management and other committees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Administration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tygerberg, Western Cape17 September 2019
The first time i started here felt like home until i figured there is no growth from this place of work for me it was a family but now it's each person for himself that's why i am in need of a new job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at department of health as an intern was really good, it was quite a good experience
Clek (Former Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State14 September 2019
I'm a hard worker, willing to learn new things and would really like to get a chance to prove myself. Working at department of health gave me a good experience. My bosses are really good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational
Assistant (Former Employee) –  King William’s Town, Eastern Cape10 September 2019
The staff is very friendly and helpful at all times. You absorb so much because the is minimal pressure. The management is very understanding and empathetic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and exciting work place
Intern (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape6 September 2019
in my work place i grow everyday in the type of work i do, learn about new things everyday.
in my department that i'm currently working in i experience a lot of different type of people in the sense of work ethic, communication, skills and emotions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
Admin Clerk (Intern) (Current Employee) –  Tygerberg Oral Health Centre6 September 2019
i have learned a lot at work, i gained most of my work experience here. the culture is very good and everyone try to assist where they can and i have been exposed to a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department Of Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,9
Based on 1 605 reviews
5538
4571
3360
287
149

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,4Salary/Benefits
3,5Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,7Culture