DSV Employee Reviews

Found 213 reviews matching the search See all 1 215 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
driver code 10 (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal6 December 2019
I am hard working person and I can work in group and very respecting person, helpful and good heart. I am clean wear properly, good examplery to my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes
driving job (Current Employee) –  CENTURION4 December 2019
A company is really good taking care of there are costumes delivered in time and the wakers are really friendly and clean they have a slim every time they call you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racism
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Philippi, Western Cape2 December 2019
Working for DSV would be much exciting if there was a fairly treatment to every employee no matter about the races or colour of their skin. I still believe DSV in phillip need a lot of change in the Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
New Business Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape19 November 2019
Overall good company but lacking in training and good management. Systems in place also cannot facilitate for the clients expectations. Lacking in good leadership and support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Business Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, South Africa27 October 2019
I loved working for DSV. They recognise your achievements and there is an overall good work/life balance. I would definitely recommend working for this company and would love to join them in the current country I reside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
A typical day at work for me was always busy and productive when I became the team leader of dispensing team.My supervisor gave me more duties and my responsibility was much bigger than before.Every morning I had to do the batch report of the batch that was being delivered that morning.Importance was that the batch was fully completed and that there was no outstanding parcels.If parcels was outstanding it had to be dispensed again.The facility had to be informed that it would be delivered the next day.I sent email to the supervisors is cases like that.I was responsible for finding locums to work in the evenings,I created a group on whatsapp for the locums which made it much easier just by sending a message asking who is available and the quantity of dispensers needed.It used to be time consuming when I had to phone the locums 1 by 1.
My supervisor was impressed when I suggested to her my idea of creating the group and she gave me the go ahead to create group.She could also address important issues on the group.It was impossible to have meetings with locums because of the workload always being huge and that time in production was very crucial because we had a deadline everyday that had to be done.
Unfortunately unforeseen circumstances occurred that was impossible to prevent in some cases like load shedding. Backup generator was lifesaver but if operations stood still for more than an hour it caused even more pressure on everyone because we had to prevent being fined if the delivery date was not as agreed.
The hardest part of the job was probably in the beginning when we
  more... worked every evening up until midnight or even later to make sure the batch was finished and the next morning struggling to keep your eyes open when arriving at work again. Still it was a big learning experience for me and a huge opportunity.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape21 October 2019
DSV is a fun place to work at wonderful colleagues, i have learned alot like working without supervision, there will be times when you have to work overtime.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Reach Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 October 2019
Good employees pension benefits, not working under pressure, no one always behind you while performing your duties, there's growth in employees, be able to learn more about PC word
Pros
Holiday Benefits
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse environment with enthusiastic personel/ employees
material handling (Former Employee) –  straundale16 October 2019
some days you would be asked to work overtime even if you were not told before or at a right time a few minutes before you go home and they ask you to work over time. but fortunately the employees at the company are always eager to go the extra mile so being for such a thing doesn't pose as a problem at all. instead we look at it as extra money for self fulfillment.

the most challenging thing we always faced with is the client time satisfaction. that is making sure parts or whatever the customer needs is there on time as there will be shortfalls if material don't rich the customer on time thus resulting penalties.

the challenge becomes even worse when the conditions are worsened by circumstances beyond anyone's control. like the weather for example the parts are unable to be offloaded at the harbour so they can come to us on time for us to send to customer on time.

that sometimes creates a bit of problems and shortages in production targets, thus making everyone run like headless chickens.
but at the end production comes back to normal with no losses as the shortages are recouped.

all thanks to the good management we have that is able to integrate relevant people and resources aiming for the next process to recover so that the delay can be easily assimilated when things are back to normal.
Pros
Always obey safety rules - very strict on that
Cons
zero tolerance for misconduct
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasent
Administrative Specialist,Operations (Current Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State9 October 2019
very busy. I have learned a lot over my 13 years at DSV even if I was scared at first doing new things but I must say it showed me a lot about my self and that if I really put my mind to it anything can be done. I have worked with a lot of Management of my time at DSV and most of them instilled something in me that I will forever be grateful for. I really enjoy working with each and every person at Dsv .When I achieve something that I never thought I could do.
Pros
staff
Cons
not working over wekends and P/H
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Tally Clerk (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal4 October 2019
Would recommend others to apply for job opportunities. I would also like to thank dsv for the opportunity of working and studying via their company. It was my first experience in the outdoor world as well as my first work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of opportunities
Administrator (Current Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape30 September 2019
Working for DSV has been rewarding in a way that an opportunity was given to me without any working experience, but now I've gain a lot of it and i have been capacitated in Excel and Emails and lot of Administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Parker (Former Employee) –  Germiston, Gauteng24 September 2019
Work at warehouse not my thing os I was just doing the thing not happy. But make me to knew more product because we're work lot of the new things are good
Pros
No free luch or gift card
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and helpful
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Jet Park, Gauteng12 September 2019
Management is very helpful. Production target is required and this is good as you push yourself so you know how much ability and effort you have.

Fun environment depending which department you in. Other departments preferred having a braai every three months while others prefer winding down by having a drink every Friday around 3:30pm.

The work environment toughens a persons personality. Disadvantage is that too much workload ñever allows a person to have a chance to explore learning responsibilities of the department you may want to growth in.
Pros
Sponsoring of sport events for employees participating
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dsv a better place to be
driver code 10 (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal3 September 2019
I enjoyed every single day from day one meeting friendly and loving stuff,also good an strict management, there are hardest times as well where we have to work 2x harder than usual due to different loads .but mostly everything are easy you get to learn more about the company, more different job inside like warehousing experience,scanning,how to do your daily envelopes too many to learn at DSV as a worker
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
AR Lead - Risk & Collections (Sub-Saharan Africa) (Former Employee) –  Greenstone Hill, Gauteng29 August 2019
Great place, great people. A place full of intellectuals. Very fun place to work. I grew into a responsible credit risk individual due to DSV strict credit risk management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environment
Driver (Current Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo28 August 2019
DSV is a great company. You get to interact with different people everyday. Just be professional, communicative and patient, everything will work out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Demanding
Manager, Distribution (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng14 August 2019
A typical day at work was always challenging i learned to be to manage people snd task effectivly and also learned to push back. The hardest psrt of my job was to dismiss colleagues.
Pros
Always willing to assist with improving your career
Cons
Demanding and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
driver code 10 (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal1 August 2019
it was good they are professinal it was a good place to be i iwould love to work for them again as a driver . we were a good team me and my manages at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been one experience I'll remember
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  General Assistant28 July 2019
Working under pressure, to always deliver on time; how to despatch and work well in a team; management is mostly fair, very relaxed environment to get the best out of the team; having to search for missing parcels; the environment and the people I've worked with general
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport