Eaton Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 3 618 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Environmental Health Safety (Former Employee) –  South Africa26 October 2018
great company, too much work to do but supportive management. In terms of employing permanent staff from a contract/temporary it is promising but take time and the remuneration is less when you move from contract to permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is very active and productive
Environmental health and safety intern (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng22 October 2018
At Eaton electric it is all about quality and meeting customer demands in manufacturing UPS panels , i have learned health and safety issues and making employees happy as wel as compiling safety files . the hardest part of the job is to always make sure that you solve all the health and safety issues in the company especially maintenance issues in order to improve the environment.
Pros
incentives such as shirts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician
Technician in training (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal13 September 2018
As a technician in electrical engineering one need to be fast thinker, be able to use your head and hands at the same time, be discipline and always courageous. Your mind need to be sharp but your spirit need to be calm, and only do what the national standard taught you from safety of the working environment to plant isolation every time you time or repair on sites.
Pros
Good experiance
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and grate fun, missable working environment
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Wadeville, Gauteng6 August 2018
a day at work was fun we were like family always looked forward to being at work.
Learned how to wire use drills how to hold power tool, safety, how to be ISO compliant
Management was okay.
Workplace was amazing if you needed any help you would get it any kind of advice
The hades part of the job would be no seeing that you doing something wrong for s long period of time then noticing after doing +- 20 job cards
Being able to assist others when they need help and learning from other how to work faster not to make mistakes and seeing a beautiful job once you are done
Pros
getting free training
Cons
doing the job the wrong way
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
coil winder (Former Employee) –  johannesburg(Wadeville)15 October 2017
It was a good working experience working for Eaton. The company offers many opportunities to improve the lives if their employees and families by providing busaries .
Pros
free lunches when reaching targets
Cons
40hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff, friendly and pleasant.
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Ferndale, Gauteng6 September 2017
Excellent company to work for, fair management. Unfortunately due to economic environment the company is being closed, the company was based in Ferndale Randburg. We employed a total of 15 staff members.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Electrical Engineering Trainee (P1) (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal7 June 2017
While I was still a trainee at this company, all workers got along and worked together to reach monthly targets, from sales people down to field technicians.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Testing all range of UPS
Lead technician (Current Employee) –  Germinston17 May 2017
What i like about working with eaton is that its a team building, it help me understand more about my field of studh in electrical engineering, its one Eaton, good ethnics, customer service good produce good and high standards of product
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Supply chain design Manager (Current Employee) –  Germiston, Gauteng22 March 2017
Good company to work for. It is an international company. They are very versatile dealing in Electrical sector, truck and hydraulics. Own university where you can do international studies on Eaton university
Pros
Global company
Cons
Global company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as the previous review
Training and Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng13 March 2017
its a great company to work for, lots of opportunities and support from the Management. There is sufficient resources to support one on their daily activities
Pros
Learning culture
Cons
Too fast pased
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sales Engineer (Current Employee) –  Wadeville, Gauteng6 March 2017
A typical day at work would consist of quotes, customer visits, customer enquiries, following through the order from the pre-sale stage right down to the delivery.

Personally the job has taught patience and tolerance. As I work with different characters on a day to day, its key to be interpersonal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inovation and strategic
Production Supervisor Transformer Division (Current Employee) –  gauteng ,wadeville22 August 2016
I am a team player whom believes in collaboration and working together. I am goal orientated, believe in continuous improvement and operational excellent.
Pros
do business right
Cons
recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Networking place
Export Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng25 July 2016
Eaton is a fantastic place to meet people from different parts of the world.
This helps acquiring a network of clients and being in contact with different cultures

It is however a large coporate and it is rather difficult to get noticed in such a huge pond

A typical day at work will involve a lot of cold calling and quoting to new and existing clients

I've acquired a lot of contacts and have been able to work in Africa.

The hardest part is to juggle with efficiency - it's hard to get things done since it's a large organisation with lots of cogs in the chain

the most enjoyable is the contact with different cultures and the availability of information and products
Pros
Lots of opportunities
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive and having to learn a lot.
maintenance controll (Current Employee) –  Gaiteng11 July 2016
it is a nice company to work for becouse of the challenges i come across and having to learn how to speak to our suppliers on a daily basis , so in all is a gud company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and exposure
SCM Finance (Current Employee) –  Gauteng3 May 2016
A typical hectic day at work with lots of interaction with most departments. Tough team but motivate them to drive themselves to perform better. My direct line manager allows me to do my job and does not micro manage but expects the results which I am happy to deliver
The toughest part is to satisfy everyone including customers that expect deliveries asap and the best part is ensuring that this happens and getting the pat on the back for that as customer satisfaction is the heart of any business

I like working in this environment which involves SCM and Finance and always strive to add value to this business and to be different in my job and not to be the standard SCM Finance person that everyone one else can be but to make a difference
Unfortunately , Opportunities seem to be limited and the salary and benefits is less than I am worth.. Management agree but.....
Pros
Stable environment as this is technology driven
Cons
Salary compensation is below market related for the job that i do and the output derived
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive and Safe place to work in
UPS Technician (Current Employee) –  Wadeville, Gauteng15 April 2016
The job is challenging and I've learned a lot from the way they run their business
Responsible managers.
the most enjoyable part is being everyday with tha new and old unit that we work on
Pros
E star.
Cons
Working under pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging
application technician (Former Employee) –  Kempton Park, Gauteng8 March 2016
I have learned how to take care of the customer, my co-workers were good and the hardest past of my job was not to help the customer in time due to lack of stock, the most enjoyable part of my job was I had a good team to work with at the shofloor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good and able to construct processes
buyer (Current Employee) –  Germiston, GP27 May 2015
Procedures are followed along with their processes .They is ample opportunity ,and inter-company job positions broadcasted .

All departments are inter linked and ,Eaton works together to acheive their goals .
Eaton as a whole is focused on Safety and the health of their employees .Thats what I learaned and follow.
Pros
Learning at a fast pace
Cons
No Job specification
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the work
UPS Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP17 March 2015
I am always punctual a i work smartly.I respect managers and work well with co-workers.The hardest part of my job is when there are certain faults that takes up alot time and can become challenging.The most enjoyable part of my job is the fact that i get the work done on time
Pros
Car Allowance and Petrol card
Cons
No room for improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive
assembling resistors and production (Former Employee) –  Germiston, GP15 July 2014
the job was exciting, because we worked as a team. sometimes indidualy, was able to come up with ideas.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eaton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,8
Based on 3 618 reviews
51,2 K
41,3 K
3692
2245
1207

Ratings by category

3,6Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,3Management
3,6Culture