Edgars Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Found 24 reviews matching the search See all 256 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Sales Assistant - (men's & ladies wear) (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape31 January 2019
first job after school. learning experience of how the workplace is.
store always busy. loved working with the customers coming in and out the store. and learning alot about retail.
Pros
discounts on clothing
Cons
remuneration not so good and very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Limpopo22 January 2019
Working at edgars is secured and a nice place to work and yes we do get benefits when we make monthly and early target which does help and we get staff discount which also helps
Pros
More benefits
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng20 August 2018
Edgars gave me so much exposure to customer service, warehouse environment which equiped me for the other appointment i took, being part of such a big entity gave me so much pride
Pros
staff discount
Cons
hectic work schedule but was done with commitment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was surrounded by fun, active and productive team of fellow employees
Sales assistance (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng31 January 2018
the management was understanding people, and i learned a lot working in the company full of active people. i learned that time keeping and productivity is the most important key to a successful outcome when it comes to business.
Pros
incentives and free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roodepoort, Gauteng13 November 2017
great work place that is fun and enjoyable. the management tteats you fairly and you are given opportunities to further your skills through training and work shops
Pros
overtime
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a team
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gauteng24 October 2017
Working for edcon was great because we learned a lot in different department because there's mistry shoppers who would come unexpected and expert us a least know something different from your specific department. Training was given on a weekly base and we worked as a team and we gave each other good communication skills
Pros
Brought my own lunch
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape11 August 2017
it would be a normal day and quiet some other days would be hectic and busy and getting to come across customers and assisting them. it was enjoyable having to learn to help a customer on a certain garmet that we dont have at the store having to call all stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Eastgate, Gauteng4 April 2017
Sales is challenging but enjoyable because you feel great whenever you assist a customer that he/she purchase the item and always look for you because of excellent customer service you gave, the hardest part is to convince at times you run out of plans that's when I learned to allow the customer make their own choice at times. The most enjoyable moment in retail is during promotion.
Pros
incentives
Cons
Added hours during staff shortage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durban kwazulunatal30 January 2017
Working for Edgars was not that much fun. I was a casual worker and so my salary was not satisfactory. I worked because I needed the money for grocery
Pros
aircondition
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal25 January 2017
again fun because of the people and the different customers you deal with everyday and that all i can say about that company. the management does not respect they staff and they is racial limitations in-terms of promotions.
Pros
bonus and gifts
Cons
under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State12 October 2016
It's a huge company with good management,
fun to work with fellow colleagues,learn each day and coming with ideas,enjoying each day tasks and working so hard to make it happen
Pros
free lunches simetimes
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional place to work in
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kimberley, Northern Cape24 June 2016
the place is great to work in. Everyone was professional from the security guard to the Store manager, when you go to work you know that you gonna assist the store reach it's daily, weekly and monthly store targets. The enjoyable moments was meeting new customers as they always had their opinions about our products and prices, i'v gained a lot of experience for the time i was working there. I would like to take what i learned there and put it to good use.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Edgars customer in anger
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durban, ZN6 January 2016
There was a customer who was looking for a shoe size and he could not find any on the shoe shelves, during that time I was supposed to be in the department , due to sending of the other employees for lunch break. I was told by my manager its urgent to return to the stock room/dispatch to verify our stock for our shoe department, when I got to the department the customer raised his anger voice at me and I remained calm and kept on apologising to him and when my manager arrived I told him about the situation, and my manager also apologised on his behalf and awarded him on a 30% discount on any shoes within the department.
The customer thereafter became much better off , and I assisted him.
Pros
Extra lunch breaks
Cons
Late for work sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun working place
Sales Assistant (Casual) (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng4 January 2016
very productive because edgars staff understands the importance of Team work and team buiding. working at edgars i learned the importance of tolerance, patience,because people are different with different moods and personality. My co-workes are very friendly and very helpfull
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place, comfortable environment
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP19 June 2015
assisting customers and advertising cosmetic products
I learnt how to advertise and promote
management is very understanding though they very strict about time
my co workers are fun to work with we make a good team
hardest part is when a customer is not satisfied and comes and gives you attitude
best part is when a customer is happy
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
disgruntled customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
sales assistance (Former Employee) –  Soweto, GP25 May 2015
it was just ok nothing major can be said the difference is that the employees and management are really cool people, we always had initiate our skills when coming to our department like making sure the rail wa in order
Pros
nothing
Cons
working long hours and not being paid well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not challenging enough for me
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Paarl, WC4 November 2014
I would not recommend a job at edgars to anyone. I did not enjoy working there at all, not just are their hours bad, the pay and benefits are too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work towards customer satisfaction
Sale Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC6 May 2014
Very demanding job
Always maintaining professionalism towards customers
Co-workers were fun to work with
Management very strict
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC9 April 2014
Work with people, selling clothes to the public. I have learned how to sell clothes, Management was good. The was no hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable part was to serve the customers.
Pros
Discount on clothes
Cons
Working Saterdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC4 November 2013
Everyday I looked forward to go work,with the colleagues i had that made the job worthy easy. i also had friendly and understanding management. the working hours were progressive also. It was nice too to work with customers. I had fun and was learning and enjoying everyday, but i had to find school because i had passed my grade 12 that year.
Pros
working hours and good salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport