Edgars Employee Reviews

Found 230 reviews matching the search See all 257 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Casualty (Former Employee) –  Middelburg, Mpumalanga20 March 2019
Edgar's is a very good working environment, because along your work you get to know people,work with different people everyday and that makes the job to be more interesting.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape19 March 2019
I had an amazing colleagues at Edgars there is a team work.I have to work with team and how to creat people at work place.And I had an amazing managers in the world.
Pros
There free lunch when we rich target
Cons
During holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodcutive and fun
Receptionist /Customer Services (Current Employee) –  Gauteng15 March 2019
l learn how to deal to with customers, our management was supportive and our hardest time its when we deal with thief or customer complain that we charge them too much. but I enjoy working there because helping people or to see another person left our have something they want.
Pros
no free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Cellphone Sales Consultant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng5 March 2019
The workplace was what we made it. It always depends on the team that you are on the shift with. The environment was great for learning how to deal with people because we were exposed to different people every day. The hardest part about the job was to constantly be positive even when the customer is being impossible.
Pros
Working with people
Cons
Customer attitude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Specialist retail associate Cellular (Current Employee) –  Oudtshoorn, ZA26 February 2019
I was happy fir the past 4 years but with the closure of stores in 2019 it made me realise I had to get everything was good you get the best salary.Good bonuses
Pros
payed lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its challenging, able to tackle conflict very easy
Casual Worker (Former Employee) –  The Glen,Johannesburg5 February 2019
its such a good experience working with this company.i have learned and grow as an individual i have also leaned to tacle with different challenges on the daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Sales Assistant - (men's & ladies wear) (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape31 January 2019
first job after school. learning experience of how the workplace is.
store always busy. loved working with the customers coming in and out the store. and learning alot about retail.
Pros
discounts on clothing
Cons
remuneration not so good and very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Limpopo22 January 2019
Working at edgars is secured and a nice place to work and yes we do get benefits when we make monthly and early target which does help and we get staff discount which also helps
Pros
More benefits
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Credit Associate (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal21 December 2018
working under pressure,i learnt to work with money and to be accurate,management was poor,the hardest part of the job was to work with clients,i did not enjoy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in progress
Specialist Buyer (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng26 November 2018
senior management run the business like a regular business with no regard to fashion, culture is fine though, lovely training ground for buyers and planners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivation, Team work
SALES ASSISTANT/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Cape Town Western Cape26 November 2018
fn and team building in management and staff i have learnt a lot about customer service management is very fair and nuetral the most impressive part when we each target and get rewarded
Pros
incentives
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but hostile
Retail Associate and Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng14 November 2018
Usually very busy around lunch time and in the evenings when shops about to close.Management are slave drivers with little to no consideration of the employee.The hardest part would be working very long hours without weekends off and very little payment and having to deal with difficult customers and management on a daily basis with no room to grow or advance to atleast permanent position.The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing a satisfied and happy customer after giving them a great service.
Pros
commission
Cons
Long hours little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Service Centre Operator (Former Employee) –  Western Cape6 November 2018
Morning meeting. Cashing in and while awaiting customers ensure station is clean. Ensuring everything is close in order to provide quick service. I always enjoyed the atmosphere of excitement and the energy that was in the shop
Pros
3 days off per week. Staff discount
Cons
Hardly off on a weekend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Service centre operator (Current Employee) –  Table View, Western Cape4 November 2018
Earn commission on opening accounts,helping customer quering accounts,account payments,achieving sales and making products main aim...keeping customers happy is what we do
Pros
Free lunches, free late transport
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 October 2018
to introduce the new arrivals to customers and to show the trending clothes.

it makes me feel so happy to see people get what they've needed from me
Pros
happy mood
Cons
overtimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
edgers
sales and beuty consultant (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape22 September 2018
To work for Edgar's was lots of fun you see different people daily and it give you a fair opportunity to sell you brand to just anyone. I didn't see it as hard work due to the fact all customers walking in to the shop has money its just a matter of closing them on what you want them to buy from you. Should opportunity arises again to be a beauty consultant I would fly like an eagle due to my current sales experience.
Pros
insentives
Cons
over festive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but salary was not as said in the contract
Tiller (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng5 September 2018
Working at Edgar's was very nice and I did my job perfectly , even when the manager requested us to make thank you cards I used to make more than the target.
Pros
You bring your own lunch
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revlon consultant
Revlon Best Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Randfontein Edgars31 August 2018
Beauty consultant, sales, customer service, merchandising, competitions all day to day sales functions. Meeting targets and coming in with stock takes. GWP events and sale launches. Regular counts and administration of sales for the month
Pros
Great Diversity and fast phase environment and developing of strong managers and sales teams
Cons
No career development options at the time to management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng20 August 2018
Edgars gave me so much exposure to customer service, warehouse environment which equiped me for the other appointment i took, being part of such a big entity gave me so much pride
Pros
staff discount
Cons
hectic work schedule but was done with commitment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Casual Employee (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng4 July 2018
Edgars is a good and leading brand in SA and a great company to work for. They have a good reputation in the employment industry and I am proud to have been a part of the edcon group
Pros
professional
Cons
long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report