Edgars Employee Reviews

Found 230 reviews matching the search See all 256 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
beauty consultant (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga17 August 2017
Ï enjoyed working for the biggest retail store which is world known, the environment was alive and the people there because ï believe ïn teamwork,but ï had to look for what ï enduced in my diploma.
Pros
Loved working there
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to work as cashier has opened up new ways to tackle work experience. I am able to communicate effectively with customers.
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lichtenburg, North West13 August 2017
I work at the tills and mostly I was working on the floor I couldn't be able to interact more with the customer service. I would be busy packing cloths.
Pros
More time on tea break
Cons
Short notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape11 August 2017
it would be a normal day and quiet some other days would be hectic and busy and getting to come across customers and assisting them. it was enjoyable having to learn to help a customer on a certain garmet that we dont have at the store having to call all stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wanted to experience working in retail
It was very much an "every man for himself" type of working environment. It was a good learning experience though but for amount of work done,you weren't really compensated fairly. Also job security,nobody's job was really safe.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Visual Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Hermanus13 July 2017
Work is ok but some managers want you to do their work that's unfair working for the company was fun and I would return if they employ more staff and focus on customer needs
Pros
if store make budget you get money
Cons
Work in all departments not getting paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Administrator, sales consultant (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal21 June 2017
Enjoyed working here. great room for growth. hard to get leave if needed. always working weekends. job didn't allow family time. salary wasn't good enough .
Pros
easy working environment, lovely team
Cons
poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo15 June 2017
They knew how to deal wit their employees and they take them very serious ,cause they the ones making all sales and other things possible in the shop.
Pros
promotions and competitions'
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funworking place
Distributor (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape8 June 2017
You need to have good time management, have a good communication skill and laslty put customers first,have a way of making customers special be lovely
Pros
Free luch
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Gauteng8 June 2017
It was a good experience working at Edgar's even though it was a part time job and there was no basic salary.but as it was my 1st job after matric I really enjoyed working there and gaining experience.When you go and look for a job at Edgar's you should take your CV to edcon head office at Jhb
Pros
No
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very fun
Volunteer Casual (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng12 May 2017
All was well even though I was not getting paid but it was a good platform for me to gain experience and knowledge as to how retail industry works it was fantastic
Pros
None
Cons
Yes those red carpet nights but I enjoyed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warn and friendly
teller (Former Employee) –  Port Shepstone, KwaZulu-Natal9 May 2017
the work environment was warm and friendly, therefore allowing me to work productively and to be comfortable when communicating with the customers .
Pros
earn per hour
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and good working place
shop assistant and cashier (Former Employee) –  Durban pavilion22 April 2017
Working at Edgars is very good and enjoyable there's no pressure or stress if you doing your job properly
All you need is to work smart don't be lazy
Respect your fellows and managers always treat customers in a good way
You have to know that customer is always right don't be harsh to customers
Pros
Good working with the other staff and respected manager with good leading
Cons
I haven't seen bad things it always good in my side
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my great acheivement is to convert angry customer to a happy one
caheir (Current Employee) –  KwaZulu-Natal ladysmith21 April 2017
i learned that by being friendly and professional you can overcome defeats, to every client i market and convince, turn them from being angry to happy
Pros
insentives
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Educational and Customer Service
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Greenstone, Gauteng20 April 2017
Enjoyable work environment however the working hours were long and we worked over public holidays and weekends as per roster. I learnt a lot about Customer Service.
Pros
Discounted rates
Cons
Long hours over busy periods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewards i always have fun with this company
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edgars benoni8 April 2017
Its very nice to work for this company but now I want more experience I work for this company for 15 years with my loyalty and integrity Im confidents
Pros
Incentives
Cons
They pay overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  wonderboom, Pretoria8 April 2017
It was a great opportunity for me to work as a cashier at Edgars, I gained a lot of experience and the management was good, customer service was great
Pros
own lunch
Cons
long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Socially adaptable and comforting
retail salesman (Former Employee) –  Tokai, Western Cape6 April 2017
Working at Edgar's was very interesting because it taught me about responsibility and good work ethic in unexpected ways. Therefore I would recommend working there, however, there are certain problems with the scheduled payments among the Edgar's staff.
Pros
Discount on clothes
Cons
Not getting paid on time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Eastgate, Gauteng4 April 2017
Sales is challenging but enjoyable because you feel great whenever you assist a customer that he/she purchase the item and always look for you because of excellent customer service you gave, the hardest part is to convince at times you run out of plans that's when I learned to allow the customer make their own choice at times. The most enjoyable moment in retail is during promotion.
Pros
incentives
Cons
Added hours during staff shortage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
SPECIALIST PLANNER (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng3 April 2017
weekly meetings with team ,for feedback, on the weekly performance to budget.
Monitoring the forecasting of stock inputs.
Meeting with suppliers monthly
Seasonal reports on product and personal performance
Pros
product exposure
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work productive, advance training, upskilling, staff empowerment. Growth
Floor Manager (Current Employee) –  Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal30 March 2017
Learning process, they give vast understanding, of operations training, training in all department to be flexible, give staff empowemet, training in management level.
Cons
Unpayed overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport