Eskom Holdings Limited Employee Reviews

Found 1 127 reviews matching the search See all 1 163 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only interested to learn new things
Learner Artisan (Current Employee) –  King Sabata Dalindyebo, Eastern Cape4 December 2019
I am 31 years old guy I have been working for eskom for more than three and learn a lot of things in the field such fault finding on the line in medium voltage and low voltage. I am interested to know new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a big company that has maney employees and benefits and very fast growing opportunities,with lots of guidlines, standards and procedure
Senior clerk (Former Employee) –  Vaal Triangle, Gauteng3 December 2019
I enjoyed working for eskom, I have learned discipline, responsibility , punctuality, team work and and all administrative experience, giving you all necessary skills that is required by the job you are doing,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to read and reply
Service representative (Current Employee) –  Vosloorus, Gauteng3 December 2019
It's a great company to work at and they got the best benefits and offer employees room to study and grow. They have a lot of trainings to enhance your experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was helpful
Technician in Training (Former Employee) –  GOU (Gauteng Operating Unit)3 December 2019
It was a very fruitful experience for me, I learnt a lot. From Plant Commissioning, Plant Protection using DigSilent, Zone Protection and performance Work on Live work. MV and LV. OHRVS. Metering, cable fault location and cable jointing.
Transformer maintenance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and fun
Vacation Student (Former Employee) –  Germiston, Gauteng2 December 2019
People are always willing to help the inexperienced engineers. Job can be stressful but there are experienced engineers on hand to help when they can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive safety focused company
Senior Technician (Current Employee) –  Koeberg Nuclear Power Station, Western Cape26 November 2019
The work is centered around refuelling outages. There is not much generalists activities btu more specialist type roles. Maintenance does the maintenance while Engineering focus on Engineering. These silos often are the cause of misalignment within the organisation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People who employ their families
Mechanical Assistant and Store-man (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape26 November 2019
Take note that if u missed use Eskom employment equity by employing ur families the production of work place won’t balance and by employing ur friends and families work will not be done cause family and friends will take advantage of u on job wise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad company
general worker (Current Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng21 November 2019
Join at your own risk.
You will get paid and sacrifice your life.
This place is crawling with sociopaths.
Very bad management and people pretend to care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture
The work culture is a past paced; sometimes stressful and a relaxed environment. A company which encourages growth and development to its employees, and provide training when required. Is sensitive to employees safety at all times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very stressful environment required attention to details
Vendor Management Officer (Current Employee) –  Sunninghill, Gauteng18 November 2019
Much fun to work for the company get to learn more about the role of the job and how it applies to the whole company. Helps you develop customer service and improves your communication skills. learn how to analyse data and advise the customer based on what you see.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work under pressure to meet deadlines
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 November 2019
Buying is very interesting job but you need to plan and organise your activities accordingly and work with your End users so that you can meet deadlines. Prioritize your work. Report writing skills is very important make sure that the person that is going to read your report understand everything is included in the report and you read it first before you submit to secretary. Procurement processes know them it must be your bible so that you can advise users with something that you understand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace where every day is a different challenge
Manager - Electrical Operations and Maintenance (Former Employee) –  South Africa13 November 2019
Challenging yet very exciting environment to work in. The company cares for its employees and encourages individuals to grow within the company providing many learning opportunities. Working with many individuals from different backgrounds teaches you that each individual must be treated with kindness and respect at all times no matter what position they hold. A typical work day in the operational environment is very unpredictable as the dynamics change on a daily basis but it empowers you to think on your feet and make decisions at the spur of the moment in order to optimize resources effectively to minimize system down time while always putting safety first. Best part of the job is working with a close knit team that you can always rely on when the chips are down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new learning experience
Storeman/ Radiation Worker (Former Employee) –  Koeberg Nuclear Power Station, Western Cape13 November 2019
it was the best place to work at. i have learned new skills everyday from engineers and all staff, the experience was awesome, the classes was fun....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning Environment, lots of benefits and a great salary
Operations and Maintenance Zone Manager (Former Employee) –  KZN10 November 2019
Work was always exciting for me as an operational manager, every day presents a new challenge and required application of mind and heart. I have learned most of my skills at Eskom a place where you can truly test your theory you know so well. I had great, wise, compassionate managers, with experience, they grew me up, they were there for me when i was down. As a manager myself, i believe in servant leadership, leading by example and living the company values. The work place is mostly relaxed as i plan all my daily work. Safety is paramount, so you know you going home alive!!. Achieving targets are tough though due to constraints but i made sure i managed it properly and i have achieved. The work place is friendly and less competitive. The biggest delight is watching a customers expression of excitement when they receive electricity for the first time or a compliment from our customer. The other is to receive that award from the CEO for Customer excellence, i got that.

I truly love Eskom, it values and all it does that goes unseen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng9 November 2019
Good company to work for.
Infrastructure projects development and execution
Learn large projects.
Friendly workplace culture
work from 7am to 5 pm with end of month 2.5 days off and friday from 1pm off.
Hardest part of job is the number of meetings.
The whole day is enjoyable if you are productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eskom
System Engineer (Current Employee) –  Matla, Mpumalanga7 November 2019
Great Work experience.Good for technical people.Supportive structure.Goal driven.High paced.Great Benefits and salary.Great learning environment.Good Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Midrand, Gauteng6 November 2019
A very productive work[lace with very assisting intsructors. i learned most of everything i know there. Everyone had enough time to learn at their own pace. Exciting workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking environment
WASTE MANAGEMENT (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng4 November 2019
Hardworking environment
Working with different cultures
Strategic planning
SHE agreement
Integrated work culture
Implementing change
working Union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Electrical technician (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng4 November 2019
Eskom is one of the good company in South Africa, I was exposed to electrical commissioning, testing, fault finding and maintaining electrical apparatus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a relaxed place of work but sometimes stressfull.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga4 November 2019
Everyday have its challenges, I have learned to be patient and know that there are different kinds of people out there and you need to fit in every situation and to be always calm in whatever situation. Each and every workplace have its challenges. The hardest part of the job is when you are dealing with a difficult customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eskom Holdings Limited. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 163 reviews
5402
4435
3260
238
128

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,6Salary/Benefits
3,7Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,7Culture