Food lovers Market Employee Reviews

Found 73 reviews matching the search See all 88 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its s nice place to work for very professional and they encourange u to grow there is in house trsi img
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Eikestad mall stellenbosch capetown8 October 2016
I enjoyed working for this compa y but mow want to concentrate on fine dining it is a good place to learn new things because u move from department to department helping others
But then i can not grow with thst knowledge unless u move and use it elsewhere
Pros
Free lunch and vouchers for shopping
Cons
Growth is limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well productive working place
Warehouse Controller (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape13 September 2016
i gained a lot in working in this company. as it was my first job rather than tutoring the students it gave me a chance to explore the day to day running of a well establish enterprise. as an auditor to be i also saw the necessary control in place and that gave me a motivation to keep studying toward my degree
Pros
off on sunday
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
shelf packer (Former Employee) –  Cape town parow31 August 2016
It was very nice working for the big company like food lover I enjoyed my self working as team food lovers food lovers food lovers
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
10
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they working place a very tiely sirious who takes pride in getting work done
packer and Receiving (Former Employee) –  pinetown18 August 2016
Im willing to achieve place work done to put great effort to any Available position . and my working place a in order cleaning updated properties .
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we never had those
cashier (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape7 April 2016
we had to stand the whole day, that it got to a point where I needed to see a docter because of how my legs and feet.
and sometimes we wouldn't get paid the right salary, the manager would forever have excuses to pay us our full salary and we only had off days on sundays.
Pros
we had to pay for our lunch and we were not allowed to buy from the shop
Cons
i worked from 7 am to 4 pm sometimes from 9 am to 6 pm
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Store Manager/Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Brackenfell, Western Cape4 March 2016
A typical day at work consists of going to the market to purchase and negotiate for fresh fruit and vegetables if needed. Rest of day is daily management, receiving stock, purchases, packing of shelves, customer complaints;
Retail Store position includes long hours - mostly 12hours a day.
Dealing with difficult customers is a daily challenge, but also a good learning curve.
Pros
Work with different customers
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very produtive
ADMIN MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, NW5 November 2015
I liked what i did and were i started and were i ended. the salary that i got i could not even pay the basics. i started as an normal worker and builded myself up as manager. i like learning new stuff every day
Pros
No free Lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy and productive
Receiving Manager Food Lovers Market (Current Employee) –  Boksburg, GP27 October 2015
A good company and learning experience within thew retail industry.
The Aspects of working in the reciving department is the knowledge of the different departmenst annd requiring of the stock for each department.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Cash Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  WC8 June 2015
Each day at work I took it day by day. The management team is ambitous people. My co-workers really looked up to me, very respectfull and loved working with them. Payroll is fun to do, only if the manager doesn't sign off overtime and now the staff comes with queries, then I have to take the blame as always. As for the banking section, I have a passion for working with money, dealing with the bank directly. I love keeping me options open.
Pros
none
Cons
8 hours daily at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a very productive store.learnt the different departments in the store.it would be a wonderful to store to be in but there is limited prospects
admin clerk (Former Employee) –  Durban, ZN19 March 2015
its a fancy upmarket store with many special , different cultures
and products ..its a family store

no benefits for the 10yrs experience.thats the dissappointing part ..
Pros
friendly store
Cons
long and extra hours with no future benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Backer and sales person (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC20 August 2014
We use to work very long hours like overtime everyday.
I learned a lot of things in a very shot period of time different things.
The management was fine but they could not let you go when you have a problem outside the workplace.
Being the only person working in that specific area and having lot of customers to attend to and no one to help you.
I enjoyed serving my customers.
Pros
we never worked on a sunday
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enioyed working with this company
driver (Former Employee) –  Bryanston, GP1 October 2013
It was nice to work @ Food Lovers Market under the Good Management,always surppotive to the employees.
Pros
Free lunch and transport
Cons
overtime paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report

See more Food lovers Market reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Food lovers Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,5
Based on 88 reviews
524
423
321
213
17

Ratings by category

3,3Work/Life Balance
2,8Salary/Benefits
3,1Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,5Culture