Highbury Media

Highbury Media Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate People, Exciting Workplace, Staff comitted to excellence within all depertments
Divisional Sales Director (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, South Africa25 October 2019
No 2 days are the same. Surrounded by passionate professionals with a common goal of producing the best content in the best print and digital properties in South Africa.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for experience
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape20 June 2019
I started off my ad sales journey at Highbury. I immediatly felt welcomed , the office has a warm feeling to it . Relaxed , laid back , getting rewarded for hard work , competitive environment . BUT with all if those good things we got paid a VERY LOW SALARY.
overall i’d say if you’re looking for purely experience , start at Highbury .
Pros
Relaxed culture
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional interview process
Assistant Editor (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape1 June 2019
The entire interview process was unprofessional, from the first phone call to setting up the meeting for very next day.

Was offered the position to have it only revoked when I balked at the meagre wages, or rather exploitative wages, also being pressured to except the position immediately over the phone and start immediately. Most workplaces of a decent calibre do not run like this and was very telling of the environment.

You get what you pay for, work there only if you have to but with an exit strategy. Was a waste of parking money and time.
Pros
None
Cons
Corporate culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly office space, low salaries
Rather not say (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape25 April 2019
The people who work here under management are lovely and friendly, there are good vibes in the office space. However managers here could do better in terms of actually managing their teams and paying attention to the individuals and their needs. Employees are just a number to the higher-ups and salaries are very poor, benefits are close to none, at least for junior and entry-level jobs. However, this company is a great place to start and progress your career; moving up in the company in terms of your position is not impossible, and if/when you leave, it looks great on your CV. You'll also be part of one of the best media houses in Cape Town, which is a special experience.
Pros
Welcoming, comfortable office space
Cons
No pay for overtime/weekend work, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall feeling
HR (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape31 August 2018
Highbury is the type of company that recognises those who put effort in their work.
Yes they do have a very chilled vibe but not adapting to that culture and going over and beyond the call of duty
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The kind of work is great but theyre very cheap and exploitative
Photographer (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape14 June 2018
The kind of work is great but theyre very cheap and exploitative. They fill as many positions as possible with qualified people as interns. Offering them a meagre R3000 a month whilst working them as slaves for months on end. Very little room for advancement as seniors often feel threatened by younger employees who have more skills and ability than them
Pros
Interesting work
Cons
Terrible management, cheapskates
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape11 April 2018
I enjoy working at this particular company, very productive and fun work environment, everyone is friendly and willing to help one another.

I would like to gain more experience somewhere else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company in Media Sales
Sales (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape11 February 2018
Passionate Driving People
Great fun enviroment but with a serious to it when needed
i learned alot of the sales game here and it is this knowledge that I take away with me to further my career in other fields
It was good learning exsperience with a hands on approach from the CEO andf Sales Director
Pros
Good earning potential
Cons
No Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Highbury Media reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Highbury Media. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 10 reviews
53
44
31
20
12

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
2,2Salary/Benefits
2,7Job Security/Advancement
2,7Management
3,7Culture

Highbury Media Reviews by Location