Hilton Employee Reviews

Found 74 reviews matching the search See all 11 029 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Place to work
Guest Relations Officer (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal19 March 2019
So Much culture
diversity
Great learning and development programmes
blue energy
believes in growing talent
ability to choose any career path with in the brand
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
banqueting was much fun
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal28 February 2019
it was amazing meeting new people every day making sure that they have the best service in the hotel . i was also willing to learn new things and respecting others
Pros
free break fast and lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good spot
Assistant Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Sandton, ZA11 February 2019
Good place to have on your CV. nice environment but difficult guests thanks to loyalty progamme. Opportunities to learn different skills and some room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsure
chef de partie (Current Employee) –  cape town15 December 2018
Morale amongst staff is relatively low. No motivation from management which has a negative impact on operation
have to ouah to do your best and probably have to carry your team
Pros
free lunch staff discount
Cons
lunch breaks depending on operation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hilton Weiner
Sales (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal4 December 2018
It was a fun workplace, I was young and it was my first permanent job. I worked hard and was given management responsibilities very soon after I was employed by them.
Pros
Excellent company
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive well experienced
waitron (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal3 September 2018
It helped me know and grow as an individual about hospitality and to love what you do. Because it takes 31days to adopt to a certain environment therfore I loved it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Waiter (Former Employee) –  johnannesburg11 May 2018
the company is very organised but the agent that was hired during my employment was not. tribalism was very high, i could spend almost two weeks without going to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great company however there's favouritism
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal26 April 2018
Employees are treated unfairly. For the same error done by an individual they don't treat it the same. Favouritism is very high. The time to start work is very clear and considered but the finishing time management don't care about it. No matter how much of a hard worker you are, you don't get acknowledgement from anyone. Putting the guest needs first is never a priority or rather it depends who's doing it. I put all and I mean all of my hard work but I still believe I was treated unfairly compared to others.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No overtime pay. People are treated unfairly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair and fun work place
chef and waitress (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng7 March 2018
-
-Team work and integrity
-fair and equal for every one
-Hard thing about the job was that it gets over loaded and that increases work pressure and long hours
-enjoyed the environment and the management
Pros
free lunch and goods
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inservice Training
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Hilton, KwaZulu-Natal5 March 2018
This experience was during my in service training. I had spent 6 months gaining knowledge of a new property. I have been exposed to various departments throughout my time being there.
Pros
Lunch
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Hillbrow, Gauteng14 February 2018
Excellence in progress and productivity,a company that listens and respects its imployees,together with flexible working conditions on daily basis with strong values
Pros
Fixed time lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Johannesburg North, Gauteng (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 January 2018
It's a good company when you get overtime they pay you.They give you chances to prove yourself in different departments.A bad thing it's when your contract expired
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
7hoo to16h30
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Trainee (Current Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng7 January 2018
Hilton Hotel is a great place to learn and sharpen culinary skills. the staff is great too, there's a perfect understanding of team work. It get really busy but you just have to love the rush. The system of productiveness, the professionalism and home like environment is just exceptional
Pros
Tea break and lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exquisite decor and simplified work environment
Shop attendant (Former Employee) –  City of Johannesburg, Gauteng3 January 2018
This was an experience like no other, not only from the store itself but from the characters with whom I worked with. The store, beautifully set up with exquisite decor and elegant shop styling. Their status quo distinguished it from other clothing stores (Markharms) I had previously worked for. Impeccable service to it's customers and sustainable benefits to their employees. I really enjoyed myself working for this establishment, hence I would not hesitate to refer anyone to apply for a position at any of their stores for I believe their way of taking care of their customers and employees is honourable to mention.
Pros
Tea and biscuit, with occasional sponsored lunches
Cons
Expensive locale
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive nice enviroment
Reservations Agent (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal27 November 2017
Protea Hilton has been the highlight of my career the respect of human dignity they provide the best Guest service and always in search of excellency
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Overtime paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 years with the Royal hotel Durban
NIGHT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Durba16 November 2017
As a Front Office Manager had many and great challengers
Day to day running of front office
Staff control and standard procedures in place
SOP and checklist
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was amazing
Chef Trainee (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape14 November 2017
I was stunned, I was granted the opportunity to train as a chef, without going to chef school. I trained with great chefs, masters.
I was taught the best skills ever which I still Carry with me.
Pros
Free food
Cons
No pay, because I volunteered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  South Africa17 October 2017
Support career development and rewards good work
Brand standard is maintained in all departments
It is a loving place for guests hence always it is busy and teaches how to work under pressure and solving queries
Pros
Medical aid and lunch provided
Cons
No accommodation provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salon coordinator
Salon coordinator, (Former Employee) –  Durnacol, KwaZulu-Natal28 September 2017
- Salon coordinator, Massage therapist and Nail Technician - doing treatments, managing the therapist. setting up shift rosters as well as commissions. Most enjoyable part would be working with people and different types of customers .
Pros
working with people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy working environment with dedicated staff
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg15 August 2017
Everyday is different, one does not know what will enter the door next. We have over 500 vibrant scholars of all cultures and back rounds for whom we care for medically(illness, emergencies, sports injuries), as well as emotional and psychological support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hilton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 11 029 reviews
54,7 K
43,3 K
31,9 K
2541
1547

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,6Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture