Hilton Employee Reviews

Found 89 reviews matching the search See all 12 761 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Trainee chef (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal7 January 2020
Good diversity, family friendly and customer friendly. Must be hard worker at all times and dedicated to your work. Sometimes you work extra hours which is a pain most of the time and you don't get paid for working extra hours...but if you have a passion for what you do, you don't mind working an extra mile
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
HOUSEKEEPING AND FRONT OFFICE (Former Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng6 January 2020
At Hilton it is a very fun place to work at because they make it fun to actually come to work and by that the stuff is also friendly and they make you feel at home while at work, the stuff always gets included during special events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Junior Cluster Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng6 January 2020
Hilton was my best working experience ever, The team is united and always had your back. Management always motivated and pushed staff to do better. Hilton has its own university that is online and they constantly require you to do various online hospitality courses to keep up with trends and policy. I would go back to Hilton any time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ay I don't want to be a good person I did like some of the things not everthing
Poter (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal19 December 2019
It was nice but then people they were getting fired left right and center that I did not like at all if Protea Hotel offers me to came back for other hotels I would go
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Hostess and Waitress (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal19 November 2019
it was a fu workplace. at times it was extremely stressful and at times it was relaxed. has day and night shift. would recommend for anyone with a passion for hospitality
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good enviroment i wish they would pay us enough for a living
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Western Cape31 October 2019
i wish they can improove by lookingafter the staff.it was a nice enviroment to work in.the staff is nice the management not realy nice but not bad also.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beside salary and short times I was happy working there
Barman (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal23 October 2019
I was working for Hilton Hotel Durban under an agent called adcorp blue. I used to work long hours when it busy days wanting to make more money. Short times was our problem otherwise and our agent offered transport when working late.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chefs work
Internship (Former Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng15 October 2019
Working with passion keeps me going. I am a team player and a leader. I face every challenge as it comes and i don't leave a problem unsolved. Learning is apart of my journey to become a great chef.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, you see yourself growing
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 October 2019
You are given an opportunity to subscribe and study on their worldwide online university. You are empowered to excel and provide respect and great service to all guests and also to your work colleagues. Hilton is just the real world where you understand the true meaning of hospitality. I enjoyed working there
Pros
Comp breakfast and lunch
Cons
Fair hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hilton is a very good compant
Junior chef (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal13 September 2019
Working hours was okay , each person had their 15 minutes tea break and 1 hour lunch time. I have learned to miltask and have a sense of egerncy. when we have lot of functions its get relly busy.
Pros
staff carteen
Cons
enough lunch time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Hilton is not bad though
Jnr Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng5 September 2019
The staff at the Hilton Hotel if you arrive and you hold senior position they team up on you and if you tell them to do things they take their own time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I missed Hilton a lot it's amazing they follow the labour law and ensure all team members feel at home
Hygiene officer (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal14 August 2019
Once understand clear that you here to work for international company with benefits , when you wake up in the morning you feel like you going to work is like you running your own business any decision you make with the team or guest must be one that will make your business grow or your team member feel cured
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Switchboard Operator / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape21 March 2019
This was the best thing for me as i learned so much in no space of time. I was so happy to be given the opportunity to work there, experience gained came in hand
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Normal hours with over time sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Place to work
Guest Relations Officer (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal19 March 2019
So Much culture
diversity
Great learning and development programmes
blue energy
believes in growing talent
ability to choose any career path with in the brand
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
banqueting was much fun
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal28 February 2019
it was amazing meeting new people every day making sure that they have the best service in the hotel . i was also willing to learn new things and respecting others
Pros
free break fast and lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good spot
Assistant Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Sandton, ZA11 February 2019
Good place to have on your CV. nice environment but difficult guests thanks to loyalty progamme. Opportunities to learn different skills and some room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsure
chef de partie (Current Employee) –  cape town15 December 2018
Morale amongst staff is relatively low. No motivation from management which has a negative impact on operation
have to ouah to do your best and probably have to carry your team
Pros
free lunch staff discount
Cons
lunch breaks depending on operation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hilton Weiner
Sales (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal4 December 2018
It was a fun workplace, I was young and it was my first permanent job. I worked hard and was given management responsibilities very soon after I was employed by them.
Pros
Excellent company
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive well experienced
waitron (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal3 September 2018
It helped me know and grow as an individual about hospitality and to love what you do. Because it takes 31days to adopt to a certain environment therfore I loved it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Waiter (Former Employee) –  johnannesburg11 May 2018
the company is very organised but the agent that was hired during my employment was not. tribalism was very high, i could spend almost two weeks without going to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hilton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 12 761 reviews
55,5 K
43,8 K
32,1 K
2647
1695

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,6Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture