Johnson Controls Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search See all 5 296 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Manufacturing Manager - Rosslyn Plant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng26 March 2019
In control of and managing the following different department.
Meet established objectives in operating systems.
In charge of the departments: nissan interior and outside contracts; nissan jit seat assembly; maintenance; quality; process; engineering and production.
Pros
Medical aid, Cell phone, Pension fund
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair and straining
Material handler (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng20 March 2019
it was a difficult job for me because the person that i was working with was a female and she was dating my supervisor so most of the time they would go out and leave me with most of the work.
Pros
it was not far from where i live
Cons
it was straining
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Financial Accountant/IT SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape8 November 2018
Lots ofChallenges
UNIX, MFGPRO, Logistics
Good management team
Great workplace culture. Friendly people always willing to assist
Learning the JIT system
Working with OEM's with IT issues
Pros
Benefits, Good Team
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great organisation to work for who believe in work and employee well being.
Country Security Manager on the IBM account (Former Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng19 September 2018
Dedicated regional management team. High level involvement in all tasks associated wth the account. Focused on client satisfaction and overall well being.
Pros
Good work culture
Cons
Delays in mplpementing plans
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun working place cause we had so many forklift drivers
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng8 May 2018
We have work for this company under contract basis and our contracts stipulates very clearly that we are not going to be taken on a permanent base so it was don't even have words to describe had I felt about such situation.
Pros
When working over time
Cons
When doing stock take
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Gauteng30 January 2018
Johnson Controls introduced me to the facilities management industry. Their systems and processes were thorough and training was excellent in terms of facilities management industry and health and safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hard
Operator (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape23 January 2018
Johnson Controlls was a lovely place to work. We that has worked there build a strong bond between each other over the years we were there, but sadly we had to close down due to lost of bussiness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Senior Logistics Coordinator / Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape8 August 2017
Had to leave due to a bad divorce that I went through. Great team. Good integrity. Long working hours but worth it. HSE is the best in EL I think.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company good experience
HVAC Technician (Current Employee) –  SA26 July 2017
Learned a lot. Company provides different work sites work experiences. Good to learn and to do our skills. Helps us to improve our skills. Conducting training programmes. Very good platform for an employee
Pros
Free accomodation
Cons
Healthcares
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good leadership that provides an emotional healthy work environment this crops back high productivity
Senior Refrigeration Technician. (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng3 July 2017
Toolbox talk opens each day. Discussions about the unsafe conditions, acts that the team observed the previous day. Jobs get delegated to members, the plane takes off.
Pros
Good performance vouchers sometimes.
Cons
Travelling to countries not very safe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
inservice training (Former Employee) –  Rosslyn, Gauteng7 June 2017
The company offers a variety of opportunities and it enhances one's skills. A very well established company to work for and expand knowledge.
Managing workflow process
Keeping the SOPs in check
Excellent management in place
The company provides employees with a lot of opportunities to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Seat builder (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng29 May 2017
It is a busy environment which require focus and dedication from an individual.

I work hard when under pressure because always i know the importance of my job requirement so i can survive well during a typical day at work.
Pros
None
Cons
Requested to work over time at some days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at JCI
Accounts Receivable Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Milwa1 May 2017
A typical day was speaking with customers and interacting with Management and co-workers. A nice place to work. I worked with great individuals that provided me the skills to move forward in my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun as well as helpfull workplace
Graduate Trainee (Former Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape5 April 2017
A typical day at work would be one of hard work and fun.Colleagues are also there to help when you cannot complete everything in a day.Culture of hardwork and dedication to job.
Pros
Perfect working hours
Cons
Take very long to employ employees as permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, cultural diverse
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng8 March 2017
Johnson Controls is an international company with good employee benefits and has diverse culture among the employees and clients. Through all the challenges I faced it has been a good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Company to work for
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng20 February 2017
We take pride in making Johnson Controls a vibrant, rewarding place to work. Our secret? The power of our people. Our leaders are authentic and passionate. They embrace new ideas, foster collaboration and make our employees’ experience the best it can be. And our workforce includes a diverse group of creative talent from around the world. Learn more about why Johnson Controls is a great place to work
Pros
Free lunches for staff if there is work shops and trainings
Cons
Normal working Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No teamwork
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng27 October 2016
There was nothing nice about this company. The management is cruel and have no remorse and does not respect people's views. When you oppose the company way of thinking you get fired.
Pros
No Free lunchs
Cons
Long Ours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape1 October 2016
Very good company to work for. Paying people well. Company with benefits.
They develop their employees to get better positions inside the company.
Pros
free meals, when doing stock count.
Cons
work shifts, 8 hours per shift. weekend is time and a half from 12-2 double time
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Excellent Environment
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Pretoria; Gauteng22 July 2016
Working at Johson Control was a great experience if it was not for the retrenchements operation I would be happy to be still working for them but I don't have a problem of facing new challenges as Johnson Control have help me gain the skills of over coming any circumstances
Pros
free lunch and rewards if we reach our quarterly targets
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High job satisfaction, low monitary satisfaction
Electrical CAD technician (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal1 June 2016
A typical day at work would be tea in the morning followed by review of ongoing projects, Electrical/Control system design, Electrical/Controls Drafting on Autocad, Consultation with peers on current projects, Lunch, Review of current projects with Electrical Manager, More drafting/Design, Afternoon Tea, Project save/backup, home.

I have learned : Industrial Air conditioning, Industrial automation, Industrial control systems design/programming/implementation/testing/commissioning, Electrical Engineering, Electrical Drafting, IT, Building management systems, HVAC, Health & safety, Fire systems safety, Project management, ethics,

Management : Approachable, understanding, professional, Leader

Co-workers : hard working, highly technical, highly skilled, inspiring

hardest part of job : None, If you love what you do then nothing is difficult.

Most enjoyable part of the job : Successfully finishing a project on time and exceeding customers expectations. To see the end result of that which was visualized materialize.
Pros
braais & Team building events
Cons
undervalued
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport