L'Oréal

L'Oréal Employee Reviews in Johannesburg, Gauteng

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 3 581 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Environmental Engineer Graduate (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng18 June 2018
Very busy environment.
Communication is very key to a successful relationship.
The culture is not so great in the manufacturing sector, not entirely ethical.
There's no program in place for graduates.
Free products once a while.
Pros
Free products
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Area Manager
Area Manager - ROC & L'Oréal (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 March 2018
Just finished my studies and qualified as Beauty Therapist with ITEC international worked at company for short wild and wanted to do mass market and was head hunted by Signature Cosmetics
Pros
Luxury
Cons
Wanted to work in Mass
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a fun working environment but has a lot of challenges I terms of working hours
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng5 October 2017
keep your head down and do your work, make sure your at work on time and that you reach your monthly target.Know your products and how to sell.Keep a good relationship with customers
Pros
incentives
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Learning experience
Admin Clerk/ Data CaptureJj (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 August 2017
The best management team,easy adaptable enviroment through values and visions.teamwork experience,celebrating the archievements worked for in the mont
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Synergizer Marketing DADM (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng3 May 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Loreal however the salary was not enough. Great work ethics. Fun and professional work environment.
I would recommend working there if salaries were better for the hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and driven
Salesman (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng10 March 2017
The work done was target driven and at times high pressure however this taught me that persistence in chasing customers would always almost have great affects.
Pros
Great incentives
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and enriching
Junior Commercial Controller (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng9 May 2016
Loreal has a very flexible workplace. Enriches those who are willing to go out there and grab the opportunity to become great
Pros
flexibility
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but a great place to groom thick skinned leaders
Junior Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP11 July 2015
This is a get thrown in the deep-end, sink or swim place full of passionate and competitive people. with a lot of tough love oriented and goal driven managers.

Fun to plan and execute new product launches and attending the launch events.

not people oriented
Pros
great place to learn
Cons
no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay workplace
business controller (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP19 May 2015
its a normal workplace, its a factory and there are normal working hours. hardest part of the job is managing or obtaining information from factory staff
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Challenging workplace
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP14 May 2015
.Insuring sales targets are achieved in entire service area
• Staff Management, Motivating, Training and Developing
• Stock and NSV Ordering, Level Management and Merchandising
• Insuring current focus is correctly merchandised and clearly visible and
up to date with correct artwork
• Negotiating extra promotional and eventing space within a store / mall
• Arranging/Managing promotions and customer events
• Building great working relationships between Retailers and L'Oreal
• Day to day Reporting, Business analyses and Business awareness
Pros
Self management
Cons
Time Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive.
Creditors Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP9 December 2014
Work was extremely busy however productive. Learned how busy beauty industry can be. Management/co-workers: some friendly, helpful, others nasty. Hardest part was not enough time in day. Most enjoyable getting to know people.
Pros
Product sales to staff at hugely discounted prices.
Cons
Distance travelling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP22 October 2014
Working for Lancome was great, I got to see the creative side of me, I got to meet up with different people and could solve any problems that came my way.
Pros
Got fee make ups
Cons
Reaching the target
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ran the salon in Stattafords in East Gate
Somatologist (Beauty Therapist) (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP27 March 2014
it was good experience, but not a lot of freedom to make it awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful Working Environment
Junior Packaging and Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP17 January 2014
I get to work at 7am. I thereafter attend a production meeting which addresses our daily business issues. I then set about resolving issues that pertain to my department by motivating and inspiring co workers to achieve the tasks at hand so that targets are met.
I also analyse samples of components that are brought in from suppliers in an attempt to improve the quality of supplied components.
Pros
Free products
Cons
Very Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L'Oreal as a company is good to work for.
HR Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Woodmead16 September 2012
L'Oreal is a rapidly changing company. There is a lot of changes, i.e CEO's, Management as well as there is a high turnover (16% yearly).

There is a lot of stress when we have Zone visits which happens quiet often in the year. One can't plan her/his work because too much work and minimum heads in the divisions.

Everyone is stressfull at the end of the day. I also feel that for me there is no growth. There is no clear communication from other divisions. Benefits are very good, can't complain. I enjoy working with my manager a lot. She is a leader and a mentor. She is brilliant and her door is every day open for discussion. I have learned a lot from her and sometimes I think she is the reason I'm still working for L'Oreal. She is my inspiration and she keeps me going.
Pros
we get staff discounts on l'oreal products, the company contributes 55% towards our medical aid, the provident fund is good, petrol allowance, share dividents
Cons
we work long hours especially during zone visits, work overload, no hope for increased headcount in my division, i dont see myself growing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more L'Oréal reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at L'Oréal. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 3 581 reviews
51,6 K
41,2 K
3556
2157
1125

Ratings by category

3,7Work/Life Balance
3,9Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,7Management
3,9Culture