LIBERTY

LIBERTY Employee Reviews

Found 50 reviews matching the search See all 210 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Braamfontein13 January 2020
Liberty is a great company to work for. The company looks after its employees and give them a chance to further their career. Its an easy company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Sourcing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Braamfontein, Gauteng26 November 2019
Dont trump toes, you will be side lined. Dealing with difficult customers on a day to day roster.

Short deadlines to execute long items.

Achieving the highest savings within the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal14 September 2019
Good place to work. Job is monotonous and not that easy to get to the top. Not that easy to change departments.

Good place to get experience and knowledge on the finance industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning, low earning
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng14 August 2019
In the beginning its easy. They help you sign up all of your family and friends and then leave you on your own to try and keep people on the books. Perhaps agency is better but i would not recommend joining a franchise. Very little support along with the constant lapses and commission claw back make this job for someone who is young, has good contacts and support and nothing to lose. Its a great job as you help others but unfortunately it becomes difficult to consistently earn a livable salary.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Commission only and claw backs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
Wealth Advisor (Former Employee) –  Century City, Western Cape5 July 2019
Liberty has given me one of the best working environments i have worked in for a very long time. The leadership is very motivating and the environment makes you feel like you can achieve anything.
Pros
More time with family
Cons
Commission only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn
Sales Coach and Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Johanessburg8 April 2019
Liberty allows you the freedom to learn, the information is readily available for you on the intranet and the onus is on you to find it.
Some of my achievements within the Learning & Development space have been:
o Within 3 months of joining the Coaching team, I was asked to assist in the Induction of new recruits with in ECM.
o Moved on to Training liberty products for new recruits’ full time.
o After which I began training Compliance and systems.
o Played a role in rolling out of New Training Programme.
o Designed a new coaching form.
o Created RE5 learning guide and facilitated classes to up skill sales floor.
o Assisted in rolling out of a new system and creating the learning material.
o OHS representative for ECM department.
Pros
Easy to find useful courses on line
Cons
No room to grow within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i usually go to old age home and orphanage home to do some work. make make them food and cut their hair since i dont have much
quantitative analytical team (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape27 November 2018
normal days was like any other day as i only worked there for a month but with my experience in there. i was keep learning new thing. as i learned excel there,how to manipulate the data,how to interpret the data and how to present the data on power point. so i cant tell much about typical day as i was keeping learning new things in my time
Pros
free lunch and breakfast
Cons
too much work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Type of employee
Financial Adviser (Former Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State24 November 2018
I am a personable individual with proven time management skills that are developed from ongoing casual business activities.
I am a highly articulate individual, who is able to work with diverse cultures.
I would like to work in organization where I can apply my human, business, technical and management skills on a daily basis.
I am a self-starter and I have excellent interpersonal skills.
Pros
Great team player
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, professional and loved working at Liberty
Corporate Sales and Advisory Specialist (Former Employee) –  Century City, Western Cape23 October 2018
My days were filled with either meetings, giving training or doing calls with agents and visiting Brokers. Management meetings, strategy sessions, conferences. Every day was a learning platform, from new courses, to different training strategies. Ongoing online examinations to keep with industry standards. High pressure job, meeting targets and working as part of a dynamic team to reach team goals as well as individual.
Workplace culture was amazing - mutual respect, team-building.
Job was a bit stressful and work often had to come home and emails done in evenings from being on road all day.
Was difficult at times dealing with difficult clients and brokers or agents, especially when it came to complaint handling, but was all part of the job.
Loved the people, my team was amazing, my manager was outstanding and motivating, on a personal and business level
Pros
Travel, constant learning courses, conferences, good package and benefits
Cons
Long hours, being on road all day meant after hour admin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company world class human resources practices
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg30 August 2018
I started my work career at Liberty Life. I was able to progress to a new role on average every 2 years due to its size. Many opportunities for growth and development.
Pros
Career and personal growth opportunities
Cons
Affirmative action
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Braamfontein, Gauteng21 February 2018
liberty was full of life and culture. it embraced each and every employees needs and personality. Great environment to work in with very friendly people and pro active managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity driven company
Medical claims assessor (Former Employee) –  Braamfontein, Gauteng26 January 2018
Liberty is a good company to work for with a high standard of work ethics and values. The working environment is good and supportive towards the employees.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Less recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng10 January 2018
Day would be how you planned it as i was flexibale working as a financial advisor. Learned a lot management is great but the company lacks lead support to new advisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Production Analyst (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng2 January 2018
Great place to work but not enough career growth within the company or teams. Management styles need to improve as more younger people get into the work space.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liberty is a very big company, have to work hard to get things done
Oracle Developer (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 November 2017
It's very challenging environment with lots of teams and stakeholders, most of the Technology is outsourced, which I struggled with since I'm passionate about writing solution , rather than testing vendor solutions with multiple issues daily. Working long hours with no compensation is also a main issue provided we need to take care of ourselves to deliver daily, health is very important.
Pros
Lunch on the weekends
Cons
Very Long hours up to 14 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Junior Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  Braamfontein, Gauteng9 November 2017
The fun work place is being stifled by the older generation who have decided that things should be done a certain way. Even when an executive suggest that we have more flexi-time senior management is not in agreement and so do not accommodate the execution of such ideas.
Pros
You meet some great people within the generation Y & millenials
Cons
No working from home, even when you're in between projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse workplace
Section 14 and RPAR Administrator (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng29 October 2017
Liberty is a very great company to work for. The culture is very diverse and people are free to be who they want to be. The stuff is very productive and Management is good.
Pros
Great events
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a productive place
sales consultant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng12 October 2017
its a fun environment yet serious about achieving target while making the work place fun. They always try to make work a fun and workable by driving incentives which will make it easier for u to enjoy doing the job you are being paid to do. The management is easily approachable which makes it easier for an employee to ask for assistance when needed and the hardest part is working extra hours to achiev target if you are behind target.
Pros
incentives
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
sales consultant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng3 September 2017
Learned a lot regarding delivering on 100 % quality
Importance of being productive on a daily basis
Meeting and exceeding targets set by business
Importance of team work and working towards achieving one goal
Pros
informative
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great workplace
Communications Consultant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 August 2017
Heritage and legacy are big in Liberty's culture. I enjoyed how they take care of their employees' wellness and allow flexi hours; opportunity to work from home and learning opportunities such as bursaries and sponsored learning.

It's a pity that the management style doesn't allow one to grow into a bigger role with more strategic responsibilities; and less execution level responsibilities. One ends up not putting their wealth of knowledge to good use for the benefit of the company.
Pros
Great benefits; great culture; good employee wellness environment
Cons
Lack of alignment; working in silos; no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LIBERTY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,9
Based on 210 reviews
581
462
338
215
114

Ratings by category

3,7Work/Life Balance
3,4Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,7Culture