Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  City of Tshwane, Gauteng13 March 2018
This job was my first taste of the hospitality industry and as you can see from my resume, it was a great start and I never looked back. Learnt a lot of values that I still carry with me till this day
Pros
Discounted Hotel Stays
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and willing to learn
Banqueting, Housekeeping and Waitressing (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng11 March 2018
Working for gush company was a once I a lifetime experience which taught me a lot I management soils and workinv euyh people since it was my first time I the working environment
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Linen hand (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 November 2017
It nice to work at westin hotel and we have an excallent customer service. We supply and obtain our guests by providing them with their needs at anytime
Pros
Free education or staff training
Cons
Minimum hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Front Office Manager
Assistant Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape24 August 2017
Management was very involved and training was given regularly to achieve the combined goals of running the business smoothly.

I managed all the operation of Front office on a daily basis.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
To corporate and did not enjoy not having the opportunity to inter act with guest
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Hanger Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durban, South Africa22 August 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Element Air. The team was always in good humour and we got on well. The work life balance was great and I had a really good time working at Element Air.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sheraton was a good place to work,especially with the other colleagues and the service culture.
Account Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng17 May 2017
Working at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel has allowed me to to learn about quality service to clients and giving the client a sense of belonging,my experience was really a good one, management was always so caring and wanted everyone in the department succeed in what they do, they always strive for better and excellent service at all times, the challenges I have faced really groomed me to handle situations in different ways like owning up and taking responsibility to issues,resolving problems in a professional manner and making sure that the client is satisfied and happy at all times,client service and team work was a very important part as opposed to service culture,to treat clients with respect and dignity no matter how challenging it may be. I enjoyed some good times I have had with Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.
Pros
In-house job opportunities
Cons
Under paid employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and able to meet new people
Banquet Waitress (Current Employee) –  Somerset13 March 2017
Working as a banquet waitress enables me to meet lots of new people. This made the work environment a little more fun to be at. I am also able to learn new skills, such as portioning foods, to guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplac
Commie chef (Former Employee) –  Banqueting kitchen11 March 2017
The westin is a nice place working at u learn alot of differnt things. Like how to work with other poeple working with poeple of different cultures wich is super fun
Pros
You pay for lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emvironment
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 February 2017
Westin Grand hotel was a nice place to work with. I've learned a lot like gaining people skills.only problem was the long woirking hours that can reach 14hrs
Pros
transport free to work early shitf
Cons
long hours like 14hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy environment
Internship (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape11 January 2017
The convention sales department that i worked in has a very welcoming and accommodating team. They are very helpful and it made learning what i had to easy
Pros
Great working hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free meals
BANQUETING ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape7 December 2016
Great hotel to work for, room for growth. Flexibility in working and learning from other departments.Hotel offers training programmes to encourage growth in its stuff members.
Pros
free lunch, free transport
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work is hard and fun
Bakery (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape20 November 2016
I did enjoy my job as much as I could there is each employed giving his own opinions regarding to his job and his responsibility. my opinion there was how powerful I'm and follow my instructions do my best to provide a good services for my company to grow
Pros
there was lunch time
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work place thar offers excitinng opportunities
Hospitality Management Trainee (Former Employee) –  Cape Town31 October 2016
The establishment offers several opportunities to staff members. The experience provided is worthy and beneficial to the establishment employees. Every day is a day whereby you learn something new.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fun environment
chef (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape10 October 2016
Its very unfortunate the company closed down. I would prepare dish for tourist and customers coming to the Paulaner Restaurant. Diverse cultures coming together and respecting each other. Management would motivate us and keep us informed about any developments happening in Westin Grant Hotel and Paulaner Restuarant. Hardest was when we were told it was closing down. everyday was enjoyable there was never a dull moment.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
It closed down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and learn
Pastry CDP (Current Employee) –  Cape Town harbour, Western Cape15 August 2016
everyday is hard ,to keep time ,always aware of everything happening ,also play a part in give ideals.keep time no limit on learn and give ideals it time to learn
Pros
no
Cons
9 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
porter, doorman and barman (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng4 May 2016
good working environment but the salary is not market related.
i enjoyed working with team members and the management.
satisfaction of guests was my greatest moment.
Pros
tips
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Trainee chef (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 April 2016
educational place of work and inspiring management. Learnt a lot of team work and co-workers are pleasant to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun and Exciting workplace
Duty manager/ Assistant Front of House Manager (Current Employee) –  Western Cape28 February 2016
I've been with the Westin for almost 9 years, it's a wonderful place to work at with great team players, a fast passed environment which I love.

I do anything from staff rosters, payroll, dealing with guest complaints, cashing up banking and meet and greet VIP guests amongst other things.
Pros
Free transport, 50% discount on food and beverage, staff hotel rate
Cons
Working on Sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Temp Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, GP4 January 2016
It was a highly stressful working environment, chasing the sales and trying to reach sales targets to get commission paid.
Pros
Free breakfast
Cons
Racial differences
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun to work in a hotel,
porter (Current Employee) –  1 lower long street cape town23 December 2015
when the hotels busy everyone professional as soon as its quite then we can breath an relax till the wave of business hits again, its fun an its all about team work
Pros
free lunch, getting home early if u work early shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 15 959 reviews
57,4 K
44,8 K
32,5 K
2725
1618

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,7Salary/Benefits
3,7Job Security/Advancement
3,7Management
4,0Culture