Mazars Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search See all 355 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Accounting Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape1 December 2019
A lot of deadlines and can be a bit stressful as you work for multiple partners at a time.

Very good work/life balance and they try to make you feel part of family. T
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Trainee (Current Employee) –  Gauteng10 October 2019
Very fast paced environment. Constant overtime. Great employees. Learned to work and cope under pressure. I enjoy being around the employees. You make great friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, great learning
Audit Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape5 September 2019
I enjoyed my time working for Mazars, the experience I gained on JSE listed entities was valuable. The management are fair and the Cape Town office has a great work environment.
Pros
Learning, fair, good exposure
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential for perfection
Creditors Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape28 August 2019
Mazars has been blessed with some exceptional employees. They are hard working, pro-active, dedicated, loyal, some would say, the gift that keeps on giving.

It is those very candidates that made staying at Mazars worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Audit Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal1 August 2019
A typical day at work involves ensuring clients are satisfied with the relevant engagement being performed as well as ensuring that colleagues are well aware of their target for the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning Environment
Credit Controller (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Century City, Western Cape30 July 2019
The people are great. Family kinda vibe. Great values and mind set. Team work is definitely something they value and everyone is treated like an asset regardless of position.
Pros
Flexi Time
Cons
Your colour shoes must match your belt lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace.
Trainee Accountant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 July 2019
Productive fun workplace. Learned how to apply skills learned in university. There are regular team events , enjoyable part is getting to earn more about new clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Audit Partner (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape27 November 2018
Long hours, only focus on the stuff you do wrong, forget all the positives you do even if clients are happy. Culture has changed a lot of the years. When I 1st started it was such a family environment and now it has become quite corporate with management hardly interacting with staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
audit supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 June 2018
Great learning environment with training and natural advancement for staff. Great colleagues who work together as a team which makes it a great place to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Progressive
Articles Auditing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape30 May 2018
Working at Mazars was challenging. Your commitment and determination were especially challenged due to the long hours worked as well as the volume of work. However, this taught me how to work hard and provide quality work efficiently and effectively. You were taught the value of time as most days clerks would be working after hours and weekends to ensure a quality product that would satisfy the clients. At Mazars customer satisfaction was very important and management always went the extra mile for their clients. This went for their clerks as well as managers would assist clerks and train them and not just provide them with answers. They found the development of the clerks very important. As hard as Mazars works, we play hard as well and were always rewarded with social events with all staff including CEOs and managing partners. Therefore working at Mazars created a well balance professional.
Pros
Personal professional development and free social events
Cons
Long hours and working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible employer
Assurance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape8 May 2018
The company is very flexible when it comes to working hours which helps in maintaining a work life balance. I was quite impressed by an opportunity to grow that came my way in less than a year into the job; the manager on jobs I had been allocated was impressed with my work and had felt I was not challenged enough and the department I was in would not allow me to reach my true potential. This is a sign of how growth of employees is considered and is of importance to management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very friendly and helpful.
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng21 March 2018
updating cashbook, purchase ledger, sales ledger, VAT summary, reconciliation of bank accounts and control accounts. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent Partners. Hardest part was adopting to new accounting system-teething problems and sometimes meeting deadlines. We sometimes had to work overtime. Worst part was dealing with auditors.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Working overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough, Challenging but fantastic training environment
Audit trainee (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape31 January 2018
The workload is high and long hours, with low pay, but the pursuit of the Chartered Accountancy qualification is the end goal.
The clients can be less prestigious than at a big 4 firm and less rewarding to work at but the learning environment is very impressive. Management can be a bit more difficult than at a bigger firm and less reasonable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very work driven.
Trainee Accountant (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal8 January 2018
Auditing is auditing, i have learned a lot from the people around and management.
The deadlines are tight and stressful but it is what makes you a better person and stronger worker.
Proper planning is required to meet deadlines and keep management at bay.
i enjoyed my time at the firm i have developed into a good auditor.
i have been able to do relatively big audits on my own.
Pros
learning every key item required to complete an audit.
Cons
deadlines and clients demands.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
up and coming firm
Client Financial Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng1 November 2017
Great place to work, Mazars South Africa was on growing substantially over the past few years and was an exciting firm to be working for. Its a pity i couldnt continue working for them when moving over to Australia.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 cultural environment
Audit Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng26 September 2017
Johannesburg office and Pretoria office are completed different. as the JHB tends to go more corporate and Pretoria is more family orientated.

Benefits are bad, Learning environments are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good audit training environment
Trainee Accountant (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal20 July 2017
Serves as a good training environment for someone looking to complete their SAICA articles. The company also is quite accomodating with those who require study leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Audit clerk (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal28 June 2017
audit based work, management extremely harsh, biased and discrimintive. colleques good to work with. management not approachable therefore difficult to speak to
Pros
cant think of any
Cons
poor management skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment
Audit Senior (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape28 March 2017
Working at Mazars provided me with a great learning experience,as each client presented its own unique challenges and there was plenty of room to grow and learn.

The nature was very deadline and budget driven, with plenty of review and feedback on performance which ensured that one is constantly improving.
Pros
Young, dynamic environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Trainee Accountant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape2 March 2017
This is inherent as a trainee accountant but it is a really stressful environment. Though you receive good support in certain areas, one is still prone to burning out because of the very long hours .
Pros
Secondment opportunities overseas
Cons
Long hours, intense office politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mazars. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 355 reviews
595
4130
385
224
121

Ratings by category

3,3Work/Life Balance
3,4Salary/Benefits
3,5Job Security/Advancement
3,3Management
3,6Culture