McCain Foods Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 389 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  McCain Foods-Springs,South Africa26 July 2019
I just wish McCain could subsidize medical aid and pay 50 % of the total contribution.At this stage it’s difficult to add dependents in our medical aid covers because McCain don’t help us at all with monthly contributions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
general worker (Former Employee) –  South Africa29 May 2019
It was nice to work there to learn new things everyday an learn how to work in team cause we have help each other sometimes an to know how to be in time
Pros
N/a
Cons
18hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Trimmer and a Packer (Former Employee) –  Srings1 March 2019
Its a great company but it doesn't pay that much and its well productive company.I was a teimmer,trimming from broccoli, butter nut and baby marrow. I was enjoying my job though we worked long hours,even on Sundays. Iam a hars worker because we rated by the work done by our hands,so i could make A R1000
Per week for myself. So that could make me afford atleast most of the things. Thank you
Pros
Free Vegies
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and very good learning experience
Apprentice Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng7 November 2018
A great working environment
Very good people to work with
Awesome learning experience
Safe to work there
Always finding helpful HR and managing teams
Pros
Lots of training
Cons
Not many permanent positions available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Marble Hall, Limpopo22 May 2018
It was a good experience working for such company. The salary its more good to take care of the needs in many households. We earned due to how much work we've managed to do. The capacity of the stock determined the salary of each person.
Pros
Free
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work place
Punnet Assembler (Former Employee) –  Springs, Gauteng16 February 2018
Typical day at work is always productive, I've learned to work in a team. Management must see more potential in their employees. We have a fun work place culture. The hardest part is to see our company loss money and the enjoyable part is meeting our dead line on time.
Pros
Paid overtime when worked
Cons
Extra hours when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
operator (Former Employee) –  Delmas, Mpumalanga14 January 2018
Other than the long term casualty, this company was great to me learned a lot, the management was great. Team playing staff .leave and three days off a week.great company
Pros
Safety
Cons
Long term casualty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
general worker (Former Employee) –  Springs, Gauteng11 December 2017
Working at Mc Cain Foods South Africa, was a very good experienced. After working with This company, My interests in the Engineering field grew stronger.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Productive environment
Storeman/Driver (Former Employee) –  Delmas, Mpumalanga24 November 2017
Its a work place that is demanding of your effort to make production a success, has very strict time management and it teaches you how to convince yourself to even harder than you thought you would.
Pros
Highly productive keeps employees on edge
Cons
Take time to give permanent posts/jobs..always part time working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Material and fun workplace
Casual Worker (Former Employee) –  Springs, Gauteng18 October 2017
The management know how to lead their teams. The energy and hunger of working was in that company. The was a unity of people who love to work together the was team spirit and fun to work with those kind of people who love their work .
Pros
Bring your own lunch
Cons
Long hours 6to6
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packing
general worker (Former Employee) –  Springs, Gauteng9 January 2017
Working for McCain was more fun cause i had a lot of understanding people and working as a team leader with a good salary i have learned so much there to be more positive to myself and to the others even i was working long hours
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
long long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Committed to quality
Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  George31 March 2016
Dynamic , innovative and progressive company with good values and committed staff.
Opertunities to grow careers and self development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too good anymore
Farmers Clerk-Debtors (Current Employee) –  Delmas, MP23 October 2015
You being watchdog,I did learn to work with difficult customers
management is so strick, listens and do nothing about your concerns.
Colleques have no problem at all just anomal routine that one likes the cold weather and other one hot.

My job is very well just when you don't get the information you want it becomes a problem.and when they don't approve in time for the payments is even worse.

I become very much happy when all is into place, work on time and meeting dead lines is the most important thing.

But now that we have the privacy is more exciting and releaving, unlike when other candidates will look at your PC for information that is not for their eyes.
Pros
Sometimes we got rewarded for working extra hours
Cons
We sometimes had to come on weekends to do stack take from other departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
simple things should not be complicated
Controls and Instrument Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Delmas, MP10 February 2015
dealing with power outages at this stage in Africa can be unrewarding. They create so much more pressure than that is what is needed. Things fail due to this and sometimes you have to be flexiable in your approach and creative.
Pros
Taking the simple things and making them work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production of french fries
Electrical Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Delmas, MP25 September 2013
• Technical

- AC & DC Drives
- Uninterrupted Power supplies
- PLC`s & SCADA systems
Allen Bradly contrologix 5000
& Intouch (Wonderware 2000)
- High and low voltages (Transformers & motors )
- Soft starters
- All instrumentation equipments
- SAP system
- Networks and Telemetry systems
- Variable speed drives

Management

- Interactive management
- Problem solving
- Presentation skills
- Leadership and motivation of subordinates
Maintenance of machineries and management of 18 staff.
Planning of Shutdowns
Involvement of Line 2 upgrade.
Pros
Lots of experience learned.. Support from management
Cons
Long hours of work..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Engineering Buyer / Store management (Former Employee) –  Delmas, MP2 July 2013
Loved working for the company but because of circumstances I had to leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid generalist Human Resources consulting experience, Business Acumen
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  East Rand21 February 2013
Directly leading, managing and taking ownership of the overall provision of generalist human resources strategic initiatives, services and programmes whiles promoting a culture that endorses safety, quality, leadership and performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company making good food
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Springs, Gauteng29 May 2012
I work as a Quality Inspector and have gained product analysis skills, working knowledge, understanding and application of HACCP and GMP principles through working at McCain.

I have also gained skills and knowledge of the FMCG sector and Food Production and have developed my behavioral, leadership and networking skills.
Cons
working shifts and sometimes holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more McCain Foods reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McCain Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 389 reviews
5118
4124
387
228
132

Ratings by category

3,4Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,3Management
3,5Culture