Metrorail Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search See all 58 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always to be taken extremely seriously
Junior Level Management (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape10 September 2019
Always take performance as serious, it is never a joke of an environment. Not an environment to be let your guard down nor an environment where health and safety aspects should ever be over looked. It is a problematic environment, with high expectations on lower level employees. Criminal activities are ALWAYS an aspect to be extremely cautious of and staff do need to take incidents very seriously as well as their well being into their own hands. Developing internal friendships is not advised and keeping ALL concerns strictly on a professional level is of utmost importance at all times. High risk situations are very easy to come by and precautionary measure should and must be adhered to at All times. Contingency planning is not 5 star nor is it an environment where staff safety is of high importance. It is an environment where Income is placed on high priority with little resources. It is not a performance accredited environment especially the expectancies on staff on ground level. Racial slash backs are high and cultural differences do play a big role. My advice is to always watch yourself and to never allow personal concerns to cross over the boundary line. Know your Rights as well as reporting structures. Don't allow yourself to become a target. Staff are Exploited, not remunerated correctly and Internal procedures are not always followed correctly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have to make sure the service is runing no delays and the passangers receive the right information before hand and be welling to go an extra mile
Administration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Western Cape24 August 2019
Its a blessing to work for this company because you have time of rendering the service to the fellow Community and Neighbours even thieves. I mean the City of Capet Town is in your palms hand you must just be abound by the Company rules .the day just past by without even know because you doing it with passion and love, the good thing is a teamwork you end up having a second family while you are on duty which is a good thing.well to come to management its difficult because some were given and some went to school for it.the hardest part is to lose one of us due to train accident/train trap or robbery as I said we are family. WELL to come to the last side when everything goes as planned and we exceeded the budget we all get what is call GATES HARING whereby everybody get slice of cake in this case a couple of Rand if not THOUSANDS those were good old days I still miss the staff infact everything including the job its self
Pros
good service for the day
Cons
train delays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad working conditions
Train Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Wits Metrorail11 August 2019
For the almost the last 7 years the working conditions were very bad,manually train authorizations causing human errors and while all facets in the working environment literally falling apart.No support basis when a serious mistake has been committed except been send for psychological evaluation.
Pros
None
Cons
Many years of manual train authorizations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
ENGINEERING TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal18 November 2018
I work for metro rail as a SIGNALLING TECHNICIAN, basically i fix the electronics side of the equipment that assist in running of our trains. I am a six day work, 12 hour shift with night shifts. I do fault findings on the rail equipment on a daily basics, inspections and reports. the hardest part of my job is the long hours and the risks that comes with the pressure, when attending to breakdowns the commuters wants to hit us and they swear at us daily. the best part is that i get to use my mind every minute and the fact that this is a specialized field you get to learn new things everyday.
Cons
long hours, night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-level discipline working environment
Metro Guard (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape23 October 2018
At first, the work environment came across as demanding with an extremely low margin for error. It was probably at first, due to my low ''job fitness" (if you will), but I found this environment difficult to get used to. Fortunately there were extremely rigid managers, who were hard enough on me to want to succeed and more importantly, cope with the challenges of the environment
Pros
sufficient breaks
Cons
extreme working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes it is productive
Train Operator (Current Employee) –  Ekurhuleni, Gauteng17 July 2018
Stressful in a way that most of the people you transport are rude and they often smoke inside the train and you become a secondary smoker. Management does listen to employees suggestions
Pros
Long break
Cons
Salaries disparity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking
Human Resources Administrator (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng1 July 2018
Eager to work under pressure and grow faster in the organisation.Doing extra duties when required.Working closely to my superior.working for company was interesting how ever contract got to and end.
Pros
own meals
Cons
24/7 a day and 365 a year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
field researcher (Former Employee) –  gauteng pretoria8 November 2017
my work was very interesting, as i have learned a lot. working with commuters is like working with community members, as you learn their behaviour. when they are angry and frustrated about the
transpotation.

the challenge was when we had to be paid, it took us more than we expected to be paid and that really frustated us. But beside that our supevisor was okay.

workplace culture: it was team work and offcourse it was fun and good, as you are not scared because you are not alone

the hardest part was finding yourself in a situation where are frustrated and i have to make them calm and reason when trains are late or stark out of no where.

most enjoyable part, is when intervewing a happy commuter, the one who is understanding and willing to cooperate
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and productive workplace
protection officer (Current Employee) –  Gauteng31 August 2017
it a nice working environment. i worked long hours some times if needed but not working under pressure i do supervision. managing and supervising contractors.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
lonlojoursg j
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Chief Admin (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng22 August 2017
Was a very good company to work for. Job security en financial security and benefits. Was place for advancement in company. Good benefits e.g. pension medical aid etc.
Pros
Overtime normal working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security Officer & Ticket Axamner (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal13 July 2017
I wasn't a Metro'rail stuff but I worked there as a ticket assistant. Actually I was a Security but my company allocated me at Metro'rail Stations. Sometimes I worked in trains to guide passengers from any criminal offence. This work was a stressful one because we must attend different & difficult people. We worked six to six hours.
Pros
No
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Stock Controller (Current Employee) –  Braamfontein Gauteng3 July 2017
*Typical day stock taking
*Team work supportive and supervision
*Ubuntu is the culture
*Attending meeting and deal with difficult colleagues and management but manage to maintain good working environment
*Enjoyable part of my Job is when everything I implement and suggest become resourceful and benefit the company and when the stock taking was a success with no complications or struggles
Pros
Free luch the
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull, filled with politics
Technical Manager (Current Employee) –  KwaZulu-Natal10 May 2017
stressful, filled with politics, no support, no provision of resources, financial and budget constrains and corruption, unions run the day to day operations, employees not prepared to work
Pros
none
Cons
no resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
responsible for maintenance and repairs of traction and reticulation substations and overhead reticulation and traction lines
electrician (Former Employee) –  Durban13 April 2017
Responsible for safe working isolating equipment for maintenance and repairs in substations work on overheads and assist linesmen with isolating when nessesary. when supervisor is on leave or sick take over supervisor duties
Cons
call out, standby 24/7 permanent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer care most important part
Access Controller and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cape Winelands, Western Cape2 April 2017
at metro rail you work with commuters all the way so being mentally feet and being able to put your difference a side will help to keep the customers satisfied most times.
Pros
time to rest is there
Cons
normal hours and long if theres a need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  Gauteng,driehoek6ni23 February 2017
day to day duties that are simple to do. Challenging "team work" amongst the supervisors yet I managed to work to work with both of them.With minimum Supervision from Management yet we managed to run the depot with efficiency. I learnt to work without involving myself in politics of this government entity.What i liked most whilst working there was going home early (15h30) everyday to see my family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer centric
customer service inspector (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng6 February 2017
My job entails, reviewing station based employees adherance to company policies and procedures, to promote customer satisfaction and recomendations to systems changes to improve on customer satisfaction.
Pros
improvement in the systems
Cons
being seen as policing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive working place
Access Controller (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 February 2017
It was fun working there dealing with customers and interacting giving them information about trains and platforms to travel. Someone who love customer can work there
Pros
One hour lunch berak
Cons
8 hours of working
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive
acces controler (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape3 February 2017
metrorail a good place to work for just cant handle the early hours little time at hme also there no furture in company sick of being the positions.
Pros
love area
Cons
long hours stand up to early
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with commuters
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  GAUTENG14 January 2017
Metrorail its a very big transport compony dealing with millions of commuters on a daily basis having many department as access control I was checking tickets and stop and checks amd and providing information as to when trains are on time and delaying
Pros
Travelling to other provinces
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metrorail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 58 reviews
518
415
315
26
14

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,5Salary/Benefits
3,7Job Security/Advancement
3,2Management
3,4Culture