Microsoft Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search See all 6 299 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great but i was an intern so don't expect much
Intern (Former Employee) –  Sandton, Johannesburg.6 December 2018
I was an intern what do you expect ?
It was the release of windows phone and in turn their marketplace
my job was to populate that marketplace with games. but as an intern you dont do much and you dont earn much, non disclosure agreements are common
Pros
free lunch and awesome work enviroment
Cons
microsoft
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be a great company to work at if the management wasn't to paranoid
Partner Sales Account Manager (Former Employee) –  City of Johannesburg, Gauteng12 November 2018
Some of the best and most integrated software and cloud solutions on the market. Customers love the solutions and it is very rewarding to provide them with solutions.
The learning curve is steep as you are expected to be an expert from day one.
Pros
Great solutions for customers
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng30 October 2018
Little to no advancement, there is hardly any support for junior staff members and no opportunities of training and up skilling. Little diversity in culture and ideas. Stressful environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work. Stressful environment, no for the faint hearted
Key Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg28 September 2018
Great company to work for, training development and kpi of high calibre. Enjoyed the company culture. Contract workers remuneration is minuscule as compared to permenant stuff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture and Collaborative environment
Solutions Sales Professional (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg25 August 2018
Great company. The culture is very welcoming and they create a positive work life balance for employees. The most enjoyable part of my job is the opportunity to learn every day whilst being constantly challenged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Graduate Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 August 2018
Good working place, enjoyable culture. I was an intern at the company back in 2015 and I enjoyed working with them. Management is the best and understanding at all times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon environment de travail
Chief Information Officer (Current Employee) –  South Africa24 July 2018
Entreprise innovante et transformante pour ses clients et le monde en général
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Internship (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng17 July 2018
I gained a lots of experience and how to work with different kinds of people. I learnt to work under pressure and I had a limit that I had to reach in no time, but I did everything that was expected from me till the last day of my internship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
S2B Intern (Former Employee) –  Gauteng10 July 2018
*You get to Learn a lot.
*Enhances skills and experience.
*Sometimes hectic and Long Hours required.
*Very productive place

Learning never ends here, get to do a lot of Microsoft certification at company cost.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good learning experience
Intern (Help desk technician) (Former Employee) –  Pinelands, Western Cape8 May 2018
The place was a great working experience professionally has were taken to trainings regularly to learn more about the company and the product offering.
Pros
We received laptops, data, cellphones and airtime
Cons
Challenging trainings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking culture
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng12 April 2018
Great people but lots of red tape and politics.

Overall a great company to work for if you are prepared to be committed and diligent in your work.

Definitely a good place to learn and be exposed to different ways of working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most stimulating and challenging company to work for.
Partner Skills Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng1 March 2018
A typical day at work was a constant re-prioritisation, with many meetings, mandatory training, and a culture of ongoing learning. Time management was crucial but it was a great pleasure to work in a culture where you were measured objectively, and could work from home or the office.

The workplace culture is professional, diverse and enjoyable. From the MD to temporary contract positions everyone was professional and treated with respect.
Pros
Employer of the year many times during my time at Microsoft
Cons
Long hours and pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape15 November 2017
This was a great expirience as we were also given their devices to work with and for our personal use.. We worked as a team and we had people guiding us. This was a learning curve as we learnt new things about the technology
Pros
Free data and lunch
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth and exposure
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng29 September 2017
Daily administrative function of 50 people in our team
Compliance management
Operational Administration
Travel and event management

I learnt leadership skills as a Exec Administrator reporting to different levels within corporate ladder meeting and managing expectations overall in a fast paced industry.
Pros
Growth
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Procurement Manager (Former Employee) –  Bryanston, Gauteng21 August 2017
Microsoft is a multi-national organisation that serves the ICT industry in South Africa. This organisation has great work life balance and open to learning and development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge international company but no room to grow
B2B Regional Lead and Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape26 June 2017
I had no opportunity to advance in my job. I worked very hard to build our client base but was never rewarded for the long hours and hard work. I had not received a salary increase in three years at the time of leaving the company. I was retrenched with immediate effect and was not even given 24 hours notice.
Pros
Enjoyed training aspect and dealing with account managers
Cons
No advancement or opportunity to grow, No company benefits, No salary increase for the last three years of my employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained a lot of experience
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng27 March 2017
Although I only worked at the Microsoft Online Store for a short period of time, I was exposed to office settings within the work world and gained a better understanding of business culture overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Technical Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rivonia, Gauteng1 March 2017
great company to work
Casual working environment
gou foundations of my career as it was first job
Management was great and supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Central tele qualifier (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng17 January 2017
Work day at Microsoft are aways pressured.
I have learned effectiveness in my work
Management is good
Very cooperative relationship with co-workers, great team work which makes one meet his or her target.
Interaction with different people and knowledge that the most enjoyable part of my job and help people.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
1hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Systems Development, Technical Support (Former Employee) –  JHB, Gauteng14 December 2016
This one of the good company that makes a lot IT company run smoothly and no problem at all times there for the company give training at their own offices each month so that they can keep their routing on the right track at all times
Pros
yes free lunch and travel allowens
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Microsoft. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,2
Based on 6 299 reviews
52,9 K
42,1 K
3919
2224
1131

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
4,1Salary/Benefits
3,5Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
4,0Culture