Murray & Roberts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pipefitter
pipe fitter (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga12 April 2018
This is the place of a good works and for the person who is working very hard. I work there and I develop my skill I did not want to live that company
Pros
Contract
Cons
6 to 6
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funny
Hose Operator (Former Employee) –  Limpopo9 April 2018
I have lean one thing to this company u have to work very hard.And leave political out site focus on what u are hired for to provide your family.I was so disapoited when I got retrench.
Pros
No lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production driven,timeouos deadlines set to completion
gen.foreman (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape29 March 2018
Great company to work for,although came in on contractual basis mostly,management supportive in individual decision making,remedial works on-going.A typical day at work would involve liasing with workforce(labour),sub-contractors,consultants and professional teams on a adhoc basis.Executing work sequences in line with plans,drawings,any changes or remedial work to prioriotise.
Workplace culture is always helpful and supportive,educational in instructing safety practices and implementing safety on site
The hardest part of any job would be not necessarily getting the proper support from management or unco-operativeness from workers or sub-contractors.Hence,disciplinary actions,warnings and penalisation come into play,or corrective measures taken.
The most enjoyable part of any job would be when all parties and role players come together to action and execute a job well done,meeting deadlines,within budget,with available resources and time constrains.
To be able to step back and see and appreciate a job well done and give each other the proverbal 'pat on the back' in support and recognition of each others ability and support in challenging moments.
Pros
subbies functions etc site braais
Cons
Long hours and having to meet deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company that believes on safety of the employees.
Rigger Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lephalale, Limpopo6 March 2018
Wonderful company to work for. I learnt so many things. The job was challenging and the work staff was helpful.

The company increased my experience by teaching me new things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Lephalale, Limpopo14 February 2018
I learned alot by murray and roberts i worked for a long time by them they had good benefits and they payed well work under no pressure but they were strict
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
potential,realiable and implementation,fabricating structure and maintenance
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg10 February 2018
Punctual,work safe all time and to be productive with potential
I learn developing and fabricating structures
Good Line-management
Murray & Robert Cementation accomodate culture at working envorment
Fabricate(Hard job)
Maintanance
Pros
Yes
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Riggin Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga5 February 2018
*day-day challenges
explore different culture diversity
*different leadership
*information rolled-out on-time
*shortage of manpower and equipment
* enough time to rest
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working
general worker (Former Employee) –  Balmoral, Mpumalanga2 February 2018
It teaches a person on how to be brave,on respecting people and on how to live with different people.My purpose is to work at the company so that I can change my lifestyle.I want to further my studies so that's the reason I need this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conducive
Artisan Boilermaker (Current Employee) –  Mpumalanga31 January 2018
Working for Murray &Roberts has given me so many opportunities to uplift my knowledge in the workplace and work experience.the management takes safety and the health of its workers very seriously
Pros
Free lunch and bonuses
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Storeman & Driver (Former Employee) –  Elandsfontein, Gauteng30 January 2018
Being exposed to such a company was a huge thing for me, I wish I could have stayed for some time. There are always opportunities at such a company especially if you have qualifications.
Pros
Free transport
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Finsihing Foreman (Former Employee) –  Baywest, Port Elizabeth29 January 2018
Working at the Baywest Mall project was a great learning experience for me. I made some good friends and built solid experience. However the hours were too long with no compensation at the end of it. No time off and no monestary compensation either.
Pros
Free dinners for working late. Vehicle allowance. Good commraderie with foremen
Cons
Very long hours with no compensation. LDC contract with no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work pace
service man (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West23 January 2018
normal working ours, I learned the importance of time management, communication, hard work the ability to work under pressure, and team work, most enjoyable part of the job is production
Pros
compansaton for reaching target
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment
Nozzle operator (Former Employee) –  Klerkdorp3 November 2017
Everyone treated equally it was a great experience working this company I value my time with them, unfortunately their contract ended with their client that's how I lost my job
Pros
Monthly bonuses
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work safe and be productive, deliver work on time
Store / Inventory Controller (Current Employee) –  Lephalale, Limpopo1 November 2017
Work safe be productive, deliver all the work an time, be alert the experience i have, i had to earn it by myself i did not have the advantage or privileged to be send on training,
Pros
none
Cons
Uncertain of what the future holds for me in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The opportunities for career advancement limited
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal23 October 2017
Going through the learning material
Observing teaching and learning
Giving support and strategies to assist slow learners
Ensuring facilitators are implementing the correct methodology in facilitating
Pros
Free Courses
Cons
Self opinionated management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Murray and Roberts is a good company to work for
Piping Foreman (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga10 October 2017
Overall review Murray and Roberts is a good company to work for and I recommend it to new professional and graduates also apprenticeship is available to crafts
Pros
Incentive driven performance
Cons
Overtime good
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and challenging
electrical assistant (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West1 October 2017
Murray and roberts is a good company and i enjoyed working under it.The only that i was not happy about is employees development.Management was very punctual when coming to clocking time and overtime.
Pros
Production bonus
Cons
1 weekend off in a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
shutter hand/construction carpenter (Former Employee) –  Gauteng,Midrand26 September 2017
Working at Murray and Robert was nice we worked as team so I got a chance to challenge different activities around the work place.working for big projects like gautrain was awesome
Pros
free lunch, transport and accommodation
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and good people skills are motivated
Shaft Sinking and Construction Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Mussina26 September 2017
Some days are hard when reporting to management in the mornings just to find out what happened on the shifts before you nocked off before. The team effort to let the work proceed as normal was very good and the planning of work tremendously well as all party's come together to find the solutions to any problems and the executing of the work is done professionally. the hardest part of the job is when we wait for material to be delivered to execute work. The most enjoyable part of the job is when it is done properly and management reward the people for work well done.
Pros
When working long ours they let you go sooner on RNR to go home to your family
Cons
Long trips per day from work to village and waiting for materials to be delivered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enviroment
Senior Rigging Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 September 2017
Good work challanges
Plenty of helpful resources
Benificial Experience
Good management Platform
Able to grow within the company
Great company communication
Pros
Financial Benifits
Cons
Long weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Murray & Roberts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 109 reviews
554
429
317
26
13

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,7Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,9Management
3,9Culture