Murray & Roberts Employee Reviews

Found 110 reviews matching the search See all 126 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun
LHD operator (Former Employee) –  Marikana, North West7 March 2019
I enjoyed everything there, It was really fun i always felt save in that place. I dont regret working there. I still wish to go back. I truly recomment .
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
FOREMAN (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West24 February 2019
I am working in the mining industry for the past 29 years. I have experience in diamond drilling, as well as lib drilling and sealing of water and grout plants.
Pros
Medical Aid Housing Bonus
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive
BOILERMAKER ARTISAN (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo30 January 2019
I've learned so much in the industry,how to read drawing details,develop and fabricate using Machineries.tomorrow I'm greatful to be a qualified Boilermaker artisan
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
9 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very distrustful environment
Project Planner (Former Employee) –  Lephalale, ZA8 December 2018
The history and size of the company is an advantage.

However, there do no seem to be a structured and documented project management and planning methods and procedures.

No basis of schedule is required or followed and no schedule management plan adhered to.
Cons
Long working hours 50 to 56 hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production am safety
Welder Section (Former Employee) –  south Africa8 September 2018
Production was good and safety it was our culture, every Murray and Roberts employees have all necessary skills to perform any given work and comple in period time
Pros
free transport, lunch and accomodation
Cons
clinic onsite
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised and planned scheduled workplace
SENIOR RIGGING SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Ellisras, Limpopo25 August 2018
Enjoy my occupation like to be hands . Have good communication skills like to teach , educate new employees . Enjoy working challenges. Everyday doing different tasks and achieving objectives.
Enjoy working with different companies
Pros
Lunch and accomadation.
Cons
Sundays off religous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained a lot of experience on the construction company i was employed at murray&roberts under the trade pwht
Technician assistant pwht (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga4 August 2018
I learnt a lot at kusile power station the job tittle I was entitled to do.The management was up to date when it comes to toolbox talks and our safety
Pros
Free lunch at canteen
Cons
I worked 9.5 hours per day
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Boiler Manager (Former Employee) –  Medupi25 June 2018
I have had a very good session with MRPE. Management was excellent and work environment was good. The work was always willing to assist even in my private matter and problems. Should MRPE ever have a project and i can get the opportunity to work for them , i would be there asap.
Pros
Good houers
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Ekurhuleni, Gauteng17 June 2018
i learned a lot about how to build using shutering i learne about capentry . we had a good team we never over worked we always finished a job ontime we were on many diferent site
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not a full time job
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Goal Oriented
steel erector (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga12 June 2018
Handling of material
Structural Pre-assembly
Reading and Interpretation of Drawing
Maintaining zero harm principle
Delivering work on time
Humility and Unity
Pros
30 minutes
Cons
9 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Hse clerk (Former Employee) –  Marikana, North West19 May 2018
Working in a male dominated sector is not easy but my dominant personality stood out.
Office order disorganised and all over the place.
Working on last in first out basis put me in a sticky position when mining was at its lowest.
Company I would have loved to grow into.
Many opportunities for growth and self develpoment.
Pros
Self developement
Cons
Working on likited duration contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
BANKSMAN, TEAM LEADER & SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Bedfordview, Gauteng23 April 2018
Working at a construction site can be a bit tricky,since one have to have a full concentration everyday,everyhour of work time.time management and team bring out good production of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Winding Engine Driver (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West13 April 2018
Enjoyable workday
Shaft Sinking on a vertical shaft
Operating a Stage Winder
Equipping of a shaft
Management are 100%
Employees are happy and positive
Pros
Experience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pipefitter
pipe fitter (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga12 April 2018
This is the place of a good works and for the person who is working very hard. I work there and I develop my skill I did not want to live that company
Pros
Contract
Cons
6 to 6
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funny
Hose Operator (Former Employee) –  Limpopo9 April 2018
I have lean one thing to this company u have to work very hard.And leave political out site focus on what u are hired for to provide your family.I was so disapoited when I got retrench.
Pros
No lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production driven,timeouos deadlines set to completion
gen.foreman (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape29 March 2018
Great company to work for,although came in on contractual basis mostly,management supportive in individual decision making,remedial works on-going.A typical day at work would involve liasing with workforce(labour),sub-contractors,consultants and professional teams on a adhoc basis.Executing work sequences in line with plans,drawings,any changes or remedial work to prioriotise.
Workplace culture is always helpful and supportive,educational in instructing safety practices and implementing safety on site
The hardest part of any job would be not necessarily getting the proper support from management or unco-operativeness from workers or sub-contractors.Hence,disciplinary actions,warnings and penalisation come into play,or corrective measures taken.
The most enjoyable part of any job would be when all parties and role players come together to action and execute a job well done,meeting deadlines,within budget,with available resources and time constrains.
To be able to step back and see and appreciate a job well done and give each other the proverbal 'pat on the back' in support and recognition of each others ability and support in challenging moments.
Pros
subbies functions etc site braais
Cons
Long hours and having to meet deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company that believes on safety of the employees.
Rigger Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lephalale, Limpopo6 March 2018
Wonderful company to work for. I learnt so many things. The job was challenging and the work staff was helpful.

The company increased my experience by teaching me new things
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Lephalale, Limpopo14 February 2018
I learned alot by murray and roberts i worked for a long time by them they had good benefits and they payed well work under no pressure but they were strict
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
potential,realiable and implementation,fabricating structure and maintenance
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg10 February 2018
Punctual,work safe all time and to be productive with potential
I learn developing and fabricating structures
Good Line-management
Murray & Robert Cementation accomodate culture at working envorment
Fabricate(Hard job)
Maintanance
Pros
Yes
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Riggin Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga5 February 2018
*day-day challenges
explore different culture diversity
*different leadership
*information rolled-out on-time
*shortage of manpower and equipment
* enough time to rest
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Murray & Roberts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,2
Based on 126 reviews
562
436
319
26
13

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,9Management
4,0Culture