Murray & Roberts Employee Reviews

Found 124 reviews matching the search See all 142 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, productive and fantastic workplaces
safety representative and first aider (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga4 October 2019
Murray & Roberts is a very splendid company to work for, I have learned to work as a team, they even sent me for trainings to ensure that I am qualified for my occupations, management is very well established.
Pros
Safety bonuses, gifts and events
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Murray and Roberts is the best ever company I have worked for and and meet all my needs and enjoyed myself without being discriminated for a
Fitter (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West21 September 2019
I would like to thank those who put their trusts and hopes in me me when I joined that company and really believe that Murray and Roberts is the most important thing I've ever worked for and enjoyed myself from engineers to the Forman and the colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company in a crippling industry
Graduate Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bedfordview, Gauteng11 September 2019
Due to the economic climate and corruption with tenders in South-Africa, Murray and Roberts' Power & Water industry is struggling to win tenders for profitable jobs. As one of the last construction and Project management companies in South Africa not running bankrupt, it is relying on their mining platform to stay afloat until corruption is removed from the country.

The environment was extremely high pressure with a steep learning curve, but posed ample opportunities to lead and manage people from physically managing construction works, coordinating projects, and acting as a bid leader on multiple tenders for large projects provided me with a strong technical knowledge base of the construction industry - business and technical aspects, understanding of people and management expectations, and also with teamwork skills applicable across the board. All the while trying to find the most efficient and cost effective way of tackling problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Senior Lead Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng4 September 2019
Mostly setting out and asbuilt surveys
The environment fairly demanding due to harsh climate conditions
Workplace culture was the diverse one
Techically a very challenging one
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help me to get job on underground mines whether in Australia,Canada or DRC
LHD operator (Former Employee) –  Westonaria, Gauteng4 September 2019
Iam an experienced LHD/drill rig operator looking for best future basically in underground mines in Australia, Canada or DRC hopefully my dreams will be settled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good productive at all
Rigger (Former Employee) –  Kusile power station witbank19 August 2019
Poor management that looks after them rather workers .I've work hard to put my effort on but at the end of day you get what you worked for .many achievements we dind get it .still pain full for me
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Working long hours not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Artisan Welder (Former Employee) –  limpopo18 August 2019
Working at Murray&Roberts helps me to gain more experience and knowledge about construction environment, my wish or dreams is to get a full time job with them. safety is number one priority
Pros
free accomodation and food
Cons
9.5 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safety first
Artisan rigger (Former Employee) –  Lephalale, Limpopo5 August 2019
Safety comes first on every task and PPE is priority at all times. They pay well and on time always.it was a great experience to work on big projects.
Pros
Free lunch and accomodation
Cons
Working on the weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of pressure
Senior Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga24 July 2019
We done the boilers
There was Structural, pipping and turbines.
Contractor was Alstom and there was also long hours.
They look after they people you must do proper Quality work.
Safety is one of their big steps.
There was no problem with tools for the work on a request on tools they make sure it is in time to complete your work
Pros
Free accommodation transport to work and back home
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive& is the company that is care about safety of their workers
welding (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga12 July 2019
Time keeping is very important to Murray & Roberts, STOP, Think, Act & admire to five principles of Safety. Be my brothers keeper, To work for this you feel like you are at home no racism.
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplaces
Rigger Ropesman (Former Employee) –  Artisan Artisan2 July 2019
I'm a hard worker and positive young man and I have several qualifications like Occupation healthy and Safety, confined spaces and working at heights.
Pros
They offer overtime
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning new work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bedfordview, SA22 May 2019
typical day at work was first to get bank statements and balance the accounts I handled.

well I started as a Office Administrator and moved to Creditors Clerk and the Accounts Payable clerk. I am a fast and neat learning and is always willing to learn more and assist more.

we had a diverse workplace, manager see if you are willing to learn they will move you where they think you will perform the best
Pros
work hours
Cons
no opportunity to go and study
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace Environment
Charge hand Diamond Drilling (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng2 April 2019
Diamond drill. Cementation-sealing/pumping of fissures with cement. Supervision and safety of support drill crews. Drill and install long anchors with percussion machine. Installing of mesh and lace. Civil work, building of grout plants underground.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Pipe fitting (Former Employee) –  Limpopo11 March 2019
Good company,, good management,, like any can enjoy working under Murray-Roberts company, they even provide work certificates for the hard working employees
Pros
Yes, we where having free food
Cons
9hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun
LHD operator (Former Employee) –  Marikana, North West7 March 2019
I enjoyed everything there, It was really fun i always felt save in that place. I dont regret working there. I still wish to go back. I truly recomment .
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
FOREMAN (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West24 February 2019
I am working in the mining industry for the past 29 years. I have experience in diamond drilling, as well as lib drilling and sealing of water and grout plants.
Pros
Medical Aid Housing Bonus
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive
BOILERMAKER ARTISAN (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo30 January 2019
I've learned so much in the industry,how to read drawing details,develop and fabricate using Machineries.tomorrow I'm greatful to be a qualified Boilermaker artisan
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
9 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very distrustful environment
Project Planner (Former Employee) –  Lephalale, ZA8 December 2018
The history and size of the company is an advantage.

However, there do no seem to be a structured and documented project management and planning methods and procedures.

No basis of schedule is required or followed and no schedule management plan adhered to.
Cons
Long working hours 50 to 56 hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production am safety
Welder Section (Former Employee) –  south Africa8 September 2018
Production was good and safety it was our culture, every Murray and Roberts employees have all necessary skills to perform any given work and comple in period time
Pros
free transport, lunch and accomodation
Cons
clinic onsite
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised and planned scheduled workplace
SENIOR RIGGING SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Ellisras, Limpopo25 August 2018
Enjoy my occupation like to be hands . Have good communication skills like to teach , educate new employees . Enjoy working challenges. Everyday doing different tasks and achieving objectives.
Enjoy working with different companies
Pros
Lunch and accomadation.
Cons
Sundays off religous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Murray & Roberts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,2
Based on 142 reviews
568
442
322
27
13

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,5Job Security/Advancement
3,9Management
4,0Culture