Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews

Found 50 reviews matching the search See all 55 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growth
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 February 2019
Old Mutual has been there in ways it cannot even begin to understand, if it were a physical person, even then still, it would not be possible to put into words the happiness and joy I feel to be part of such as amazing brand, company and leader in the financial world.

I will genuinely confirm that opportunities do exist and its greener on this side.

I will recommend my company to any person searching for a purpose and new challenge
Thank you
Pros
studies, salary, opportunity
Cons
departmental
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive culture
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mthatha, Eastern Cape1 February 2019
Had an incredible experience..petrol allowance..car allowance and good outings and team meeting were always awesome..Team spirit was the moat preached culture
Pros
Petrol incentive
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Financial Planner (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng12 December 2018
management are skill full
progressive company
lots of opportunities
lots of support from management
fun place to work
there is no basic salary, commission only
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
left due to distance-but interesting position
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 December 2018
Nice to work for them. Dealth with patience,doctors and company management.This was exciting and teaches one patience to deal with clients .In assessing claims you have to be up to date with all conditions as you decide on length of sick leave as well
Pros
Exciting environment
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managerial structure oases confidence
Financial Planner (Former Employee) –  Limpopo26 November 2018
I found a home in Old mutual and i didnt have to fit for fitting in,so i made friendship and made good business.it was so easy to work with people who know how to go about the on boarding process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn and grow
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal19 November 2018
High paced target driven environment that challenges you to the fullest. Excellent company benefits , and training. Professional workplace ethic and values .
Pros
Training job security
Cons
Time . long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun and motivating
Experiential Learner (Former Employee) –  Kokstad, KwaZulu-Natal9 October 2018
I had a very good time working at old mutual, and gained more experience from management and the staff.
e.g how to handle angry clients, how to do follow ups on non paying clients, how to separate personal problems so that they wont affect you at work.
Pros
Birthday celebrations for staff
Cons
Long hours on month end to meet monthly target
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stressfull workplace
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng9 October 2018
Too much stress of having to make target to get basic salary and the problem with lapses setting you back and making it harder to make target and receive salary. I have not received a pay slip in 5 months due to lapses and I can't afford not getting paid anymore.
Pros
Good People and great oppertunities
Cons
No time for fun and family
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pinelands, Western Cape2 October 2018
A great place to work grow and cultures are divers people are happy always room for improvement they assist in studies it is a great company to work for honestly no complaints
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old mutual was a pleasure to wor for
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal13 September 2018
setting up appointments, i enjoyed meetings and outings, hardest part of the job was signing up clients. the people i worked with where very helpful, management is all to themselves
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work
recruiting (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng27 July 2018
We work as a team and individual .i learn to push beyond boundary. i learned valuable skills that are needed in every working environment communication was the key to job success
Pros
commision
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Nelspruit, Mpumalanga11 July 2018
I learned how to communicate and build relationship with clients
I enjoyed my work because on the filed I'm my own boss and I can work when ever I like as long as I meet my target
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng6 June 2018
Old Mutual is a diverse and driven group with self-driven and exciting colleagues. Old Mutual has helped me gain working experience in the months worked there.
Pros
Working hours are from 08:00 - 16:30
Cons
Non-recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experience
Salaried Field Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pretoria North, Gauteng1 June 2018
Working in a high pressure charged enviroment and being able to work with deadlines and being goal-orientated. The culture is exhilirating and there is a lot of teamwork and people are always on the move.

The other prospect is that never stop learning and always strive to push beyond boundaries. It teaches you to be honest and always excersice intergrity when dealing with clients.

It is a home away from home.
Pros
Mentally stimulating, fun workplace
Cons
Mentally challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day-to-day activities
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Lichtenburg, North West1 June 2018
Business Compliance, new business capturing, sales reports, support to both sales manager and advisers, housekeeping, accounts, S&T, travel arrangements, arrange accommodation, health and safety measures are in place, staff amenities, asset management, stationery,
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kokstad, KwaZulu-Natal16 April 2018
I have a good memories from the company because I learn and experience very important aspects of life in order to be successful and be productive member
Pros
Free lunchs when did the target
Cons
Long hours daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indeed app it make our lives to be more easier than we where used to during the old days where we check jobs over the news paper. It wasn't that easy
FINANCIAL ADVISOR (Current Employee) –  Musina, Limpopo15 April 2018
I really put all the effort to achive all the best i can for me to reach the maximum profit under the branch im in. For me to be working in my workplace is through my dedication and confidence that i have to do my job.i belive that if you love what you're doing you will always became the best and have good results.
Pros
We only have one lunch as well as one tea time which is 1hour 30 minutes when i combine both of tbem
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in a workplace
IT Trainee (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 April 2018
I am very happy at work, because some of the roles and responsibilities are looking easier, then there are some roles looking like difficult to me, but trying my best.

I have learned a lot at Old Mutual: Presentation skill, communication skill, relationship to colleagues and other stakeholders, time management, being productive on the workplace, standard on emails, modeling and doing use cases using Visio,Bezagi and Lucid chart, booking rooms for a meeting, capturing data population,

The hardest part of the job ,there are sometimes I will be given a task today and given a short time to submit.

The enjoyable day is when I have been given a job then also given an enough time to submit.
Pros
stress free at work
Cons
not having enough time for training
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and driven
Life Assurance Representative (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape3 April 2018
A well established long standing company. Offered excellent training and training facilities. Constant product training. Healthy and clean environment. Target driven. Incentives for good work performance.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Doing your own admin work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I look forward to getting up in the morning!
Senior Administrator (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape26 March 2018
Stressful, target driven, constant dashboard reporting, meetings, projects and continuous deadlines I enjoy every second of it!

Awesome place to work in, safe and clean. A small city on it's own which limits employees from having to take off to attend to pay or query accounts, go to Dr etc
Pros
Opportunity to study
Cons
Parking and Gym Fees expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Old Mutual Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 55 reviews
524
417
39
22
13

Ratings by category

3,6Work/Life Balance
3,5Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,7Management
3,9Culture