Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kokstad, KwaZulu-Natal16 April 2018
I have a good memories from the company because I learn and experience very important aspects of life in order to be successful and be productive member
Pros
Free lunchs when did the target
Cons
Long hours daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in a workplace
IT Trainee (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 April 2018
I am very happy at work, because some of the roles and responsibilities are looking easier, then there are some roles looking like difficult to me, but trying my best.

I have learned a lot at Old Mutual: Presentation skill, communication skill, relationship to colleagues and other stakeholders, time management, being productive on the workplace, standard on emails, modeling and doing use cases using Visio,Bezagi and Lucid chart, booking rooms for a meeting, capturing data population,

The hardest part of the job ,there are sometimes I will be given a task today and given a short time to submit.

The enjoyable day is when I have been given a job then also given an enough time to submit.
Pros
stress free at work
Cons
not having enough time for training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and driven
Life Assurance Representative (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape3 April 2018
A well established long standing company. Offered excellent training and training facilities. Constant product training. Healthy and clean environment. Target driven. Incentives for good work performance.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Doing your own admin work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I look forward to getting up in the morning!
Senior Administrator (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape26 March 2018
Stressful, target driven, constant dashboard reporting, meetings, projects and continuous deadlines I enjoy every second of it!

Awesome place to work in, safe and clean. A small city on it's own which limits employees from having to take off to attend to pay or query accounts, go to Dr etc
Pros
Opportunity to study
Cons
Parking and Gym Fees expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive company
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape7 March 2018
Good place to work for. Employees are well looked after and compensated. And kept up to date with current events. Lots of room for development. Non racial and very accomodating regarding private matters.
Pros
Free Lunches and good incentives
Cons
May lead to long hrs but one is compensated therefore
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best about this job was to meet with different people everyday n with different problems or ways to help each and everyone you meet
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Gauteng27 February 2018
Sales job require patience but a hard working person. I would work at my own pace and earn the salary that matches with my work bonus is a monthly thing when you work hard the company trust you to do right by the customers not to tell them lies but most of all you are your own boss.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Hours that suite you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and flexible working hours
Personal Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng16 February 2018
clients rejecting you at times it is very challenging. getting un successful leads or untraceable leads. 51 club rewards for achievers. Team buildings
Pros
flexibility
Cons
client segment categories
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Mutual is a very good to work for, but mid managers are unethical
EX - Rep 10 yrs sales manager 5yrs (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape11 February 2018
Its nice and good when U work hard never take leave. But once U sick or lose your loved ones it changes
They capture all your leave days and ask you yo leave
Pros
Good rewards for hard work, conventions, bonuses
Cons
Once U have life challenges like death in family or ill health, U asked to resign
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and funny workplace
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Vaal Triangle, Gauteng7 February 2018
Working as Financial adviser is the best job ive ever had,you are your own boss,you earn as much as you want,you set you own target .The hardest part of the job is when you have to meet your client at night.The most enjoyable part is when u work at your pace
Pros
free lunches
Cons
fewer hpurs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of a challenge
Client Relations Manager (Current Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal25 January 2018
I had a lack of a work challenge
My work ethic made for an ostracizing from co-workers whom were happy to sit on there phones all day and accumulate files on there desk to "look busy"
Extra time worked and effort put into organising was not achknowledged
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is a company that respects the different cultures
Regional Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Kimberley, Northern Cape14 January 2018
It's a company that takes good care of their employees. They reward and recognize hard working and dedicated employees. They reward (employees and partner) by paying for conventions (international and nationally).
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We do have targets to meet everyweek and do try to meet them even though its not ussually every week
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  South africa7 January 2018
I am a hard working woman,and I enjoy my work. And I am able to work under pressure. Can work individually or in groups. Listen to other people's opinion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
responsibility
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State5 January 2018
teaches employees to be responsible as there is no monitoring and one works flexible hours in that case you taught how to manage time efficiently and correct
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place, fast paced
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pinelands, Western Cape23 October 2017
very challenging, needs one to focus and to have a positive attitude all the time.
days are not the same
work place culture is free
hardest part of the job is sourcing own clients
Pros
a lot of freebies, lunch, outings incentives
Cons
long hours and stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy the challenge
Financial Adviser (Current Employee) –  pretoria east gauteng16 October 2017
although I enjoy the challenge.as a parent I would love something more stable salary wise.We work on commission and our basic salary is conditional .I have never not earned a salary but I want the peace of mind to know that my basic is gauranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Paarl, Western Cape25 September 2017
You see clients for the day. It is nice to know that you help some one to make the right choices regarding their financial planning. They have a good rewarding system.
Pros
Schedule your own time
Cons
Clients dissapoints you
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.inspiring work place
Trainee Accountant (Current Employee) –  Pines23 July 2017
Old mutual is a very good company that allows you to grow and reach you true potential.rated as one of the best insurer company to work for.i would any one to give a chance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse cultures
senior authoriser (Former Employee) –  pinelands14 June 2017
Leaderin financial sector diverse culture. BEE compliant. Worked for Old Mutual for past 18 years.love the culture. Left for personal reasons due to my son's illness and excess medical costs.
Pros
no travelling costs of
Cons
need to expand my knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like and enjoy to work as sales consultant
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Klerksdorp, North West11 June 2017
My first day at work was very challenging
I have learned to advice client with products and do needs analysis
Management is very supportive
Work hard ,teamwork honesty and integrity
Is how to win a client
Traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Pinelands, Western Cape28 April 2017
A typical work day for me is that I cannot plan my day as the work I do is very client based and service matters. Each and every day I learn more and more which is something I can take home everyday , also I tro to improve on everything I do and to learn new things. I enjoy meeting new people and love to see clients happy after a project
Pros
flex hours
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Old Mutual Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,9
Based on 39 reviews
515
413
36
22
13

Ratings by category

3,4Work/Life Balance
3,3Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture