Old Mutual Life Assurance Company

Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews in East London, Eastern Cape

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 1 404 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun workplace to be in.
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape8 January 2019
It was an exciting workplace to be in, it had friendly and fun faces.
It traines and grows their employees.
Offers so many opportunities to their staff.
Motivated their staff with trophies when needed.
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Check and balances
Distribution Support Administrator (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape13 July 2018
Methodical work that is characterised by many checks and balances that can not be omitted when capturing business, where if omitted will invalidate that business,
To me hardest part is to make all necessary checks and advising the right product is the most enjoyable part.
Pros
Working hours
Cons
incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to be ambitious and hard working
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape14 November 2017
Prospect new clients
Keep up with existing clients
Calling prospects on a daily basis and offering new products


Learnt how to close deals

Management was very supportive

Worked from home

Clients not paying

When facing challenging clients
Pros
worked from home
Cons
Used my own fuel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Promoter (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape25 July 2017
I had such an amazing time working with Old Mutual and Work Africa.
Old Mutual - We worked long hours trying to get people open their new bank account (Money Account) and we did well this year.

Work Africa - Promoting food,all the new recipes and people loved it.

The workers and also employers for both these companies were quite friendly with us,the promoters.
Pros
Free lunches from Work Africa
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape26 June 2017
You need to be a hard work and honest person be able to work under pressure and be frindly and kind. Love the position you are in inorder to succeed all the time
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Personal Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape30 April 2017
Strenuous and target oriented, suitable for outgoing personality and sociable person.Mathematical literacy required. Out of the box thinkers qualified
Pros
Free trainings
Cons
Commission based
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work culture and Ethic
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  East London, UK10 April 2017
The job is challenging and target driven, requires one to be diligent and work efficient. I have learnt the importance of have self-discipline, drive and self-motivation. The culture around the office is that there is always a helping hand, employees are willing to engage and assist.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Stress and clawbacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to push yourself to succeed and have a client base.
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape5 March 2017
It is an old company that people recognise and are well aware of its achievements over the years. It is a great company to work for, especially for people who are not well educated but have got a passion for sales.
Pros
Going out
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting
Finincial advisor (Current Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape7 December 2016
Working for Old Mutual is fun and exciting and easy because Old Mutual firstly provides training that makes it easy for you to do your job and they provide you with resources. Bonuses are being given to staff and incentives and I mostly believe that its things like that which motivates the staff to do more
Pros
Only during trainings or indictions
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and encouraging environment
Financial Advisor, Cold Calls, Meeting deadlines (Former Employee) –  East London15 July 2016
Typical day> Cold calls in the morning, meeting throughout the day, follow up calls in the afternoon.
What I learnt> I learnt the value of insurance in ones life. Meeting deadlines. Organisation and time management.
Management> was very supportive and encouraging, providing training as well
Co-worker> on bad days, they were my support and strength. In as much as we were competitive, we helped each other grow
Hardest Part of the job> keeping and maintaining your client base
Enjoyable part> incentives. The work environment and helping people better their lives
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and fun work place
Financial advisor (Current Employee) –  East London, EC9 April 2015
I have lewarned in working as a team. i have strong supportive managers. i work with a very strong team with a positive competitive spirit.
Pros
Team Building games
Cons
declined clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Personal Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  East London, EC19 March 2014
Being at the office in the morning to make phone calls and follow up on the previous day's work. I've learned that you can't work alone in this industry you have to work as a team, management is not that involved with the employees which can be a disadvantage to the employee. The co-workers are always wiling to assist in which ever way and that is helpful and the hardest part of the job is when the client doesn't want to close the business due to certain reasons. When all the business you submit is issued and you are being recognised for your efforts .
Pros
There's always a celebration.
Cons
irregular working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Old Mutual Life Assurance Company reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Old Mutual Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 404 reviews
5542
4424
3340
261
137

Ratings by category

3,7Work/Life Balance
3,4Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,8Culture