Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews in Johannesburg, Gauteng

Found 85 reviews matching the search See all 1 364 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Work Place
IT Risk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng13 January 2018
Its a stable company which has been in business for more than 200 years. Most of the staff working there have been with the company form more than 20 and 30 years.
The culture is slow when it comes to adapting to any proposed culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast pace environment
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng23 November 2017
Fast pace environment, competitive co-workers, challenging. had to be flexible and organised. good growth opportunities, great management structure. Fun co-workers and managers.
Pros
free snacks.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg22 November 2017
Work hard and earn more with the company work as if you own the company time keeping and values of the company are the key to success work like there's no tomorrow
Pros
branch trips and competition
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work at
Personal Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng12 September 2017
Its not an 8 hours working job,or Monday to Friday,you work anytime any where not always the in office but on the road talking to client about their financial needs.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours, writting your own cheque
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stretches your potential in a great way
Customer service clerk (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng30 August 2017
Salary is not so good and recognition for salary review is non existent despite proof that you are a hard worker. I was a consultant and earned bonuses, retained policies in books for a long period and yet when time arrived to review my salary as agreed it never happened...
Pros
Good working hours
Cons
No good support structure from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance industry finance.
FINANCIAL CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng30 August 2017
Educating client with their finance, consolidation and loan and guide them to be debt free & i manage to set them free and educate them about spending
Pros
non
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng17 August 2017
Inbound and outbound sales for short term insurance .U learn more about different client that are always looking for a need to insure their valuables.
Pros
Incentive when target is meet
Cons
No long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start up and now an established player
CHIEF UNDERWRITER -AVP (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng13 August 2017
The strategy to execution was clear and as an insurance company the focus on underwriting was rightly placed. I think the automated underwriting systems that we implemented turned out to be scalable and helped in straight pass cases and reduced the TAT for issuance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work here
Labour Consultant (temporary contract) (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng9 August 2017
The people are fun to work with.I enjoyed my stay at Old Mutual very much & will not mind to return there.The culture has improved.There is more here.
Pros
more people to learn from
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Data Capturer (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng14 June 2017
We always have work to do
communication skills
good communication with our superiors
everything is managed
when we have too much workload and the deadline are close by
when our workload is standard
Pros
free lunch when did our work on time and when we have trainings
Cons
normal working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng7 June 2017
morning meetings from 08H00 to 9H00
Phone and confirm appointments with clients
Print quotations and go out to appointment
come back to the office to process the business received on that da
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job experience is fun as you learn a lot about Marketing in a holistic view
Administration trainee (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng2 June 2017
A typical day at work as a intern. log on go thru Emails and assist in anything the Marketing and events team need assistance with, whether its helping with the TV slot burns, activation's or ordering promo items and design with BSSP in certain days there is status meetings of up-coming events and past on how they faired.

The management is good

The hardest part of the job is the constant travelling had having to be away from home for extended time periods
Pros
Learning about Marketing in one umbrella
Cons
extended time away from home activating for events
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng26 May 2017
Working at Old Mutual taught me better time management skills and discipline in my daily routine, in order to maintain focused and reach goals. Open and approachable management style with a great working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, And the very fun company to work for.
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 May 2017
It's fun working for old mutual only the salary is the challenge, I love all the benefits e.g Medical aid, and provident fund, u love the flexibility of hours.
Pros
Team building
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old mutual if a good company to work for.their employees are united and always support one another.whether is work related or personal
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 February 2017
typical day at work would be on mondays if you never planed your day well,then everything will fall apart,what i have learned is that you need to plan in advance.work culture is extremely amazing and enjoyable.reaching targets sometimes can be a bit of a challenge.what i enjoy most is i knock off at any-time as long as my job for the day is done.
Pros
we get free petrol money, cell phones and airtimes
Cons
we work long hours and an extra mile
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 January 2017
- When there is bad log, we compromise our lunch and knock of time to give productivity
- the importance of time management and to multitask
- very reliable and they appreciate the team
- very ethical
- The target is rounded off for the whole month
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Personal Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 January 2017
the hardest park of the job is going door to door to get clients, I have learned a lot especially working with clients and getting to know them better and understanding theirs situations and its is enjoyable and you make lot of money.it is actually like running your own business when you manage yourself and set your own targets.
Pros
telephone usage
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 December 2016
people are given a chance to be themselves through the standard culture. everyone is given equal opportnuties. the targets set are reasonable and working hours are fair.
Pros
reward for job well done
Cons
growth opportunities are limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
sales person (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng18 December 2016
The company was fun to work for, the basic was nice plus we earned commission for exceeding individual target, for being part of contributing toward the region target we got rewarded with trips and being part of achievers club. Development was there for every product we had to sell it helped a lot because we sold what we were very informed of. I loved working there unfortunately the long hours and no off that i made myseld work to be the best and earn more deprived me time to raise my kids.
Pros
Free lunches, free team braais every week. Petrol money every week and airtime every month.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng27 November 2016
Old Mutual was the best Organization where I have learnt the Managerial Course and started to manage people within .I have enjoyed working there from 2005 to 2011 November.
Pros
Monthly activies for the best performers
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Old Mutual Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 364 reviews
5525
4415
3329
259
136

Ratings by category

3,7Work/Life Balance
3,4Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,8Culture